We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, good price central location.”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, good price central location.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel in a good central location. It is a 5 minute walk to the centre of York, the castle and very close to other attractions. The rooms are quiet, comfy, have excellent decor and very clean. And compared to other hotels nearby excellent value. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtywx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    676
    343
    135
    73
See reviews for
288
874
51
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Easy to find and park up for the duration, in a secure car park with a reserved parking space for £10 per day. Very friendly and helpful staff and easy check in. Arrived early, but one of our two rooms was ready, so were able to check in immediately. The location for walking round York and seeing the sights is second to none.
We requested adjacent rooms and these were provided. The rooms were very clean, light and spacious enough, with beds to rival Premier Inn. Superb power shower with fixed shower gel dispenser, and clean, soft towels. I don't particularly like worn, cuddly, chintzy, heavily curtained type hotels and actually like them modern, sleek, airy, and crisp looking!
The refreshments tray is the best stocked I have seen for a long time, although the restaurant food seemed slightly limited in choice and quite expensive, so we didn't have any. Save some money and forego the breakfast option and nip across to the Wetherspoon's across the road. Alternatively, the Tesco Express further up the road has a bakery and is ideal for croissants, plaits, and Danish pastries.
With wide corridors and doors, and a lift, the hotel is suitable for all ages and mobility. As a family of four we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel 53 and plan to visit again in the next school holidays. Although next time we will be taking a lightweight gang socket for each room to enable overnight charging of gadgets, the two room sockets not enough for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

It seems that many hotels think that by providing minimal decor and painting everything white that they can then be termed "boutique" or moderne, sadly this is a prime example of a pretty ugly modern building made uglier by its insipid lack of anything welcoming or having any kind of warmth to it. I have mentioned the check in in other reviews, such an important element and here it was basic - mind you the quicker i was out of the sterile reception the better. Maybe i am being harsh in that they could do little with the building itself to make it any warmer - but here there is just such a lack of any "style" at all, it is one step away from any other business hotel. Then we get to the bed, way too soft with a duvet that had clumps/bunches of whatever it was filled with - this then all gathered towards the bottom of the duvet dragging itself away from you during the night. We did not get a great nights sleep as a result, the bed also being one that convulsed whenever one of us moved and the room itself lacked any real heat, thin walls, a shower that leaked.......I will not be going back here, reader beware!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I am very sorry to read that the bed was too soft for you. Much of our feedback from guests is that they prefer a soft bed to a firmer bed but I appreciate that this is simply a matter of personal preference. Housekeeping staff do normally ensure that the duvet content is well distributed when preparing the room, but I apologise if this was not seemingly the case, and only wish that you had brought this to our attention at the time so that we could have provided you with an alternative duvet.

Subsequent to your review, I can confirm that the leak you spoke of in the shower has since been resolved by our maintenance team. No issue was found with the heater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Have stayed at this Hotel a few times. The Hotel and rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. Often used as a base when working in York. Haven't tried the food as York has plenty of restaurants too good to miss!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Not what we expected :-(. No better than a Premier Inn would prob stay at Premier Inn next time. We paid extra for king sized room/bed, bed was very comfortable but not worth paying the extra. Rooms were basic but clean, tv was small for the size of the room, remote wasn't working correctly, the shower drain didn't drain properly and leaked the bathroom, on day two we weren't left any clean hand towels, the windows were drafty and u could hear all the traffic n pub noise after hrs. The lift called at every floor on the way down and up! Had a pay £20 for 2 nights parking, breakfast was ok on first morning but they ran out of mushrooms on the sat morning !! For the price I paid for 2 nights I would definitely go for a chain next time, Hilton, plaza or even premier inn :-( disappointed

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ema-J99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I'm inclined to vote this as 'good'; average seems a little harsh as the hotel is 'fine' but just that; there's nothing particularly special or exciting that would coax me to go back.

The reception staff were nice, location-wise it's decent and the hotel was very clean. However the room did not set our world on fire; there were no bedside tables but a headboard with square holes in (seemingly supposed to be shelves) and the black blinds looked a bit harsh as it masked the brick wall of the building next door. However, the toiletries were a nice touch, the tea-making facilities were nice and the fact the hotel is opposite Wetherspoons is a big plus.

We avoided the hotel breakfast as it seemed a little pricey (I hear it's all-you-can-eat so that's excusable) and checked out to dine somewhere else in the morning. The staff were fine with us leaving out heavy bags for the day in the lockable storage room; another good point.

All-in-all, a decent enough place but nothing out-of-the-ordinary. I've stayed in the Golden Fleece and the Queens and I think next time we'll try the Travelodge next to 'Spoons.

Enjoy!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melrobson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed overnight because of theatre visit. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. We arrived an hour earlier than check in time but our room was ready and we were able to park across the road in a covered section of the car park for £10. The room was clean and fresh with good quality towels and a walk in wet room shower (unfortunately no shower cap). There was free wi-fi and a tea and coffee making tray. The room was spacious and could have accomodated a larger bed. We did not realize that the double bed was so small until we actually went to bed!! As it was only for one night we did not complain. No wardrobe but adequate hanging space for a couple of nights.
Breakfast was good with a limited variety of hot and cold dishes. Hotel is in a good location with just a short 5-10 minute walk to shops and town centre.

Room Tip: Check size of double bed before accepting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacklin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing