We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Looks, feels as IS like an expensive but tired Premier Inn, with free but slow wifi (1.7mbps dowload/ 0.1mbps upload). You can hear everything in the neighbouring rooms and corridor. However staff were nice enough and it is a good location for city centre.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank SionOHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay at Hotel 53. I am glad you found our staff to be nice and enjoyed our city centre location, we are positioned perfectly for many of York's local attractions including the Clifford's Tower and York Castle Museum, both less than 5 minutes walk from door to door! I do however, refute that we look and feel like a Premier Inn. The Hotel has been designed to show modern simplicity and the standard of service provided exceeds that of a Premier Inn or Travelodge. I am concerned to read that you found our free wifi to be slow during your stay, this is something that has not been bought to my attention before however I will use this review to contact our wifi provider and investigate the slow speeds you were experiencing. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel 53 in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,818)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 53
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a modern hotel with good facilities and very clean. The staff at reception were approachable and friendly as were the housekeeping staff. The breakfast was plentiful with a varied choice, The restaurant staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient.
Our room was clean and well equipped. The towels were thick and fluffy and lovely to use. The only downside was that although the quilt sat on the bed as being the same size, when 2 adults were underneath, we were wrestling to both be covered up. However, the room was well heated so we were not cold. The bathroom was heated too which was nice.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel is not necessarily the best idea if University Students/ revellers a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaG798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Hotel 53 York. I am pleased to read you found staff in all of our departments friendly and helpful, all of our staff are a credit to our team and I will pass your praise to all departments. The towels we provide are often praised for being thick and fluffy and I am glad you found the same! I am a little concerned to read you found the quilt didn't quite fit the bed, we have since had new duvets in all of our bedrooms so I am sure on your next stay you will not have this problem! We hope to welcome you back to Hotel 53 in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Fantastic hotel, very friendly staff, extremely clean facilities.
Parking is very easy which is a big thing. Also, very comfy beds which is a bonus!
Will definitely be returning to this hotel next time we visit York

A*

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Hotel 53. I am so pleased to read that you found our staff great and our facilities clean, I will pass your comments onto our dedicated Housekeeping team who will be delighted. Our parking is simple, £10 per night from arrival until 11am on departure, an allocated space which is yours to come and go freely during your stay, allocated on a first-come first-served basis by arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 53 in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went to york for a birthday weekend hotel was clean and modern . Staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed breakfast good choice and fresh . Will definitely go back again perfect location and lovely hotel .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank carforn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your great review of your stay at Hotel 53. I am so happy you found the hotel to be clean and modern, the owners make a priority to designing and maintaining the hotel. Our staff are all friendly and happy to help with any of your needs during your stay, including providing an excellent range of breakfast items cooked freshly each morning. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 53 in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

beautiful hotel! short stroll into the lovely town of York, the staff were really great and the bed was really comfortable, a smaller room than i've had but it made no difference to the quality of this hotel to me, i loved it and will stay again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Hotel 53. I am happy that you describe our hotel as 'beautiful'. The owners take pride in the design of the hotel which is re-decorated every January. The beige and brown colour scheme of our bedrooms this year is my favourite yet! I am sad to read that you found our rooms to be smaller than expected, we do feel our offering is very similar to that offered by our direct competitors in York. I am glad to see that this size of room did not hinder your stay. Thank you for staying at Hotel 53, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Me, my hubby and our two young children booked a last minute break for a great price over the Easter break.

We stayed in a family room with a pullout sofa-bed. As one reviewer mentioned, there wasn't an awful lot of space, but we didn't spend a lot of time in our hotel room other than for sleeping, so it wasn't a problem for us. The sofa-bed was beginning to sag a bit at the bottom, but our kids are small, so it was fine for a couple of days.

Oh, and the double glazing didn't really block out the street noise, but after trekking round York, we were all too tired for it to be an issue.

Overall, it's a lovely clean hotel, and in easy walking distance of all York's main attractions. Ideal. The staff were friendly and all of them knew how to smile, which is always a bonus.

We'd definitely stay there again.

Oh, and a top tip for you. Breakfast in the hotel is a bit pricey. Don't bother. Just across the road is a Wetherspoon's which opens early and does a fab breakfast. The four of us ate for around £10, roughly the same price as breakfast for one person in the hotel.

Another thing, you will be charged to use the hotel's parking which is just across the road in--what looks like--a disused works of some kind. We paid £10 a day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay at Hotel 53. I am please to hear that you found all of our staff to be friendly and smile, each one is a credit to our team. Being a city centre hotel, a light level of street noise is to be expected, however, we have since had secondary glazing fitted to our front facing rooms which has made a huge difference to the peacefulness of these bedrooms. I am sorry that you felt our breakfast to be a little pricey, I do however feel that our pricing reflects the quality and range of produce on offer compared to that of our competitors across the road. We do charge £10 per night for our parking which lasts from arrival until 11am on the day of departure, this offers a slight discount to the council's pay and display in the same car park. Thank you for staying at Hotel 53, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here as a spare of the moment weekend trip. Arrived early hours of the morning to be greeted by a very friendly night manager called Chris who sorted every thing out for us including safe locked parking. Was on the first floor the room was modern sleek and clean nice decor, the bathroom was very clean and its open walking shower almost makes it a wet room, loved it. Tv had all freeview and radio channels. Bed was very comfortable and quiet to say its close to centre of York.I would recommend hotel 53 to any one. Infact already organising next stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca9493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel 53 and that Chris, one of our night managers was helpful on your arrival. Our bathrooms do have walk-in power showers as we feel this complements the modern design of our bedrooms. I am so happy that you are organising your next stay with us, be sure to call or email directly and quote 'Trip Advisor' for your 10% discount. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 53 in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,843 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £64 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing