We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn York City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,954)
Filter reviews
1,954 results
Traveller rating
587
745
388
147
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
745
388
147
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcity centrewalk in showerper nightsofa bedgreat showerbuffet stylestayed for one nightcastle museumfew minutes walkwould stay againvisiting yorktea and coffeebiscuitsfull englishwetherspoonspiccadilly
Filter
Updating list...
1,257 - 1,262 of 1,954 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had two adjoining room each with a double bed and a double sleep sofa. We have a family of 6 and put all the kids in one room, while the 2 of us left the sofa as is and enjoyed a little space. The showers reminded us of the USA and we savored them. Lots of thick thirsty towels, changed every day. Ask for a fan, it will help in many ways. Only downside was the bed was very squishy, I prefer a firm mattress. Ice is provided at the bar, bring the ice bucket for easy refills.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor. The 5 floors of stairs helped wear the kids out. :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMc4528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel 9th August just for one night with the wife on our wedding anniversary.the staff were all friendly and cheerful room a bit small but very clean shower was good and hot! Free wi fi also just a short 5min to city centre(try bobo lobo coctail bar in stonegate) the only downside was the council decided that the pavement outside the hotel needed a sweep by a machine! When we checked out we were able to leave our bags there all day. When we got home my daughter told us the hotel had found my phone in our room and would post it to my home , I hadnt realised id lost it! All in all good hotel with honest staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordieftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and as I booked direct with the hotel their website offered an extra 20% discount in the price!! The hotel is opposite the Travel lodge Central which has a Weatherspoons attached. There is a short walk to the town centre. We arrived by train and enjoyed the walk through the town centre to the hotel, a slow walk took about 15mins. You have a Tesco express just up the road to the right towards town. If you take a walk left at the end of the road there is a nice part of the Wall to walk on the corner. The Jovirk Centre which is in Coppergate shopping centre, the Castle museum and Clifford's Tower are all very close. It is also a short walk to The Shambles and The Minster. The hotel is clean and tidy and there was a large bed in the room. The shower was nice as it was spacious. We had a TV, kettle with sachets tea, coffee, sugar, milk and biscuits provided. Free with Wi Fi was included. There were 12 hangers, no drawers. The only thing which let the hotel down was that there was no air conditioning, however you can request a fan. The fan provided was very good. One minor thing I missed was a bedside table. Overall a good hotel and great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClairefromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very hot in rooms as windows cannot open very far due to health & safety. No air conditioning and although it states that fans are available on request, they were not. A very noisy working mens club behind the hotel. The bed was terrible, the base was obviously broken and the mattress sagged in the middle. Very uncomfortable night with little sleep. Although the cleaner ventured into our room, she did not dust and by the looks of it, hadn't for a while.

Location excellent, staff friendly, breakfast nice.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and ended up at the back of the hotel opposite a working men's club. At the front of the hotel was Weatherspoons. I don't think there are any quiet rooms in this hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn York City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your comments.

I am very sorry to read that you found the bedroom you were allocated to be 'very hot', yet find it difficult to believe that a fan was seemingly not available to you as we do have a number of fans available on request.

I am also sorry to hear that you experienced a level of noise you were uncomfortable with, but we are a city centre hotel and as such, I do believe it to be reasonable to expect to incur a low level of city centre noise.

I have spoken with the Housekeeper to establish if it is possible that any of the bed bases could be broken and after a thorough check, she has confirmed that none of our bed bases are broken, so I can only presume that you simply found it particularly uncomfortable, which, had you brought this to our attention at the time, we could have attempted to resolve to your satisfaction.

Furthermore, I am very disappointed to read that you do not believe that the room had been adequately dusted for a while, and, rest assured, have used this very review as a prompt to remind all Housekeeping Staff of the standards of cleanliness expected at Hotel 53.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our first time staying at hotel 53, although after reading some reviews were very sceptical.
This is the 2nd time we have stayed somewhere where the reviews were not great & im beginning to think that you just can not please some people no matter what.
On arrival we were both greeted with the most lovely receptionist, she was extremely friendly even helping us after our chat with information on places to eat out, where she had been to herself.

Our room was of a really good standard, so clean & comfortable, just looked exactly like what we had booked from the website, tea coffee making facilities, toiletries, towels etc. spotless.

We were situated on the 3rd floor at the side of the building, & i had seen many a complaint as this was a noisy hotel, as far as we were concerned there was a little noise in the evening from what we think is a club of some description next door, but if you dont want any noise then why would you book a hotel in the centre of a city, you have to have some degree of noise, that is not the fault of the hotel. Myself & my partner are both light sleepers but this did not stop us from enjoying a good night sleep.

Breakfast is a help yourself service with plenty of choice, fruit juice, cereal, fruit, natural yoghurt & of course a full english which you could help yourself to as much as you could eat. the staff here also very friendly with good manners.

So after our first thought of what have we booked into all i can say is that the next time we visit York for a few days Hotel 53 is where we will be going back to.

Thank you to all the staff that made our few days away an extremely enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazzaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews