We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Break before Easter Holidays - Bargain!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park View Guest House
Ranked #172 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mini Break before Easter Holidays - Bargain!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stopped here for 1 night for £50 B&B through Laterooms a mini break before the Easter holidays.

Someone phoned us from the guest house the day before to see what time we were arriving (which in my opinion was a nice touch.) and we were also told that we could leave our bags at the guest house until our room was ready at 14.00pm which was great for us as the train got into York station at 11.30am, they also took our bags up to the room for us.

Guest house is about 20 minute walk from the train station and 5-10 minutes from the Minster – ideal location for all the tourist attractions!!

We booked a double room and we were put in room 4 which is a large room at the front of the hotel that did actually have a “Park View” that could fit 7 people quite comfortably. Upon check in we were also given a 20% off voucher for their restaurant called Raj, where we had an evening meal and the best Indian we have both had in a looong time.

Breakfast was between 8-9am and was yummy and everyone was very accommodating and couldn’t do enough for us – fab stay would defiantly recommend and stop here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    41
    32
    10
    21
See reviews for
18
57
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3rd April for two nights , although a bit on small side , it had parking , 5 min walk to York Minster , clean , and good breakfast, will definitely stay again , The people who run the park view were very hospitable and nothing was to much trouble for them

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Booking was easy. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived, they were very hospitable, which really helped as it was my first time staying in hotel without family. The room was a good size and well furnished, but the en-suite was quite small. The breakfast was nice, the dining room was quite small but we didn't mind the other guests were friendly and we all got chatting. It was in a good area, not too far to walk, away from any noise, decent view.
The real perk for us was when we went out for dinner at the family restaurant, again the service and family were great. We're planning to go again.

Room Tip: We had the double en-suite. Good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GJennings93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was traveling with a large group and Park View did a good job with housing us all. The rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was OK, but nothing special. The young man who seemed to be running things seemed a little overwhelmed, and his helper did not seem to speak English. The WiFi did not work at all well and we had to sit in the hallway, or on the stairs to get a signal. The location was OK, on a busy main road that was quite noisy. There were a couple of small grocery shops closely and a very good Laundromat close by that would do a service wash for a couple of pounds extra. It was an easy walk into York - a straight shot. I would say that this location was just over the border of what was an easy distance from town. I did have a problem checking out - their card reader did not work and they demanded cash. As our bill was 700 gbp that was not something that was going to happen. It was eventually accepted that I pay with two personal cheques for half the amount. It felt like I was caught up in some kind of scam. Our departure was held up for almost an hour while this was sorted and as we were on a tight schedule it caused us a great deal of trouble. The manager did not seem to be able to make a decision and had to keep phoning "the boss." What was an OK stay was soured by this experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nice room , very pleasant staff and a good breakfast .

Great price for York will return, decent Indian around the corner with plenty of places to visit in the city. parking available on site added bonus

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TeamJago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

On the plus side, I was e-mailed beforehand, seemed well organised and owner was friendly - and breakfast was fine. On the negative no completentary shampoo or soap (although there was the remains of some soap from previous guest), shower poor , asked to pay up front which seemed odd, rooom not particularly clean (a few stray hairs here and there) and decor frankly depressing. £40 for a single - probably should have been £20 - £25.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheffsnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Burnley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Although good location and welcoming and clean.i stayed 1 night .went to reception and staff took my debit card .Transaction went strangely straight to asking me for my pin number....not showing the charge which thecard machines normally do.then theguy at the reception said that he accidently added £40 cash back on my card....which I didn't request. I asked for the the transaction to be altered to just the price of the overnight stay but he said he couldn't do this and would sort it out day after. ..I didnt even get offered the cash back which I said I would take..morning after....was informed the cash back would be credited to my card 2 working days. ..not acceptable. I demanded the £40 cash back. That I never wanted in the first place. Got this....very dodgy and dont think a genuine mistake....so be careful with the card transactions

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazbah111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Burton Villa Guest House
0.2 mi away
Crossways Guest House
Crossways Guest House
#83 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#76 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#102 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#94 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#68 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Guest House

Property: Park View Guest House
Address: 22 Haxby Road, York YO31 8JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing