We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Hot Hot”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I'll start the Pros
Fantastic location
Fantastic service
Clean and tidy.

Cons
Hot Hot Hot and Hot again
Family rooms a tad tight for 4 and if you have a buggy make it a tad tighter.

We stopped on a very busy day and service was very good, but the lift get very busy, in the morning after waiting over 5 mins for the lift and every time it came it was full, we walked 4 floors carrying buggy and cases.

The biggest problem is the heat, a fan was supplied but just blows hot air around, the windows only open a few inches and let no air in, i was told this is because of the law but that's not much help, better windows or air con is needed, I would use the hotel again but not from June-September

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markofdboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael_Alderman, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review! I am very pleased to read that you found our service fantastic and your room clean and tidy. During peak times the life can get busy, if you don't wish to wait for the lift and need help carrying bags down the stairs you can call reception for assistance. Hotel 53 does not have air-conditioning in any of our bedrooms however, our lobby and restaurant are air conditioned. We provide fans on request for bedrooms and windows can be opened a small amount to allow for fresh air. Health and safety laws restrict the amount the windows can be opened. Thank you again for your review, why not use your 10% trip advisor discount for your next stay? Call direct on 01904 559000 and quote 'Trip Advisor' for our best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I REALLY wish I had spent more time in York. Two weeknights was not enough to enjoy the flavors and people of this fine town. But the Hotel 53 served us perfectly!

The hotel sits about 2-3 blocks from the old town York. VERY easy to navigate and find your way. Albeit the town is not a grid system, but landmarks and buildings help you find your way back to the hotel. Even after a few too many pints.

The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. They quickly pointed us to the parking facilities and got us settled. The room was comfortable and cozy. We were only there two nights but fit us well.

PLENTY of hot water and water pressure. That means a lot. They could probably use a few more outlets. With so many devices that need charging, the desk space is tight. Especially when you want to make coffee in the morning.

I'm very pleased with this choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am really pleased to read that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming, our receptionists are a credit to our team. When the hotel was built, the needs to plug sockets was not so great, however, we do have extension leads available from reception which will provide an extra 3 sockets. I agree, 2 nights really is not long enough to truly experience all that York has to offer! Please do come and visit us again, why not sue your 10% Trip Advisor discount, call the hotel on 01904 559000 and quite 'Trip Advisor'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location is excellent - easy walking distance to all the main attractions. However, there is a Travel Lodge just opposite which is no doubt more economical, so if location is all you are interested in, perhaps consider the Travel Lodge instead?

On the good side, the rooms are spacious, modern, clean and well equipped. We never tried their restaurant, but passed the entrance on several occasions going to and from the lifts. On our second and final night there, upon our return from a meal in town, the Hotel 53 restaurant was full of (what appeared to be / sounded like) a coach load of North American tourists, and it was very noisy indeed - so perhaps not always ideal for a romantic, secluded dinner.... We did not try eat breakfast in the restaurant either, since upon enquiring on our first night were informed that the breakfast menu was a set price regardless of whether or not one took the full breakfast or only continental. Since my wife only ever eats continental breakfasts, we decided this was not for us - the pub across the road serves a better choice of good breakfasts from 7am and is more economical. For our second morning, however, we ordered two continental breakfast delivered to our room. This WAS very good value, copious and tasty.

If you are in a car, be advised that Hotel 53 only has a limited number of parking bays reserved for its use in the Parking garage opposite - we arrived too late and thus had to pay the more expensive rate for a bay in this garage that was not reserved for Hotel 53 guests. The non-53 rate is exorbitant, and even the hotel rate is a bit steep at GBP 10 for a day. Regardless, the hotel rate is probably the best deal available, so make sure to contact the hotel before your arrival to reserve one of their bays in advance. Because, apart from the high price for the non-53 bays, the other serious inconvenience is that these other bays only allow you to pay for two hours at a time - rather a handicap if you are planning on leaving your car there all day while visiting the town on foot. Despite signs indicating the contrary, it is not possible to pay for the non-53 bays by credit card. So one is reduced to feeding in coins. There is supposedly an option of paying using one's mobile phone, but I only have a foreign phone and am not sure whether that would work or what the charges would be. There are other (equally pricey) public carparks a bit further away from the hotel where one car park all day. Firtunately for us, we arrived sufficiently early on the first day to only have to pay for a couple of hours, they do not seem to charge for parking overnight. And the next morning I only had to pay for another hour before one of the Hotel 53 bays was freed up....

The biggest downside to Hotel 53, is the noise. But it seems to be largely beyond the control of the Hotel 53 management, and you would probably have the same inconvenience if you stayed at the Travel Lodge opposite. There is a lot of noise from the pub opposite at closing time, when all the drunks come outside. We had this late at night on both nights we were there. On the second night, the boisterous and disorderly drunks were apparently staying in Hotel 53 itself, a floor or two above us, and they made a tremendous racket, shouting and running up and down the corridors until another unfortunate guest who had been woken up, came out of his room and told them to calm down... Equip yourself with earplugs and you should enjoy an undisturbed night....

Room Tip: There is a lot of noise from the main road and especially from the adjacent pub, so if possible avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am please to read that you found your room spacious, modern, clean and well equipped. Our restaurant is open from 6.30pm until 9pm (last orders) Monday to Friday. We do have occasions when a group dines in the restaurant, however if you wish to dine before or after the group, please see reception or the restaurant and we can help you choose a time to best suit your needs. Our breakfast is a buffet breakfast of English and continental items and there is a set price for this, as you mentioned a smaller continental breakfast can be ordered on room service Monday – Friday, I am please that you found this tasty!
We have 40 spaces that are allocated on a first-come first-served basis by arrival for a charge of £10 per night from arrival until 11am on check-out. Please note that parking spaces cannot be reserved prior to arrival. If we do not have any bays available, we direct guests to Peel Street car park behind the hotel which charges similar rates to ourselves. You can also pay for between 1 hour and 72 hours in one go by cash, or by card if you have a mobile phone. It is the on-street parking which only allows 2 hours to be booked at one time.
Whilst we cannot control the noise from people outside the hotel, we have recently had secondary glazing fitted to all our bedrooms that face onto the front road. This has made a massive difference to the noise that emanates the windows from outside the hotel. Noise from guests inside the hotel is something that we can help with, our night managers do hourly floor walks to assess noise levels, however, if noise is experienced during the night a quick call to reception and one of our night managers can come and speak to the guests.
Thank you again for your review, and we do hope to welcome you back to Hotel 53 in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just spent a night at Hotel 53 and it was great. The staff on reception were warm and welcoming, we had to pay £10 for parking but as York is a difficult city to park,it was reasonable,better still on checkout today they let us keep the car in the car park until we had a chance to explore York a bit more at no extra cost. The room was really comfy, good bed nice bedding and a great bathroom and I am fussy, the towels were really fuffy a lot better than many more upmarket hotels Ive stayed in. The breakfast staff were lovely and we had a nice choice of food. It was great value and we will definately stay here again. The location was really good as well, just a short walk to lots of good restauarants and bars and the tourist attractions York has to offer

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valron1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent stay at Hotel 53! We do offer limited parking at a charge of £10 per night, this does offer a slight discount to other car parks locally. Permits are valid from arrival until 11am on departure, however on some occasions we can extend this further if enquired at reception. We do receive many great comments about our fluffy towels! and bed linen, we p[ride ourselves on providing good quality products. I am delighted to read you wish to stay at Hotel 53 again, please call direct and quote Trip Advisor for your 10% discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Overall the hotel was very good. The room was spacious and clean. The only downside was the restaurant was only Monday to Friday . Not a problem for us but could be for some travellers. Ample coffee and tea making provision. Staff very friendly and helpful

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hasbeancounteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am pleased to read that you found your room spacious and clean, and that staff were friendly and helpful! I will be sure to pass your comments on to all departments. We do not open the restaurant on Saturday or Sunday evenings, however we do offer sandwiches on room service. There are many great restaurants close to the hotel and we have devised a list of personal recommendations which are available from reception. Thank you once again for your review, we hope to welcome you to Hotel 53 in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in a standard double room for one night, and were disappointed. On the website, the hotel looks contemporary and light. In reality, not so impressive. We were put in a room at the front of the hotel, on noisy Piccadilly, which was small and minimal. Despite having two layers (glass in front of the window), noise still came through, especially as students made their way back to their nearby residences throughout the night and at 5.30am when the road sweeper came down! The room was also very warm, and we would have liked to have had the window open, but again the noise made this difficult.

When we arrived, we were a little disappointed by the standards in the room. Whilst not unclean, the empty chewing gum wrapper on the floor made us think that the room had not quite been properly 'bottomed', and there was a lot of dust on the bent venetian blind (which incidentally let a lot of light in early in the morning). A tiny television and one chair was pretty much all the room had to offer.

Before bed, we decided to have a shower, which took forever to get merely luke warm. After this, we attempted to lock the door before going to bed, finding that the lock was broken and was covered by some masking tape - not very secure. The bed was ok - two singles pushed together, with a very obvious dip which meant that we were effectively sleeping in two singles, as you couldn't lie in the middle.

Breakfast was disappointing also - cold pastries and the hot food under a heat lamp, rather than being available for order.

On check out, we informed the staff of our disappointing stay, and received little response. Whilst friendly, they gave no apology, suggesting that we should have phoned down about the shower as they may have been able to sort it - all well and good, but by the time we had it, we just wanted to get to bed.

Don't normally write reviews but felt this needed to be written. Wouldn't stay again - opt for a Premier Inn if on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank reviewer87654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review, feedback is useful to the hotel be it good or bad. I am sorry that you feel disappointed by your recent stay with us.

The photos on all of our websites were taken in May, having had the whole hotel re-decorated this January. These photos do show exactly what we offer in terms of size of room, room amenities and the stylish simplicity design. Your room was upgraded to one of our King bedded rooms which are zip-and-link beds, two single mattresses zipped together and king size bedding used which many of our guests love, if this is not to your liking we could have moved you to a standard double room had you mentioned this. We have recently had secondary glazing fitted to the rooms on the front of the hotel, which has made a huge difference and has been praised by many guests. That said Hotel 53 is a city centre hotel and a low level of city centre and street noise has to be expected. If you do not wish to have your window open during the night, we do provide free standing fans as stated in the hotel information card in every bedroom, a call to reception would have resolved this for you. The shower temperature can be manually adjusted from outside the bedroom and would have taken only a few short minutes to fix had we been aware of your problem at the time. I do believe that had many of your gripes been reported to reception during your stay, we would have been able to solve these and you would have left having had a more enjoyable stay. As I mentioned on departure, there is little that we can do to fix a lukewarm shower, a warm room or a dislike to a bed at check-out.

With regards to the internal door lock, these have all been disabled due to health and safety laws changing, however once you close your bedroom door, nobody can access your room without your key card – you are very safe. I am saddened to read that you disliked our buffet breakfast of which we do receive many compliments. Your booking was made via expedia.com and I have checked the wording on the website which advertises your room rate as including ‘buffet breakfast’ which by the nature of a buffet is not cooked to order. I am concerned with regards to your comments on the cleanliness of your bedroom, I have used this review to remind the housekeeping team of the high standards we expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Good value for the night I stayed. At £57 for 1 night (sunday) it was a bargain really but I know the prices can get much much higher than that & I would not pay the £189 rate I have seen online. It's basic but has everything you need for a night or two. The décor is modern and the environment is clean & pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank transformental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel53york, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our cheapest rate of £57 room only for a Sunday night. As York is such a popular destination, prices are higher than those of our neighbouring cities, however, I am confident that were you to compare our rate of £189 on a Saturday to the rate of our competitors at that time you would find our price to be most favourable. Hotel 53 is designed with modern simplicity and I am happy that you found your room to be clean and pleasant. I am also really pleased to read that you found staff to be friendly and helpful, something that our team are regularly praised for. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you to Hotel 53 in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £54 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing