We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lockdown takeaway!”
Review of Cafe No.8 Bistro

Cafe No.8 Bistro
Ranked #58 of 925 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$14 - US$42
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our small-but-beautiful bistro is found on the busy and lively Gillygate in York. A street full of independent shops and businesses, it leads right into the heart of York through one of its ancient City gates. A traditional and cosy bistro front room that evokes the brasseries of Paris connects to a more spacious and lighter garden room at the rear. This in turn leads to our charming and secluded garden area adjoining the City Walls and basking in the glory of the fabulous York Minster. Whether you come for breakfast, for lunch, or an evening meal, the bistro provides a delightful setting for you to enjoy your meal. Ideal for romantic couples, families or large groups, Café No.8’s bistro offers simple, modern, quality food at excellent value. Make a reservation and see why we consistently appear in ‘top places to eat’ lists both locally and nationally.
Reviewed 20 June 2020

No.8 has always been a favourite local of ours and our go to for any special occasion. We had an excellent meal last year for our anniversary and this year wanted to do the same. So we tried their takeaway offer and it was excellent. My roast monkfish was superbly cooked and my husband loved his lamb. Smoked salmon pate to start was full of flavour and texture and a generous portion. Sides and sauces also excellent. I'm so glad the restaurant is still going strong during these restrictions- I'll be spreading the word. Thank you No.8!

Date of visit: June 2020
3  Thank HollyR1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2020 via mobile

I can't remember when we first went to Café (or Bistro) No 8 but we have been going regularly for many years and never (except during a brief period when caretaker management came in a few years ago) been disappointed. The food and service have always been first rate. Quality produce imaginatively and well cooked and friendly service. Consistently. Chris and Martin have worked their socks off to establish the well deserved reputation of this lovely little place just outside the City walls and we are so appreciative that they have been able to recreate the excellent food on a take away basis (but pre-ordering is essential - check website as this is only at weekends at present). We have just enjoyed a selection of lovely home made breads with excellent salmon pâté followed by a delicious steak and sea bass (separate dishes!) served with summer vegetables. The food was excellent and, with a bit of care in the arrangement on the plate, looked, as well as tasted like top quality restaurant food. We look forward to the day, hopefully soon, when we (and everyone else) can experience your cooking relaxing in the ambience of your lovely restaurant. Best wishes and thank you.

Date of visit: June 2020
2  Thank MerlinwizardYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2020

This lovely Bistro has just provided us with the most excellent takeaway meal during the lockdown. It’s great to see such resourcefulness in the face of these horrible times . We preordered our meal by phone after viewing their website. It was ready to collect on the dot and was perfect. We had a starter of home baked breads, olives Sundried tomatoes and artichokes and mains of lamb rump and roast sea bass with super tasty summer veg Everything was delicious. We passed on the puds due to lockdown weight gain but know from past experience that they are yummy.

Date of visit: June 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KAW998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

Recommended by tower house guest house called in on way to the York minster and was very nice food and friendly staff .

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank ddjm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

The website promoted the range of vegan and vegetarian options but when we got there there was only one vegetarian main course:Curry (with no starter that would complement this). Very disappointing.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank Dinner20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisP7643, Owner at Cafe No.8 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Thanks so much for your review.

We are a small independent bistro serving quality fresh food.

It is not practical for us to have more than a couple of vegetarian options- there just isn’t the demand. I am very sorry you found this disappointing.

If you had raised your concerns at the time of dining, I’m sure we would have been able to offer something different and more to your taste.

Our website does not promote a range of vegetarian or vegan options - I’m not sure where you have seen that information.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe No.8 Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Cafe No.8 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.