We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 53
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton York(York)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,941)
Filter reviews
1,941 results
Traveller rating
582
743
385
145
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
743
385
145
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcity centrewalk in showerper nightsofa bedgreat showerbuffet stylestayed for one nightcastle museumfew minutes walkwould stay againvisiting yorktea and coffeebiscuitsfull englishwetherspoonspiccadilly
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,125 - 1,130 of 1,941 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

On arrival the receptionist was friendly and helpful. Hotel has a very modern feel to it and the bedroom had all of the necessaries to ensure a comfortable stay (I stayed for 4 nights) and good standards of cleanliness.
The breakfast staff were always friendly and eager to take bags and coats from you so that you could sit and enjoy your breakfast without tripping over luggage.
Breakfast was tasty, fresh and well cooked and the hot breakfast items were filled regularly. I would have liked to see a wider variety of cooked breakfast items, such as grilled tomatoes, hash browns, black pudding etc.
I found the car park difficult to find, although it is actually directly opposite the hotel. The signs say that it is a pay and display car park and only once you enter the car park do you see the signs for Hotel 53 guests. However, there were a number of spaces allocated to the hotel, many were empty when I stayed there, however I am sure it would be more difficult to park at busier times of the year. It's also nice and secure with the gates being locked from 9pm until 7am.
Overall a good hotel that I would recommend to others staying on business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

On the whole this is a good value for money hotel in a good location
Parking is £10 if done thru reception
Big rooms , but shower was either hot or cold
TV in the room was tiny .. 14 inches was ridiculously small
The lobby smelt really badly of chip fat which came from the kitchen area
And thought it was strange the restaurant wasn't open at the weekends - however there's loads of great places to eat in York
Few niggles but can't fault it for the price
Reception staff v friendly and a credit to the hotel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sly3599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Good location within 5 min walking distance from york centre, originally booked into a inter joining room called reception to get this changed the lady immediately changed our room and even fetched the new room key up to us (thanks) Excellent service and a great attitude from all the staff. A little cheaper than most of the hotels with the same location and to be honest a bargain for the price, have stayed in almost all of the top hotels in york but for the money this is well worth the price, would defiantly stay here again, hotel itself very quiet we slept well and Didn't hear a thing all night! the only downside was the strong smell of paint, I'm guessing the rooms have recently been decorated. Good powerful shower and the room was spotless! Breakfast was ok and the restaurant staff very polite.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheepy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of Dec 2013 so that we could visit the York christmas markets. We could not fault this hotel at all, the room was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly - which made our stay very pleasant. We ate in the restaurant of the hotel and was amazed on how good and how much food you got for your money, would definately eat and stay in this hotel again. The location was perfect too, just a short walk to all the shops etc. Thanks for the perfect weekend away hotel 53.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed at hotel 53 for a 2 night stay feb 14 with friends and we all loved it.
Staff are very friendly. It's modern and very clean. Breakfast is buffet style and was yummy. Loads of choice. Fruit cereals and full cooked.
It's only about a 3/4 min walk to the Golden Fleece pub. Parking is right across the road.
Would DEFINATELY stay again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ant1tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews