We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for York visit.”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location for York visit.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stopped in the hotel for a visit to York with the Mrs and kids. The staff were helpful and the hotel looks modern and clean. The rooms were the same although I have never stopped in a room with no bedside cabinets or wardrobes. Instead there was an open rail to hang clothes on and I left my phone on the floor next to the bed.

The room was very narrow which is why I assume they did not put furniture in it? Also, who chose the corridor carpet? It gave me a headache.

The location is good in central York and easy to walk to the restaurants, bars and visitor attractions. There is a car park opposite with parking for guests at a £10 charge for 24 hours we parked there.

The breakfast was good and plenty to go at. Price of the hotel was not that fantastic but for location and quality it is a reasonable option for central York. Would I go again? Yes a definite option.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    675
    343
    135
    72
See reviews for
286
874
51
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the hotel room only as reading other reviews we knew there was a weatherspoons opposite, which was excellent value also for breakfast. The hotel staff were very quick and showed excellent customer service skills. They were very helpful giving us advise where to eat out and providing directions to locations. Car parking was good value for money £10 per day in comparison to other car park sites. Hotel room was clean, spacious. only negative would be no bath, a shower only. But i am sure if we requested a room with a bath, they would of looked after us. All in all we would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapmank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hotel 53 - we stayed overnight as we had tickets to see Bryan Ferry 14th November at the Barbican. Hotel 53 close to the Barbican and a great location and easy to walk to all different locations within York. Lovely glass entrance, efficient reception and good seated area with small bar and toilet facilities. Check in swift. Good secure storage area to leave luggage if you check in early as we did then we returned to collect our key 3.30pm. Digital lift next to reception and we were the fourth floor - Room 411 Double Room and booked bed and breakfast. Good sized room with large comfy bed great walk in shower. Coffee making facilities. Great tv and easy to watch in bed. Slight noise from above and next door but not disappointed with the room nor Hotel. We will return again and good to know what a great place Hotel 53 is to stay in. Wished we'd stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room 411 double room with good large walk in shower which had a side view. Maybe noisy if your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whackend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The staff were welcoming and friendly (with the exception of one bar tender, who was a bit curt). The hotel was modern, very clean and comfortable, rooms good with very large beds, everything you need, tea, coffee, biscuits, lovely big shower with shampoo, shower gel etc. Would not be termed as a 'boutique hotel' but much, much better than a travel lodge type, which would be a similar price. The location is great being just a short walk into the main shopping area, the castle close by etc. Breakfast good, buffet style, very busy the first morning we were there, had to queue a little bit for the self-service toast, but no problem really as it means you get nice hot toast. Offered lots of refills of tea/coffee. Have stayed at another hotel in York which is more expensive, but this is definitely the better option and will use it again if the need arises.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for one night (16 Nov 2013) as a family of four, in a family room. I had been concerned after some of the comments on Tripadvisor but need not have worried. The staff were all friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel is modern, and our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had one enormous bed (super-king size, easily), which was very comfortable, and a large sofa bed for the kids. Breakfast was perfectly fine. There is a little noise from the street but that is to be expected from a city-centre hotel. The location is really excellent for seing the sights of York on foot - only about 5 minutes walk to Jorvik. There is a carpark right across the street too which is really handy. It was also good value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judithb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The staff at this hotel were welcoming and very efficient. After checking in we only had one set of towels between the two of us but this was rectified straight away. The bed in the room was large and very comfortable, the room nicely decorated and of good size. We didn't use any of the facilities at the hotel e.g the bar or the restaurant however, the other guests we saw there seemed to be enjoying it. The hotel is a short walk from the center and very close to all the attractions. Particularly the Barbican center and Clifford's Tower/Castle Museum.

Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and I would certainly recommend. The only negative we had was disturbance from outside the hotel in the early hours but this is something out of the hotel's control. Just something to be aware of if you are looking for a hotel primarily to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharmerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This really would have been the perfect stay for us and very nearly was. The staff are great and always willing to go that extra for you, they even made sure i had cooked porrage on our second day, how good was that. The place is clean and modern and the breakfast was to a good quality. What really got to me was the Bed. somone has already stated this to be a king size, well is it...? because for most of the night i was touching my partner (not in that way). Also the topper only just reached the width of the bed. This meant a very restless night with both of us trying to take control of the covers. Im not sure if the bed is a standard double but i cant say its king size.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Hotelopia, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing