We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern basic hotel”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice modern basic hotel”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for our 3 year anniversary. Lovely hotel, very modern and situated 5 mins away from the centre of York making it ideal. Bed was very comfortable, shower had plenty room. Will most definitely stay here again :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeaNHtiD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    692
    347
    135
    72
See reviews for
293
883
51
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed in Hotel 53 for a weekend away in York with my boyfriend. The hotel is in a great location only 3-5 minutes walk away from the town centre of York, so you don't have to worry about getting taxi's or buses etc.
York itself is fantastic, lots of lovely bars, shops, restaurants and famous sites to visit. I will definitely be returning to explore more.
The hotel is very modern in style and clean throughout. The rooms were spacious with a comfy bed. The en-suite bathroom was also good in size, clean and had a great walk in shower.
The rooms also provide a TV, hairdryer and coffee making facilities with plenty of choice of tea, coffee and biscuits.
The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly.
We did not eat or have a drink in the hotel so could not comment on these.
The only criticism I have is that the hotels car park is across the road in a small what looks like a run down warehouse that looks like it might fall down any minute. There is also quite limited spaces, you have to get a pass from the reception and pay £10 to park there. However, there are lots of other car parks nearby.
I had a lovely weekend and would definitely return to Hotel 53.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This is a Fantastic, clean, modern hotel. Accessible parking opposite, excellent breakfast, and staff extremely professional & polite. Great seating area next to the Bar. Rooms very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SCG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a very good location! Room was very clean and well maintained, staff were friendly and only a 5 minute walk to the city centre! Provided with a leaflet with lots of discounts in. Definitely stay again if we return to York. Reasonably priced and Highly recommended!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very modern clean and welcoming. The staff are very friendly, helpful and attentive. The rooms are great with good facilities and the best ones are at the back to avoid the noisy traffic at the front. Will use again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

They hate gay really not happy un friendly crap room bed all full walls so fin you can hear every thing and I mean every thing will not be stay here again I will let every one know about it manger is a joke tried speaking to her she did not have the time send three e mails now not one has she replied to or tried to ring me back after two phone calls great don't you think I would not stay here if you payed me

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenty1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Owner at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
With regards to your recent stay, I would like to confirm that Hotel 53 are not Anti Gay. The fact remains that you smoked in your room and disposed of the butts in the toilet and you where unhappy to pay the smoking charge. Its a shame that you feel it necessary to deal with this issue in this way. We do have and enforce a total non smoking policy in the hotel and it is clearly displayed in the bedroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 16 an 17 January. Room clean and well maintained. They even left the key card in the room to keep it warm. Would stay here again without any hesitation. A nice walk into York centre or walk on the wall, which is situated to the side of the hotel. If you want a great hotel in a fabulous location look no further. Why pay more it's got everything you need and great value.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jewls123Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear you will be visiting York in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 53.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing