We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The room wasn't very big but certainly adequate. There was no bath but the shower was great. The service was friendly, the porters some of the fastest I have come across. Because my room had an interconnecting door, I could hear next doors telly.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mariaholzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    662
    336
    133
    72
See reviews for
279
854
50
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with lovely staff in a perfect location.
Parking across the road for £10 24 hours.
Clean and modern, nice bedding and towels good shower.
Only criticism is rooms are too hot. No aircon and windows only open a fraction.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ace8366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had two adjoining room each with a double bed and a double sleep sofa. We have a family of 6 and put all the kids in one room, while the 2 of us left the sofa as is and enjoyed a little space. The showers reminded us of the USA and we savored them. Lots of thick thirsty towels, changed every day. Ask for a fan, it will help in many ways. Only downside was the bed was very squishy, I prefer a firm mattress. Ice is provided at the bar, bring the ice bucket for easy refills.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor. The 5 floors of stairs helped wear the kids out. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMc4528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel 9th August just for one night with the wife on our wedding anniversary.the staff were all friendly and cheerful room a bit small but very clean shower was good and hot! Free wi fi also just a short 5min to city centre(try bobo lobo coctail bar in stonegate) the only downside was the council decided that the pavement outside the hotel needed a sweep by a machine! When we checked out we were able to leave our bags there all day. When we got home my daughter told us the hotel had found my phone in our room and would post it to my home , I hadnt realised id lost it! All in all good hotel with honest staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geordieftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and as I booked direct with the hotel their website offered an extra 20% discount in the price!! The hotel is opposite the Travel lodge Central which has a Weatherspoons attached. There is a short walk to the town centre. We arrived by train and enjoyed the walk through the town centre to the hotel, a slow walk took about 15mins. You have a Tesco express just up the road to the right towards town. If you take a walk left at the end of the road there is a nice part of the Wall to walk on the corner. The Jovirk Centre which is in Coppergate shopping centre, the Castle museum and Clifford's Tower are all very close. It is also a short walk to The Shambles and The Minster. The hotel is clean and tidy and there was a large bed in the room. The shower was nice as it was spacious. We had a TV, kettle with sachets tea, coffee, sugar, milk and biscuits provided. Free with Wi Fi was included. There were 12 hangers, no drawers. The only thing which let the hotel down was that there was no air conditioning, however you can request a fan. The fan provided was very good. One minor thing I missed was a bedside table. Overall a good hotel and great location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairefromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very hot in rooms as windows cannot open very far due to health & safety. No air conditioning and although it states that fans are available on request, they were not. A very noisy working mens club behind the hotel. The bed was terrible, the base was obviously broken and the mattress sagged in the middle. Very uncomfortable night with little sleep. Although the cleaner ventured into our room, she did not dust and by the looks of it, hadn't for a while.

Location excellent, staff friendly, breakfast nice.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and ended up at the back of the hotel opposite a working men's club. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic J, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I am very sorry to read that you found the bedroom you were allocated to be 'very hot', yet find it difficult to believe that a fan was seemingly not available to you as we do have a number of fans available on request.

I am also sorry to hear that you experienced a level of noise you were uncomfortable with, but we are a city centre hotel and as such, I do believe it to be reasonable to expect to incur a low level of city centre noise.

I have spoken with the Housekeeper to establish if it is possible that any of the bed bases could be broken and after a thorough check, she has confirmed that none of our bed bases are broken, so I can only presume that you simply found it particularly uncomfortable, which, had you brought this to our attention at the time, we could have attempted to resolve to your satisfaction.

Furthermore, I am very disappointed to read that you do not believe that the room had been adequately dusted for a while, and, rest assured, have used this very review as a prompt to remind all Housekeeping Staff of the standards of cleanliness expected at Hotel 53.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our first time staying at hotel 53, although after reading some reviews were very sceptical.
This is the 2nd time we have stayed somewhere where the reviews were not great & im beginning to think that you just can not please some people no matter what.
On arrival we were both greeted with the most lovely receptionist, she was extremely friendly even helping us after our chat with information on places to eat out, where she had been to herself.

Our room was of a really good standard, so clean & comfortable, just looked exactly like what we had booked from the website, tea coffee making facilities, toiletries, towels etc. spotless.

We were situated on the 3rd floor at the side of the building, & i had seen many a complaint as this was a noisy hotel, as far as we were concerned there was a little noise in the evening from what we think is a club of some description next door, but if you dont want any noise then why would you book a hotel in the centre of a city, you have to have some degree of noise, that is not the fault of the hotel. Myself & my partner are both light sleepers but this did not stop us from enjoying a good night sleep.

Breakfast is a help yourself service with plenty of choice, fruit juice, cereal, fruit, natural yoghurt & of course a full english which you could help yourself to as much as you could eat. the staff here also very friendly with good manners.

So after our first thought of what have we booked into all i can say is that the next time we visit York for a few days Hotel 53 is where we will be going back to.

Thank you to all the staff that made our few days away an extremely enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing