We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame”
Review of The Sunrise - CLOSED

The Sunrise
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shame”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We used to go to this restaurant often and until the new owner took it over it was for years Northamptons best Chinese restaurant, such a shame, last time there food had changed, tasted as if it had come out of a packet, no more carved vegeatables, just paper flowers, the four of us were very dissapointed as this was a favourite place to eat, anyone know of a really good chinese restaurant in the Northamptonshire area, we would love to know.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank treeson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid no longer the same.”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Sorry to say this but was really disappointed with everything. The food tasted all the same due to the amount of salt in everything. No food was taken off the bill even though I stated how bad it was. I paid 50% and feel this was generous. There was absolutely no atmosphere and the staff were not friendly in the slightest. Needless to say we will not be returning and recommend eating elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank kettering12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to celebrate a special birthday.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Despite not having eaten here before I was recommended it by a couple of friends and after seeing the favourable reviews on here I booked a table for 7 of us. It was a special birthday for my partner so made a few visits to restaurant beforehand to drop off a few party items. I must say the staff could not do enough for me both before and on the evening. Lovely food, good atmosphere and busy which is always a good sign. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaWard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to eat”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We live just north of Northampton and will eat here at least once a month. We are always guaranteed a warm welcome, friendly staff and excellent food. It is undoubtedly the best Chinese restaurant in Northampton. The decor is a little dated but we love the circular sofa seats. They will always try to find you a table. We normally make a spur of the moment decision to visit - and never regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spectacle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“!!!Hope it stays the same”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

We have been going to this restaurant for many years and have always been very happy with the friendly service and the really great food ,we have had many private functions there and have enjoyed every one , so to find that it has been sold filled me with trepidation , but we went back and found that the new owners seem to be keeping it the same ,watch this space!!!

    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trusttaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sunrise also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Kislingbury, Northampton
 
Thornby, Northampton
Moulton, Northampton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing