We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really good hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July and were really impressed. The hotel is is in an excellent location close to the centre of York and perfect for exploring the various attractions. It is clean, modern and pretty much exactly as it looks on the website. The rooms are very comfortable, the only slight downside being that there is limited storage. Breakfast was great and overall we felt that the hotel was very good value, even in the middle of the summer holidays.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    670
    342
    135
    72
See reviews for
284
870
51
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

My husband booked this hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary and on the booking he mentioned that we were celebrating it wasn't even acknowledged.

My mother had given us a bottle of champagne to take with us. We rang reception for some ice and some flutes to be told the ice machine is on the 2nd floor and said nothing about the glasses. We waited a while to see if maybe they were going to send any up but no. So what if it's your 1st wedding anniversary was basically the attitude. So we toasted our 1 year in the glasses from the bathroom. Classy!

The room was clean however and the bed was huge (as someone already said, 2 beds together).

The breakfast was ok. Agree with someone else's comment about the orange juice, cheap. The best bit was the sachets of Nutella!

For a city break the hotel is recommendable, but for something special go elsewhere. I wish we had spent the extra for the Hotel du Vin.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hullpixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

After having trouble getting a hotel to accept us for a one night stay and all being booked up for the food festival, i called this hotel on the off chance of 2 rooms being avaliable. (which luckily there was) .We were having an evening out in York with some friends to celebrate their wedding anniversary and wanted something a little special and central. This hotel was both. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The beds were big and comfortable and the bathrooms were equiped with everything you need. The breakfast was first class apart from the 'cheap' fresh orange on offer. the only negative was that we had to wait for a while for the bar waiter to see us standing at the bar while he was in the back room, doing god knows what. Anyway the night was great and the hotel was well worth the £140.00 for the evening including breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_edmonds58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

A last minute booking for after a day out at the races so basically all we were looking for was somehwere to crash out. Pleansantly surprised, super clean room, MASSIVE bed (jack happy to have about 5 feet between us ha ha) and nice decor. The only thing the room could have done with was a bedside tables as those little cubby holes aren't great for your cuppa. Highly recommend breakfast in the morning, super hot buffet all very fresh and tasty. The only thing that could be a pain is the parking. We were lucky and got a space in the designated hotel spots but if these weren't available it would be a bit of a pain. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestwoodMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

Good Points : Great location, 5 minute walk to all the sights. Nice Bathroom, though no bath, just a large shower. Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good, buffet style but always stocked up, hot and fresh.

Bad Points : Quite noisy, room was right next to an air conditioning unit, so the constant drone was quite annoying. Also quite a bit of banging and voices from fellow guests throughout the night. Car parking, was good, but a bit cheeky charging an extra £10 for it. Bed, despite being large, was two singles fastened together, so there was a noticeable 'gap' down the middle, relegating us both to our own side! (also, they were VERY squeaky and noisy wink wink!)

I would stay here again, as the good points, price and location outweigh the few niggles.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swordsj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

The hotel was situated 5 minutes walk into all the attractions & shops, and was very quiet at night and the staff were very professional.Parking available across the road for a single daily fee, cheaper than NCP.Rooms were very well decorated and pleasant, and all you need too.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gholf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

we stayed one night, the hotel and room where both styish and clean, altho the reception staff where very rude and un helpful.
the room was nice but the cold tap in the shower did not work and we where kept awake by the hotels air con unit on the roof outside it sounded like there was a lorry with its engine running all night sat outside out door.
a nice stop over hotel might go back if had a diffirent room.we did not have b&b just the room but the menu was over priced with little choice. however there is a nice weatherspoons across the road next to the travel lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing