We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont even bother” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blackwell Ox Inn - CLOSED

The Blackwell Ox Inn
Cuisines: British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
1 review
“Dont even bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Booked a room for 1 night for me & the wife...glad it was only 1 night.
Was 'greeted' by what looked like the chef who showed us to our tiny,cold double room that stunk of cannabis,im sure theyre growing in the roof space.
We had our meal in the restaurant and I wouldnt expect such poor quality from a supermarket cafe.
We used tesco vouchers to pay for the meal,what a waste of vouchers !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    7
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“KGB deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Brilliant deal,excellent value. Lovely double room,clean. Great hospitality. Food highly recommended. Bus stop right outside to York. Great for couples wanting quiet getaway.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We booked for a family birthday lunch. My 5 year old daughter ordered a ham sandwich. The menu stated ham & pickle. We requested the sandwich be just ham & no pickle. When it arrived unfortunately it contained pickle. We politely pointed this out to the unsmiling waitress who took it back to the kitchen. A "new" one was delivered - the lazy chef had scraped the pickle off the sandwich - the remains still visible!!! The rest of our meal was cold, greasy tasteless etc etc. Don't bother - go to the Rose & Crown in the village - much better.

Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsjenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very disappointing lunch!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We've wanted to eat the Blackwell Ox for ages. A Groupon voucher encouraged us to do so. We booked for lunch on a Wednesday. The lady who greeted us at the bar seemed to have left her smile behind today, so not a good start. I ordered the burger and my husband the chicken with onion tarte and carrot and swede. We asked the lady....who still wasn't smiling....if that would be enough or should he order a side dish. She said the onion tarte was the carbs suggesting nothing else necessary. He decided to have chips as an extra. We had to wait some considerable time for the food as a party of 7 was ahead of us, but the lady did warn us of this. After 50 mins from placing the order my burger arrived and my husbands chips. The lady said his food wouldn't be long, they were waiting for the onion tarte....still no smile....... 8 minutes later his meal arrived......my face was a picture...not much on the plate for £13.95...a chicken breast, 2 halved tiny cherry tomatoes, a small but tasty onion tarte and 2 small spoons of mashed carrot and swede. Good job he'd ordered the chips!!!!! Sadly my burger was so dry I had difficulty swallowing it and the leaves were covered in an oily dressing which had no flavour. I've had far far better elsewhere. My husbands chicken was dry too and was nothing special. All in all, disappointing, not living up to expectations and we won't be back. There is another fabulous eatery in this small village, The Rose and Crown, where we have always been welcomed by lovely staff who happily make small talk, the ambience is wonderful and eclectic and the food is consistently excellent and value for money. The Blackwell Ox could learn a lot from the Rose and Crown.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Good and the Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked a 2 night stay through KGB. Arrived Friday and was shown to room 7 which was looking a little tired. The wall and ceiling paper in one corner was coming away possibly a result of damp. The vinyl floor covering in the ensuite shower room was poorly fitted. The WC cistern didn't fit and was away from the wall with a piece of wood behind it. The extractor fan was full of months of dust. We had barely warm showers Saturday morning and evening. The clean hand towel on Saturday smelt of not being dried fully before being folded. The bed was comfortable for us. We cannot complain about the food, the breakfast was good although the full english did state that it had tomatoes and mushrooms plural but the plate only had single. The smoked haddock and poached egg was tasty. After eating something out during the day on both Friday and Saturday we only had room for hot sandwiches in the evening, these were filling and tasty. Mixed reviews of the staff. The older ones were pleasant and helpful but younger ones although pleasant and helpful they showed inexperience with dealing with clients in the hotel industry, Although to be fair this is typical of the younger generation. Would have been upset if we had paid full price for the stay. Would eat there again but not sure I would stay unless room No7 had a make over. Don't know the state of the other rooms.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blackwell Ox Inn also viewed

 
Sutton on the Forest, York
 
Strensall, York
Long Marston, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing