We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We arrived at Hotel 53 early with the intention of leaving our luggage at the hotel. After sitting in the pleasant reception we were nicely surprised when the receptionist came up to us and gave us our room keys. We stayed in a family room which was a good size. The shower room was very clean and pleasant, athough there was a musty smell in the shower which disappeared in when in use. The room was a good size for four (2 adults and 2 children) and the king size beds were very very comfortable, my eldest daughter said that the sofa beds were bigger and much more comfortable than Premier Inn beds. The breakfast was good and there was an exellent selection. Overall the is good alternative to Travel Lodges and Premier Inn. The location was great, our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, staff were very helpful and pleasant. We would stay again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    692
    347
    135
    72
See reviews for
293
883
51
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

In a nutshell, lovely contemporary hotel, good breakfast, fab location. Shame about the parking though, over the road for £10 which is a little steep. Mishap with the rooms when we arrived but the room we ended up with was spacious with a bath, shower and lovely king sized bed. We will be returning to York and hotel 53.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend recently spent 2 nights at the hotel 53 and we loved it. The location is great and the rooms are clean and tidy with a comfy bed and nice bathroom. There was a fire alarm at 7.30 am on pur final day and no member of staff really let us know what was happenig, also £10 per day cost of paking seems abit steep. All in all I would recommend this hotel and would deffinatly stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilligaf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The location was excellent, clean tidy room, the breakfast was good, and the restaurant staff were very friendly,....but those are the only positive things.

Upon booking in, the girl on reception was hardly what I would call friendly, and certainly did not make you feel welcome. We dropped our bag in the room and headed out. When we returned to our room after spending time in York, we were surprised to hear a baby crying, There was a connecting door between the rooms, but a single door which did no keep sound out, Not only could we hear the crying baby, we could hear what the people next door were saying. I returned to reception to see if there was a possibility to change rooms, the same receptionist said the only other room would be noisier and " basically you are better off having a crying baby next to you". Needless to say we did not have a good sleep listening to a crying baby on several occasions throughout the night.

The same receptionist was on the desk the following morning, and still did not seem to be very friendly or customer focused. Later that afternoon after spending the day in York, I returned to collect our stored luggage, and I am pleased to say there was a different receptionist, and what a contrast- she was friendly and smiling.

i would not stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for your comments.

I am genuinely very sorry to hear that you felt the receptionist was neither friendly nor welcoming,
and, given that we had an alternative room available, I do believe you should have been given the opportunity to assess the room for yourself and decide whether this was more suited to your needs. Rest assured, I will be launching an internal investigation in to the issues you have raised and remedial action will be taken accordingly.

The room you were allocated for your stay was, seeemingly, a room containing an interconnecting door which, only when unlocked from both sides, provides room-to-room access between the rooms. Whilst we accept that these rooms do not provide quite the same level of sound insulation as the majority of our rooms, we do not believe the difference to be as significant as you claim.

In addition, whilst we always do our utmost to preserve a peaceful atmosphere for the benefit of all Hotel53 guests, we do ultimately rely on all of our guests to be conscious and courteous of the presence of other guests to achieve this and when this is evidently not the case, actively encourage guests to inform staff immediately - so that we have the opportunity to rectify this at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We were only staying for one night midweek - thank goodness! First hiccup was the fact that a bus load of Americans had just arrived and the staff were using the one and only lift to take their luggage to their rooms which meant we had to wait for ages to use the lift to the 3rd floor.
The problem wasn't the room which was fine, small but clean & tidy. The problem was the very poor soundproofing. We could hear the lift going up & down, people going up & down the stairs and most irritatingly next doors tv which we could hear as well as our own!

At around 7 am the following morning we were woken by loud voices in the corridor outside discussing the fact that the door to one of the rooms couldn't be opened with the key card. After talking about it at some length and rattling the door handle around for some time a ?handyman/locksmith was summoned and spent nearly an hour trying to fix it. We did not know if a guest had been locked out of their room or not but even if they had, SOME attempt to keep the noise down would have been appreciated. My husband gave up in the end and went out - at 8am!

The room cost £80 through booking.com (no breakfast)

Room Tip: take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireWildthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We do, admittedly, use the lift to assist with the transfer of baggage from the Ground Floor of the hotel to bedrooms located on upper floors. However, had you intimated that you would like use of the lift during this time, we would have been more than happy to pause this process.

I'm very sorry to hear that you considered the level of soundproofing in the bedroom you were allocated to be 'very poor', but, had you brought this to our attention at the time, we could have looked to move you to an alternative bedroom located in what we would usually consider to be a quieter area of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was there on April 2012 with my family for leisure. When I was entered to the hotel, decoration look modern. The room is clean even it is small.
to compare the price with room charge, it is suitable.....
I like that I can borrowed Laptop to go on internet.
My room wasn't included breakfast but the recieptionist gave me voucher for breakfast which is cheaper. Once I went to restaurant, I told the hostess that I have coupon for breakfast but still charge me with normal price..... finally, I show her my coupon then she void the charge for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuchyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to hear that you believe us to represent value for money, that you were able to make use of our free-of-charge laptop usage service and enjoy your discounted breakfast in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately the first impression of this hotel was a smelly encounter with the personal hygiene issues of front desk. The room was small and seemed to have the thinnest walls, broadcasting every squeak from my neighbours. View of a brick wall and a window with a sign on it saying it was illegal to open more than a crack, which is factually inaccurate. Clean comfy bed didn't really make up for the shortcomings.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keepthecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your comments.

I am very sorry to hear to hear of your supposed 'smelly encounter with the front desk', however, if this was truly the case, I am supremely confident that this was an isolated issue. As you can see from a number of previous reviews, most guests are very complimentary about our Front of House staff.

The bedroom windows, as you will find with most public buildings, do have restrictors - this is to help avoid potential accidents and ultimately ensure the safety and wellbeing of all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing