We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first solo trip”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“first solo trip”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was my first trip on my own was nervous but no need to be i was well looked after. Clean hotel and the staff very freindly and attentive .Near all that York has all to offer. buffet breakfast was a good start to the day free WiFi The weather was hot so was the room with no air con it was a little uncomfortable when trying to sleep But having said that the hotel has no control on the hot weather Price and location great

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel53YorkCentre, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at Hotel 53, we aim to look after all of our guests and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am so happy you encountered happy and friendly staff during your stay, all of our staff members are a credit to our team.

Most of England has been experiencing very hot weather over the last few weeks. Whilst we do not have air-conditioning in any of our bedrooms, we have been opening all the windows fully on a daily basis to allow cooler air to circulate around the bedrooms. We also have a limited number of fans which are available from reception to help try and cool bedrooms down. I am pleased to write that the weather is currently cooling down to a more reasonable 20-23 degrees which will also cool down our bedrooms.

Thank you once again for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Hotel 53 in the future.

Kind Regards
Rachael Alderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    684
    346
    135
    72
See reviews for
291
881
51
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I looked at other hotels for this overnight stay, but couldn't find a reason not to stay here.It is clean and comfortable and an ideal situation a short walk from the attractions in York. I was not feeling too well so didn't join my companions for the evening. I ordered room service at a reasonable price and the portions were generous. I love the simplicity of the rooms, the walk in shower and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernEnglandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel53YorkCentre, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of your stay at Hotel 53 York, we are so pleased that you decided to stay with us. We are in a great location for a tourist stay in York, 5 minutes walk to the main city centre and less than 5minutes to the York Castle Museum, Clifford's Tower and Jorvik. I am sorry that you weren't feeling well during your stay, but I am happy that you enjoyed your meal from our room service menu. Our new Head Chef Jamie has recently launched his new menu and will be delighted with your comments.

Thank you once again for your review, we hope to welcome you back soon,

Kind Regards
Rachael Alderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 880 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at hotel 53 in york on Thursday for the start of a birthday trip we had planned,york then bowness.The hotel is nice and clean and the staff are very friendly and attentive.The hotel is in the heart of york,so there are loads of attractions,bars and restaurants near by,so all in all the hotel offers very good value for money,the only down point and this is something that is out if the control of the hotel is the weather,as it was 27.5 the rooms were very hot,and with no air conditioning,the standard fans provided,only whip round the already warm air.But once again for the price and location this hotel cannot be faulted.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
18 Thank illuminate322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel53YorkCentre, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am very pleased that you decided to celebrate your birthday with us in York. Our housekeeping team do work hard each day to ensure that all rooms are cleaned to the high standard that we expect, I will pass on your lovely comments which they will be thrilled to read!

Most of England has been experiencing very hot weather over the last few weeks. Whilst we do not have air-conditioning in any of our bedrooms, we have been doing our best to help cool the rooms buy opening all the windows fully during the day to allow cooler air to circulate. We also have a limited number of fans which are available from reception to help cool bedrooms down. I am pleased to write that the weather is currently cooling down to a more reasonable 20-23 degrees which will also cool down our bedrooms.

We do have a great location for York, 5 minutes walk to the main centre and les than 5 minutes to the Castle Museum, Clifford's Tower and Jorvik. Thank you once again for your review, we hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind Regards
Rachael Alderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel ideally situated within the city walls with parking available for £10 per day. Bedrooms were well appointed with tea and coffee facilities and wi fi access. Beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom spacious and immaculately maintained. Breakfast was good. Overall the hotel was excellent and I would look to stay there again when next visiting York. An added bonus was the Weatherspoon inn across the road!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzer980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel53YorkCentre, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely, informative review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel 53 and that you will look to return on your next visit to York. Why not book direct next time and quote 'Trip Advisor' for your 10% discount?

Kind Regards
Rachael Alderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is nice and clean, as are the rooms, however the room we got was tiny. After finding a place to put two suitcases we had no room to move. We had to jump over bags to get out the door. In saying this the room and bathroom were both clean, and wifi was free, which was a bonus. Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eryngrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel53YorkCentre, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Hotel 53 York. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel and your rooms nice and clean, our housekeeping team work hard each day to ensure our high standards are met. I am not sure which room you stayed in as I can not think of a room where once bags are placed on the floor you would have to jump over them to reach the door. Our rooms are all of a similar size and I am confident that were you to compare the size to rooms of our competitors you would find our offering quite favourable.

We have a great location, about 5 minutes walk to main city centre and less than 5 minutes to the Clifford's Tower, York Castle Museum and Jorvik museum.

Thank you once again for your review, we do hope to welcome you back to Hotel 53 in the future.

Kind Regards
Rachael Alderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When we got to it, our room was comfortable, spacious and clean with all the trimmings we had been promised. (Tea and coffee facilities, toiletries and luxury towels etc.) It was however noisy as it faced the road, and the window could not be opened by any reasonable distance on a very close humid night.
We had paid in advance. The sour note was having to provide a £30 'deposit' by credit card - presumably against any breakages or theft. We were told this would be refunded 'in a few days' if all was well.
We've never had to do this before and we stay away a lot. Only time will tell whether the fee will be refunded without being pursued. I really feel this was an imposition and gave us the impression we could not be trusted. I don't think we'll be staying there again. There a plenty of other similar hotels in York who treat their guests with more courtesy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MariWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel53YorkCentre, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found your room to be comfortable spacious and clean with everything that you expected. I am sorry that you found your room noisy. We have recently had secondary glazing fitted to our front-facing rooms however as a city centre hotel, there will always be a small level of city centre noise. The windows have a safety catch to limit the amount that they can be opened, this is due to health and safety laws within the UK.

We do ask for a pre-authorisation from a credit or debit card from all guests checking in who have pre-paid for their rooms. Please do not take this personally as this is asked of all guests who have pre-paid for their rooms. This is a frozen amount of £30 which is held within your account and automatically released by your card issuing bank within 10 days of the transaction date. This ensures that funds are available to cover for any incidentals or additional charges to your room throughout your stay. We conducted research with other hotels in York about their pre-authorisation policy and the majority of hotels in York also ask for a pre-authorisation from guests. I am sorry that this policy has meant that you will not stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Rachael Alderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Located within the city walls it is a short walk to most of the sights. The staff is friendly and efficient. As to the bedroom the pluses were the bed and free Wi-Fi and the minuses were no AC and a sitting chair at the cramped desk rather than a desk chair. I felt like a Lilliputian.

The bathroom was extremely well designed including a spacious shower rather than a tub. It could use a grab bar and a small corner shelf to hold the shampoo bottle while showering.

A small restaurant is located on the ground floor where breakfast is served. As with restaurants around the world, they have too many tables for the space. I stayed for 3 nights and it was closed for the only night I wished to have dinner there. There is also a small bar on the left side of the main counter with two taps and other beers in bottles which you would then enjoy in the lounge.

Room Tip: Try to get one with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel53YorkCentre, Front Office Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Hotel 53. I am pleased to read that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient, each member of our team will be so happy to read your comments! Hotel 53 does not have air conditioning in our bedrooms however we do have an air-conditioned lobby restaurant and bar. We do provide free-standing fans at request. I am sorry that you did not like the chair at the desk in your room, please mention this on your next stay as we can provide you with a chair from our conference room which you may find more suitable.

I am so happy to read that you liked our bathrooms, each bathroom has a walk-in power-shower and free toiletries including shampoo, conditioner, a shower cap, shoe shine and moisturiser. I will put your suggestions regarding grab rail and corner shelf to the management to consider. Our accessible bedrooms do have showers with grab rails on the walls so mention this for your next stay and we can assure that you are allocated one of these rooms.

Thank you once again for your review, we do hope to welcome you back to Hotel 53 in the future.

Kind Regards
Rachael Alderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing