We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 53

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel 53
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Good location, good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Good value for the night I stayed. At £57 for 1 night (sunday) it was a bargain really but I know the prices can get much much higher than that & I would not pay the £189 rate I have seen online. It's basic but has everything you need for a night or two. The décor is modern and the environment is clean & pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank transformental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our cheapest rate of £57 room only for a Sunday night. As York is such a popular destination, prices are higher than those of our neighbouring cities, however, I am confident that were you to compare our rate of £189 on a Saturday to the rate of our competitors at that time you would find our price to be most favourable. Hotel 53 is designed with modern simplicity and I am happy that you found your room to be clean and pleasant. I am also really pleased to read that you found staff to be friendly and helpful, something that our team are regularly praised for. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you to Hotel 53 in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    664
    337
    133
    72
See reviews for
279
856
50
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here overnight, didn't see any reviews about parking as it was booked in a hurry so were a bit shocked the parking was £10 and we had to be out by 11am the next day. We would have asked to extend had we known we could. Had the neighbours from hell next door who had two domestics until they were removed from the hotel. To be fair to the staff they were lovely about it and came up instantly to stop the shouting and screaming but they let the woman back in again an hour after which then woke us up again when round 2 began. To their credit the staff did kick them out which was good for us. Expensive for 3 stars but that's what you get at the weekend. Clean and modern, lovely breakfast and lovely staff. Would stay here again if we got a bargain but never again on a Saturday if we can help it!

Room Tip: We had a quiet room without asking for one until some idiots started a riot. If you do experience an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JockBCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you were disturbed during the night of your stay, I am however glad that our night manager sorted the problem quickly. We do rely on our guests being courteous to other guests during their stay, however on the rare occasion that they are not our night team will act as soon as they are aware of a problem. York is a very popular destination and this does unfortunately raise the price of rooms, as you say in your review, Saturday nights are the most expensive so if you are looking for a deal, try a Sunday or Monday night as these tend to be our cheapest nights! Next time, why not call and book direct quoting Trip Advisor for your 10% discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

So easy to find and carpark across the road for only £10 until 1100hrs the next day, the staff extended this until 1300 for no extra charge. Nice modern hotel with extremely comfortable beds&a good buffet breakfast. The city centre is a short stroll away, can't fault this place at all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank superherorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your great review. We do indeed have parking across the road for £10 per night until 11am on the morning of check-out. Sometimes we can extend this parking, if we can't then there is ample pay & display parking in the same car park! I am very happy to read you found our beds comfy and enjoyed the buffet breakfast, I will be sure to pass your comments onto our chef. I agree, York City Centre is very close to Hotel 53, less than a 5 minute walk and you are right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of York! Next time you are in York, why not call us direct for your 10% Trip Advisor Discount?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The rooms are overpriced for what they are, the t.v. is tiny, and there is nowhere to sit apart from the bed and the chair at the desk. We were at the back overlooking a concrete flat roof housing the generators, which are extremely noisy. This is not an attractive part of town but it is very convenient to all the major attractions, we didn't use the car all the time we were there. There is little car parking at the hotel but we found one nearby at £11.50 per day.
The staff were very friendly and helpful,
There is a Wetherspoons across the road for a Breakfast half the price of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review. From your review I can deduct that you had been upgraded to one of our King bedded rooms located at the rear of the hotel of which many of our guests love and I am sorry that this did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We do have standard double rooms which also have a sofa for extra seating, should you wish to stay at Hotel 53 again, you can request one of these rooms. We do have limited parking at a price of £10 per night until 11am on the morning of check-out. These are allocated on a first come, first served basis by arrival at the hotel, but as you say, there is ample alternative parking near by that we can advise of. Whilst the Wetherspoons across the road from us does offer a cheaper breakfast, our breakfast is an unlimited buffet with high quality produce. I am very pleased to read you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, this is a subject of regular praise and is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for an overnight stay in York. The staff on reception were very polite, friendly and helpful. We parked in the carpark across the road for £10 and they allowed us to extend our stay in the carpark to 1pm which meant we could do a bit more the next day before we left. The room was simple but clean and fine for what we needed- sink in the bathroom was very low which was awkward for us to use- I think this is because it was a disabled bathroom? Bed very comfy, nice big towels and a nice breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bex3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Hotel 53. I am so pleased to read that you found our staff to be polite, friendly and helpful! Each member of the team is a credit to the hotel. We do charge £10 per night for our parking and this lasts from arrival until 11am on the day of departure. In some cases we are able to extend the parking time, however this all depends on the number of arrivals on that particular day. I am glad that you liked your bedroom, we have an accessible double bedroom on each floor. I personally prefer these rooms as they come with extra space in the room, they also come with an adapted wet-room to aid guests who may be in a wheelchair. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here may 2014 , in the beautiful city of york to see a gig.Hotel very clean, staff polite the location of this hotel is superb , minutes away from all you require at York.Breakfast was good but let down by the sausage (cold and very hard) but their was enough of other breakfast foods to please any tastes.Good value hotel with on site parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I completely agree with you, York is a beautiful city and we are situated perfectly for a weekend of tourism less than 5 minutes walk to the main city centre and attractions such as Jorvik, the Castle Museum and Clifford's Tower! Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and the cleanliness of the rooms, I will be sure to pass these on. I am very sorry to read that the sausages during breakfast were not up to standard, I do hope that you brought this to the attention of the restaurant staff who could arrange a freshly cooked sausage for you. We do hope to welcome you back to Hotel 53, why not call direct and use your 10% Trip Advisor discount?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel 53 last week and really recommend it as it is in a good location and modern and has a good restaurant within as well. Our room was small but well appointed and had a cosy feeling. They could put a more lightweight doona on the bed but we will definitely stay there again if we are in York. Good parking opposite the hotel as well despite having to pay for it

Room Tip: Always check on line other Trip Adviser comments before making a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! I am so pleased to read you will recommend our hotel in the future! I agree our location is great, less than a 5minute walk to the main shopping centre where you can find an assortment of shops, bars and restaurants. 3 of York's main tourist attractions are also less than 5 minutes walk, the Castle Museum, Clifford's Tower and the ever popular Jorvik. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel 53 in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#15 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing