We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, super comfy bed”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Hotel 53 in York for 2 nights as part of a guided vacation. The hotel is in a pretty good location, within the historic city walls, and about a 7 minute walk to "downtown" York.

The hotel is very modern and clean, and my single room was extra comfy with a double bed and lots of space to move around. Free wifi in the rooms was a definite plus, considering there was no business center. My bed was extra comfy too...

Breakfast was a typical English breakfast buffet, with delicious sausages and several choices. I did not go hungry!

Front desk was always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 4th floor looking south, which was high enough to actually have a view over the...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,818)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 53
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,471 - 1,477 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

I came to this hotel for a short break and would definately return. Hotel staff were very friendly and hospitable, rooms are cleaned daily and tea, coffee, milk refilled. Our room was spotless , facilities are great , free wifi and lovely walk in power shower. Beds were comfortable (which makes a change) and in a great location 5 minutes from the town centre. Me and my partner have visited York before and stayed in the Park Inn Hotel , this hotel turned out to be much cheaper and ten times better a great find!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Hotel 53 was recommended to me by a colleague. It is in a good location, just 10 min away from the city center. The room was neat, clean & quite spacious. I was there for two days. I was visiting York for the first time, so the hotel staff helped plan a tour of all the locations around. They were very helpful and attentive. The breakfast was also quite good, served hot with sufficient choice. And the free high speed WiFi internet access was definitely an added bonus! Overall, I had great fun staying at Hotel 53, and I'm sure that is where I will stay the next time I visit York.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvivek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Just returned from 2 nights in York.Hotel 53 is in a good position near centre of York(about 10 minute stroll to Shambles).Hotel is very clean and modern.Rooms whilst not very large have everything you need,although the space for hanging clothes is restriced to 2 short rails protruding from the wall with approx 6 hangers on each rail and a small shelf above.It was no problem for our stay but if you were there for longer than a few days,you may find hanging a lot of clothes an issue.This is not really a complaint merely an observation.We found everyone at the hotel to be very helpful and friendly,The breakfast that was included in our rate was first class and the waiting staff coulld not be faulted.Overall an enjoyable stay and would definately recommend this hotel.Local tip..try the Mason's Arms pub across the road for a great meal with very generous portions.The Barnsley chop is fantastic.

Room Tip: Not a busy street but higher rooms are usually our preference.We were on 4th floor which was fine.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Great stay, good parking although we had to pay extra. Staff and customer service was fantastic very helpful and really made the stay welcoming. Food was second to none, room service was very high quality and breakfast well worth the money.
Rooms very spacious for needs with everything you need for a short break.
Only fault was the toilet as it was cracked all over and looked like it had been stuck back together a haven for bacteria.
Apart from that I suggest they invest in higher quality pillows.
Overall a brilliant place to stay in an excellent location and would use again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Was due to check into the hotel on 23rd October but when arrived at the desk we found that the hotel had gave our room to somebody else, the hotel was also full so they arranged another hotel in York, the new hotel which was allocated was not an equal match to what we had initially booked so complained again in which we were allocated a further hotel, after 2 hours wasted travelling round York the third hotel was found to be satisfactory.

Earlier in the week I also rang the hotel to confirm the booking which was confirmed by the hotel.


Al in all an absolute shambles by hotel 53

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
3  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thank you for your comments.

Prior to your arrival at Hotel53, we had had another 'Mr S Hanson' arrive at Hotel53 - who we duly checked in because we had no reason at that time, to suspect the arrival of two people under the name of 'Mr S Hanson' on that day.

As a result of your arrival later that day, we then discovered that the 'Mr S Hanson' we had already checked in that day had actually made his reservation for a seperate date in the future - by error.

If we had had any available rooms on that particular day this situation would have been rectified quite easily, unfortunately however, we were fully booked on that particular day and whilst the situation was regrettable, I do not believe it to be entirely unreasonable to suggest that it was one that was not easy to foresee.

We did also (as you have acknowledged), arrange alternative accommodation for you at a hotel nearby with the same star rating and upon learning that this was not to your satisfaction, duly arranged a room for you at a second hotel with a superior star rating that was to your liking - at no extra expense to you.

We apologise unreservedly for any inconvenience this situation subsequently caused you and hope you enjoyed your time in York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Me and my partner spent the night after seeing Legally Blonde the musical. I was worried about cleanliness, especially the carpet and bed however our room was great and the bed was so comfy, not a spot of dirt to be found, really wish we could have stayed another night! The reception was fast and easy and took a mere minute to check us in. The Opera House was only a 5 minute walk away and the same for the high street. Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,844 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £64 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing