We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps getting better”
Review of Cafe No.8 Bistro

Cafe No.8 Bistro
Ranked #52 of 926 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$41
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our small-but-beautiful bistro is found on the busy and lively Gillygate in York. A street full of independent shops and businesses, it leads right into the heart of York through one of its ancient City gates. A traditional and cosy bistro front room that evokes the brasseries of Paris connects to a more spacious and lighter garden room at the rear. This in turn leads to our charming and secluded garden area adjoining the City Walls and basking in the glory of the fabulous York Minster. Whether you come for breakfast, for lunch, or an evening meal, the bistro provides a delightful setting for you to enjoy your meal. Ideal for romantic couples, families or large groups, Café No.8’s bistro offers simple, modern, quality food at excellent value. Make a reservation and see why we consistently appear in ‘top places to eat’ lists both locally and nationally.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came back to visit Cafe No 8 after the third lockdown for a Sunday lunch to celebrate our anniversary. I had an Asian-style tuna starter which was incredible, and the roast was (as always) exceptional. They really value good cookery here, and welcome you warmly every time.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank G2880EIeleanorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The menu here is quite small. My partner was unsure what to order and said nothing really took his fancy.
I ordered the featherblade beef and he ordered the lamb. It’s definitely quality over quantity here with the menu. It was the best lamb we’ve ever tasted. The beef also was lovely. Both served with veggies.
We ordered the banoffee pie and chocolate truffle for dessert and loved them. We were disappointed we hadn’t ordered starters as well.
Would definitely return and highly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Kdradoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Note to Food Lovers: when in York, eat here. This is a tip-top place where the relaxed service and no-frills style bely a seriously high level of cooking. The inspired combinations and balance of flavours were consistently achieved across the board with highlights including the luscious Togarashi tuna starter and the main of slow-cooked featherblade of beef.
Comfort food at its best, and a real feather in York's cap.
Hmmm...how long was the journey from Warrington to York again? We'll be back!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CheshireCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A warm welcome was followed by a fabulous meal. The menu is inventive and varied and the food was refined, nicely presented and wonderfully tasty. Atmosphere is laid back and service attentive without being intrusive. What a fabulous find!
ps, this restaurant is open on Wednesdays, although google tells you it's not.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank fashionagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2021

Just made it back to York in time for our reservation. We wanted a light meal but the menu was just too tempting - such a variety of composition. We had a starter and salad each, followed by dessert and it was all extremely good.
We were made very welcome, the food was served promptly in this small but perfectly formed restaurant.
Highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NickG591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe No.8 Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Cafe No.8 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.