We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This is a short review to recommend the York 53 as a great hotel, we spent a night there and it was great. The location is only a short walk from all of yorks attractions and if you arrive early enough there are some parking spaces too. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
The room we had was lovely modern and clean as was the bathroom with it's very large wetroom/shower.
Breakfast was also good and was in the from of a buffet style with a good selection.
All in all a very good experience and for 80pounds I thought it was great value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1975mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    675
    343
    135
    72
See reviews for
287
874
51
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

location was pretty good, bed was extremely comfortable and plush, staff was not very friendly, but not rude or anything.

room is modern and very clean, though quite minimal in decor/furnishing.

it was FREEZING when i stayed and the heater did not heat up the room sufficiently. in fact the maximum setting on the heater is quite low, and it was sandwiched between the wall and the bed. the hot water also was not hot enough for my tastes.

quite overpriced in my opinion. i would expect something a little more luxurious - and with better heating and hot water - at this price point.

but i would probably stay again if i couldn't find a better option. bed was truly great, and location was a convenient walk to the center.

internet worked well though there was a problem accessing Gmail which i think had to do with their specific network settings.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed here for one night. The hotel was clean and modern and the bed was really comfy. The staff were polite and efficient and the breakfast was really nice. The only thing that lets this hotel down was the paper thin walls.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torrie_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed for 1 night this weekend, for my freinds 30th birthday! Room was nice plain and simple with a very very comfortable bed! Nice decor and bathroom etc, but was very expensive for what you get I thought!
Also no room service unless it is between 18.00 and 21.00! so no 24 hour service!!

So all in all expensive for what you get!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allthems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed at this Hotel in August on our Trafalgar Tour. The hotel is new so as expected the room was very clean and the bed VERY comfortable. Facilities are good. The room was stuffy, there is no air-conditioning or fans and if we opened the window we could here pedestrians as if they were in the room with us. This was too noisy for us. It was a cool day so I would hate to be in the room on a warm day, let alone a hot one.
Meals were all good and seemed reasonable value for money, but for us they were part of the tour package. Location was also good as we were just a few minutes walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I have just come back from a few days break in York with my elderley father who lived there as a child. Hotel 53 was chosen as they had a special single person rate. Both rooms were doubles, my fathers was a disabled room and had adjoining door into mine. My room was large double with a sofa bed too. I have never known such large towels in a hotel before and the crisp cotton sheets and duvet cover made it one of the most comfortable hotel stays I have had. Food in the restaurant was a surprise too, well done to the chef and everyone who works in the kitchen. we could fault nothing. A special thank you has to go to the staff in the restaurant, their manners and attentiveness were perfect. Are they chosen because of their manners or have they been trained that way? Thank you for making this trip such a relaxing experience. We will definetly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Clean and modern but the walls are like tissue paper.
I couldn't hear the couple next door because of the TV of the guy on the other side.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WaitForPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Property: Hotel 53
Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing