We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, high quality standards great restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, high quality standards great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Really well maintained hotel very high standards would recommend to anybody. Room very stylish comfortable with all the facilities you need. The restaurant had a meal deal on £19.95 for 3 courses and £13.95 with wine. The food was excellent very well prepared obviously cooked to order from good ingredients. The only disappointment was the breakfast buffet food had obviously been under the lights for a while a pity when the evening meal was so good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterschofield37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    662
    336
    133
    72
See reviews for
279
854
50
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel is very modern with big spacious very clean rooms, the shower is excellent and the bed was very comfortable. We had our evening meal in the restaurant and it was absolutely beautiful 5* food and the service was second to non. They have their own car park adjacent to the hotel for £10 a night and if you have ever parked in York for the day you will know that that is a reasonable price to pay. The car park is locked at around 9:30 so you know your car is safe. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Me and my girlfriend have stayed here a few times. The hotel is in an ideal position, about a 3 minutes walk from the centre of York and a few minutes from York Castle Museum. Even though it is close to the centre, the hotel is in a quiet location. There is a Weatherspoons opposite and a new Tesco Express about a 2 minutes walk away.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and the hotel is clean and modern. The rooms are a bit small but big enough, the shower room is very clean and modern with a walk in shower.

We paid for breakfast last time. It was a standard English breakfast where you get your own from a buffet but it was cooked nicely.

We love York itself and enjoy staying in Hotel 53. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Nice modern hotel very near to city centre. Just a stroll away from centre with all the lovely shops like Brown's department store and 2 Betty's cafes ! I love York but it;s my first return visit in 30 years !! Last visited when I was 15 on a school trip, hope to cope back again though. Breakfast not bad but for my vegan daughter a very poor choice of fruits and cereals ! Friendly staff, quiet, except for noisy kids next door and not keen on laundry trolleys outside by gardens !!

Room Tip: My room was at the back, so quiet but ask not to be by noisy families, if poss !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julester22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel is very nice and modern, the rooms are nice and spacious and clean, staff are great.
We didnt have dinner here but had breakfast, there was a coachload of american pensioners , howeverit went without a hitch, i would most likely return

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASHINGTON
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We wanted a weekend in York and decided on the spur of the moment so fell in lucky with a last minute deal on the internet for this hotel. It was very friendly, exceptionally clean and with a modern, fresh and bright decor, just what I like. The striped carpet, black blinds, cosy lamps, decent sized TV and bathroom wet room were perfect. The towels were good quality, thick and fluffy. It's a really good location with a Wetherspoons pub literally opposite the hotel so we went in there for some drinks and a snack before sightseeing. For a last minute getaway it was great value and well situated a short walk from Clifford's Tower etc. A great night's sleep!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel is very clean and smart looking, reception staff very friendly, but there is a £30 pre auth card they take from your card, which we wasnt aware of beforehand. The room was on the small side but very comfortable. Great power shower and proper sized fluffy towels. One of the best nights' sleep ive had in the super comfy beds. A ten minute walk from the hustle & bustle of York centre, I wish we had stayed longerto be honest.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffgal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing