We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stop here again!”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 28 September 2009

After having trouble getting a hotel to accept us for a one night stay and all being booked up for the food festival, i called this hotel on the off chance of 2 rooms being avaliable. (which luckily there was) .We were having an evening out in York with some friends to celebrate their wedding anniversary and wanted something a little special and central. This hotel was both. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The beds were big and comfortable and the bathrooms were equiped with everything you need. The breakfast was first class apart from the 'cheap' fresh orange on offer. the only negative was that we had to wait for a while for the bar waiter to see us standing at the bar while he was in the back room, doing god knows what. Anyway the night was great and the hotel was well worth the £140.00 for the evening including breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_edmonds58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2009

Good Points : Great location, 5 minute walk to all the sights. Nice Bathroom, though no bath, just a large shower. Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good, buffet style but always stocked up, hot and fresh.

Bad Points : Quite noisy, room was right next to an air conditioning unit, so the constant drone was quite annoying. Also quite a bit of banging and voices from fellow guests throughout the night. Car parking, was good, but a bit cheeky charging an extra £10 for it. Bed, despite being large, was two singles fastened together, so there was a noticeable 'gap' down the middle, relegating us both to our own side! (also, they were VERY squeaky and noisy wink wink!)

I would stay here again, as the good points, price and location outweigh the few niggles.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swordsj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

The hotel was situated 5 minutes walk into all the attractions & shops, and was very quiet at night and the staff were very professional.Parking available across the road for a single daily fee, cheaper than NCP.Rooms were very well decorated and pleasant, and all you need too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gholf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

we stayed one night, the hotel and room where both styish and clean, altho the reception staff where very rude and un helpful.
the room was nice but the cold tap in the shower did not work and we where kept awake by the hotels air con unit on the roof outside it sounded like there was a lorry with its engine running all night sat outside out door.
a nice stop over hotel might go back if had a diffirent room.we did not have b&b just the room but the menu was over priced with little choice. however there is a nice weatherspoons across the road next to the travel lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

after having had money for the entire stay upfront (a first for me) we checked in. There was no parking, and there were no accessions for my wife being disabled. There was excessive noise from both the windows and from the corridor - we were woken at 3pm by the revellers coming in.
English breakfast was cold, and the muesli looked off. There were no coffee refills.
Upon returning to the room at 3.00pm it was still unmade.
I stay in hotels 70 nights per year, and this is in the bottom 10.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harrythetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We booked in to this hotel at the last minute as a stopover. Reception were very helpful on the phone and in person, allocated a parking space for us and made check in a very smooth process.

The room was clean, modern and spacious with a comfy bed. Breakfast was very impressive, great selection and lovely hot full english that was well stocked.

Overall I thought this hotel was much better than others in it's price range - (£79 per night including breakfast and parking) and we would definitely recommend it and stay again when we next go to York.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I arrived too late (6pm) to get one of the hotel's allocated parking spaces, receptionist seemed a little unhelpful and fairly unknowledgable about York public parking. My bedroom was vey nice, decor and furnishings were stylish. Bathroom was disappointing, no better than a budget hotel, also bathroom could have been cleaner, the shower gel dispenser didn't work for example. Breakfast next morning was excellent and the staff there seemed organised and efiicient, keeping the hot buffet table very well stocked. Because of the very limited parking I'd be unlikely to stay at this hotel again even though I visit York fairly often.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £49 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing