We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a very good location! Room was very clean and well maintained, staff were friendly and only a 5 minute walk to the city centre! Provided with a leaflet with lots of discounts in. Definitely stay again if we return to York. Reasonably priced and Highly recommended!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    670
    341
    135
    72
See reviews for
284
869
50
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very modern clean and welcoming. The staff are very friendly, helpful and attentive. The rooms are great with good facilities and the best ones are at the back to avoid the noisy traffic at the front. Will use again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

They hate gay really not happy un friendly crap room bed all full walls so fin you can hear every thing and I mean every thing will not be stay here again I will let every one know about it manger is a joke tried speaking to her she did not have the time send three e mails now not one has she replied to or tried to ring me back after two phone calls great don't you think I would not stay here if you payed me

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenty1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Owner at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
With regards to your recent stay, I would like to confirm that Hotel 53 are not Anti Gay. The fact remains that you smoked in your room and disposed of the butts in the toilet and you where unhappy to pay the smoking charge. Its a shame that you feel it necessary to deal with this issue in this way. We do have and enforce a total non smoking policy in the hotel and it is clearly displayed in the bedroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 16 an 17 January. Room clean and well maintained. They even left the key card in the room to keep it warm. Would stay here again without any hesitation. A nice walk into York centre or walk on the wall, which is situated to the side of the hotel. If you want a great hotel in a fabulous location look no further. Why pay more it's got everything you need and great value.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jewls123Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear you will be visiting York in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 53.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed in Hotel 53 for 2 nights in January after they were able to offer the best rate in York. The weekend was with a friend for sightseeing, with it also being a working trip on the Monday. The decor throughout is clean and fresh, the room had everything you could need (hairdryer, very good shower, products and tea and coffee making facilities and a very comfortable bed)! I had a great nights sleep and found there was little noise inside/outside the hotel at night. The area the Hotel is situated is 'Up and Coming', but don't be put off. Be aware that the kitchen closes over the weekend, but the staff were helpful when I ordered a pizza on a Sunday evening and even sent the delivery man to my room! A helpful note to also say there is a Wetherspoons opposite the hotel if you're looking for a cheap breakfast or a couple of drinks. It was about a 5 minute walk into town, with Clifford's Tower and York Castle Museum opposite the hotel. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: I was in a twin room on floor 5, which literally was a double bed, split into 2. As the rooms aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the first time on 16 January 2014 and would definitley stay here again. The rooms were really clean (probably one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in). The staff, especially the breakfast waiters, were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. I would recommend this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pricey2928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Our conclusion; evidently not. Hotel 53 was awe inspring from the grand lobby to the clean hallways, polite staff and jaw dropping room. It wasn't until we did all the things a couple would do in a hotel until we started seeing some school boy errors and felt dissatisfied with some of the choices the hotel had made. Beds were high but small and not overly comfortable. The shower spluttered into life with all the grandeur of a garden tap, infact a garden tap would have had greater water coverage. As I hung my towel up it almost instantly dropped to the floor due to a faulty hook. The television was small. There was no hair dryer or any option to rent one. For the price we paid, it wasn't too bad, a short walk into yorks centre, friendly staff and worth what we paid. Overall rating =3/5. not bad, just not great.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing