We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class - Recommended !!”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First Class - Recommended !!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a simply excellent modern hotel, ideally situated within 10 minutes of York centre (Shambles) . Incredibly clean, well furnished and impeccably managed.
Check in was first class, with a very helpful receptionist who arranged parking for me in the limited parking opposite the hotel, the parking is granted on a 'first come first served' basis.
The room was excellent, with a very well fitted suite of items (hair dryer, trouser press, TV and an immaculate shower)
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the menu, service and food was excellent (and very reasonably priced)
Breakfast was perhaps the best I have seen in a UK Hotel; none of the wafer thin streaky bacon here; all on a hot plate, but the minute the fried eggs get to that rubbery stage, they are removed and replaced with fresh ones). The service during breakfast, was like the rest of the service within the hotel, excellent.
On our last morning, the receptionist arranged for us to retain the parking until 1300 free of charge so that we could end our trip without looking for parking (which in York is extortionate and as our visit coincided with the York St Nicholas' Fair (Christmas Market) at a premium.
First Class and highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    675
    343
    135
    72
See reviews for
287
874
51
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very stylish rooms are cosy and the location is superb. The only things I would say that was wrong was the noise from outside the hotel was horrendous as the windows weren't sealed properly with the vents and also the heaters weren't that great even on full it still wasnt that warm. Would recommend tho for price

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaround90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We only booked a week in advance and were undecided which hotel to choose. We knew we only wanted a base and didn't plan on staying in the room for long. The room whilst not being overly spacious (had a king-size bed) was clean, bedding/towels top quality, very comfy bed, shower powerful and no problems with hot water. The buffet breakfast (which is a bit pricey for York at £10.95 if you don't pre-pay) was spot on. Housekeeping were attentive, all staff friendly and helpful especially Emma. It's only a 5 minute walk to town - perfectly placed for museum and Clifford's Mount. Great pub even nearer -within 2 minutes walk (Mason's Arms). Very pleased we chose Hotel 53 and would do so again. Only given 4* as I couldn't get connected to W-Fi at all during stay but connected within seconds across the road in The Masons Arms! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I had enquired about booking this hotel a couple of months prior to my visit and was promised a price over the phone which i accepted and i was advised that this would be logged on their system. An email to confirm the booking was promised but didn't arrive so i contacted them again and was told another email would be sent. I never actually received the email but duly arrived at the hotel to be quoted a more expensive rate. I queried the email that had never arrived and the promised rate over the phone, the hotel said there was no note on the system and that it was £418 for 4 nights, room only. As all accommodation was booked up in York, i had to pay. The room was fine but certainly not worth the price and i was disappointed that promises are obviously not honoured. I would return to York again but not this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolsbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Fairly central location though quite a trek from the train station so if arriving by train with luggage I'd get a taxi room ok size Comfy bed but not a lot of attention to detail, bathroom could do with updating nice staff and easy check in

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent a night at this hotel on 8th November and I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. When we arrived we were seen to quickly, easy check in. Rooms are pretty good quite well furnished, bathroom nice and clean with just a shower. Only one set of towels in room but a quick call down and another set was brought straight up. Bar and breakfast was ok, only downside was £10 to park car. Would I stay again? I'd have to say yes

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked this for 6 of us (3 couples) staying for a weekend break. Ideal situation as very near the city centre, within walking distance. The whole place was spotlessly clean and comfortable, breakfast was of a good standard and the small bar area was the ideal place for a nightcap with a very comfy sitting area. The staff couldn't be more helpful and offered advice on where to eat ( Blue bicycle was a great suggestion) Be warned the hotel restaurant is closed Saturday and Sunday evenings, that didn't matter to us but i think in the winter if weather is bad some residents might want to eat in house. The bedroom s were roomy, with enough room for a sofa, although personally I would have preferred they had used the slave for a larger bed and a bigger quilt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGreenAmble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing