We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent break in York”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A lovely hotel, with a fantastic sized family room.
The price was very reasonable at £53 for a family of up to 4 people for a nights stay.
Breakfast and parking was an extra charge, but we thought well worth the money for plenty of variety..(free for 6yr olds) & secure parking
The restaurant staff are very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them.
We will most def be returnimg to the same hotel for a summer break.
Many thanks to all staff,
Yvonne Jackson (room 114)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Our room was far too small to be classed as a family room. Tiny strip of floor to walk on when the sofa bed made was up. Double bed was ridiculously soft. Very uncomfortable. Glad it was only one night. £115 was too much to pay for this room no matter what the location is to York centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic J, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your comments.

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of your room, however, I would suggest that, were you to compare the size of the room to a similar city centre hotel in York, that you would actually find what we offer compares quite favourably and that in terms of price, when compared in the same manner, we are also very competitive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Fantastic hotel in a great location, parking across the road in a secure car park. We had adjoining rooms as there were 5 of us, made it feel like a suite. Very clean and in close proximity to the city centre. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Let's get negative out the way.

1. Rooms very noisy! We were on first floor and at 8 in the morning it sounded like trolleys were being dragged over cobbled stones outside our room, woke everyone up... Windows provided no sound proofing!

2. As a family of four, the room was very cramped! Not expecting wide open spaces but no room for more than one person to move at any one time... Due to the main bed being moved against the wall it now covered the heater which gave a bad odour, fearing the worst we moved the bed away causing even less room...

The duty manager was very accommodating when we informed her of these issues and has given us her personal card and assurance that on a repeat visit we will be given room discount.

Positive points.

1. Great location! 5min walk from centre.

2. Staff very professional.

3. Free WiFi which is of decent speed.

4. Very clean.

5. Rooms though basic, very comfortable and the walk-in shower is great.

I would recommend but only if you are able to get through a cheaper deal.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tuckers78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great location, within walking distance to the city centre, friendly & welcoming staff, nice reception area, room was spacious & clean, with small tv & tea/coffee making facilities, nicely decorated room, power shower in bathroom (although it was a fixed head shower, so no good for us ladies if we don't want to wash our hair!)
Car parking facilities available just across the road, £10 for 24 hours, but this is a first come first served basis, wasn't allowed to pay for an extra day so we just moved to the pay/display area of the car park.
Can't comment on the food, as we ate out in the evening, as for breakfast, there's a weather spoons just across the road!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kel123chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Reception staff very helpful. Rooms were small for family of 4. Good facilities and reception area was clean and staff very efficient. Breakfast was good. Good selection of food. Location was ok and parking secure. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyV38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel 53 on Easter Saturday for one night . The room was clean and comfortable the shower room was fine. Staff are very helpful and friendly but there was no restaurant or room service available at weekends!?! Luckily there are several good places to eat nearby .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanesgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £67 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing