We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, clean, well organised and great breakfast!”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, clean, well organised and great breakfast!”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We booked in to this hotel at the last minute as a stopover. Reception were very helpful on the phone and in person, allocated a parking space for us and made check in a very smooth process.

The room was clean, modern and spacious with a comfy bed. Breakfast was very impressive, great selection and lovely hot full english that was well stocked.

Overall I thought this hotel was much better than others in it's price range - (£79 per night including breakfast and parking) and we would definitely recommend it and stay again when we next go to York.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    684
    346
    135
    72
See reviews for
291
881
51
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I arrived too late (6pm) to get one of the hotel's allocated parking spaces, receptionist seemed a little unhelpful and fairly unknowledgable about York public parking. My bedroom was vey nice, decor and furnishings were stylish. Bathroom was disappointing, no better than a budget hotel, also bathroom could have been cleaner, the shower gel dispenser didn't work for example. Breakfast next morning was excellent and the staff there seemed organised and efiicient, keeping the hot buffet table very well stocked. Because of the very limited parking I'd be unlikely to stay at this hotel again even though I visit York fairly often.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Arriving at the hotel far too early to get into the room the charming receptionist nevertheless booked us in and arranged storage of our luggage. The hotel was clean and modern with comfortable furniture in the reception area. Rooms were medium sized with all necessary amenities. Breakfast was good with all necessary choices but was taken in a rather bland and uninspiring dining room. Staff were helpful and courteous at all times. One aspect which did detract was the small and limited bar area. All in all a perfect base for exploring the city of York but essentially a stop over hotel rather than a stay for a length of time venue. We will certainly use it again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starryeyed_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

stayed at the for two nights,with my 5 month old baby and husband.the hotel staff where helpfull and pleasant enough.the lobby was modern and very nice,but the rooms where a bit tatty and an odd shape.not much room to hang your clothes on,no wardrobes just hooks on the wall.the room was facing the road and was very noisey,was woke by all the deliverys to the hotels.wasn't no better than a premier inn ,but 50 pound a night dearer.there is a premier inn over the road from this hotel by the river,my advice is go there .we will next time.remember just because it costs more ,doesn't meen it's better.anyway we loved york and had an fab time , would go back and go on the ghost walk again .just not to hotel 53.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Great hotel. Free Internet, nobody try to sell you anything.
Maybe the rooms need more ventilation or air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeblung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I'm only giving this hotel a 4 star rating because of the noise. I was impressed with the room and the friendliness of the staff and most certain would go back. But my room was overlooking an alley and was over the restaurant/bar. The noise did stop at a reasonable time but I had had no sleep for 24 hours and was welcoming an early night. So I suppose if I wasn't so tired this wouldnt have bothered me. But there was also excessive noise from the next room which has me questioning the sound proofing of the rooms. However for the cheap rate I got, £60+, the high quality of the room and staff was totally unexpected. Also the location was perfect, walking distance from the main shopping area and the main tourist attractions. Though I would advise a taxi from the train station.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwigirlabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed here for one night at the weekend. A lovely hotel, very clean and modern, good room with comfy double bed and sofa bed for our toddler.

There was a free standing fan in the room when we got there and soon new why ! There was no air conditioning and the room was so hot. The window would only open a certain width so we had the fan on all night and still had an awful sleep. I kept thinking I was going to have a panic attack.

In the morning we had a lovely breakfast and upon checking out said about the heat of the room and it appeared the receptionist must have heard this before.

Our room was on the 5th floor so hopefully wouldn 't be too bad on lower floors. Anyway I might return as the service and room was great but would ask for a lower floor and wouldn't go in summer. It wasn't even a hot summer night so be warned if booking in the height of summer!

Such a shame they skimped on cost when building the hotel and didn't put air con in !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing