We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay”
Review of Coach and Horses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coach and Horses
Ranked #4 of 18 Northampton B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“3 night stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It's difficult to know what to add to the good reviews for this lovely old place. I would have to say that if you are looking for bijoux and trendy, then this is not for you. However if you want an old fashioned pub with good food at good prices, warm and attentive service, with friendly locals, then you cannot go wrong. The pretty courtyard garden is spot on for a warm summer's evening and the rooms are not only quiet, but a reasonable size too. Andrea, Les and all the staff work very hard to make sure your stay is as good as possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
25
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Whilst driving south through Northamptonshire we looked for a place to stop for lunch and found the Coach and Horses. Noted "Saxon Church" on the map nearby which was a good sign that it was rural and traditional. We called ahead and obtained a table for 2, excellent telephone manner of the staff set us up for service with a smile which did not disappoint in person.

Being without children for a change we impulsively decided to book into the inn after an excellent roast lunch (we both chose the 2 course Sunday Roast with homemade Yorkshire puddings for £13.95 which included any starter/dessert from their a la carte menu - excellent value). This led to a super indulgent evening with dinner at the same venue ! (The nearly Saxon church dates from the 7th C. AD by the way, and is well worth a visit, a quarter of a mile walk.)

The rooms in a separate dwelling out back are close to the beer garden but surprisingly quiet and tranquil as noted by other travellers. They make for compact lodgings (no king size bed here !) but are nicely furnished with a wall mounted television and tea/coffee making facilities. The very smartly finished bathroom, whilst only having a shower, was spotlessly clean. At £70 for the room including a full English breakfast for 2 we found this overall to be excellent value, and the breakfast did not disappoint: probably among the top 3 I've had in 17 years living in the UK.

Highly attentive and warm service throughout made this a place I look forward to returning to.

Room Tip: They don't have many rooms, so plan your journey and call ahead of time to avoid disappointment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Really really nice food, great service and good prices!

Shame the smell from the men's urinals is the first and last thing you smell when arriving and leaving the place!!

Great location too as Pitsford reservoir is a lovely place to visit!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Star4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I write this review while staying at the pub. Just had a fantasic evening meal, the restaurant was fully booked and had a great atmosphere. The staff Steph, Matt and Amy were both attentive and friendly. We both had the pie which was very tasty and homecooked.
The bedroom is sepearate from the pub being accross the courtyard and is very comforatble and quiet. We look forward to the cooked breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailBB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have just stayed at the Coach and Horses for 3 nights and were made to feel very welcome. the rooms are in a separate building behind the pub so are quiet and we enjoyed good nights sleep. The room was warm and comfortable with a nice clean en-suite. The breakfast was good with the full English setting us up for the day. We ate in the restaurant in the evening for 2 of the evening and enjoyed both the food and atmosphere. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. We will return when next in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Good location and an excellent quality bedroom for the night. Fully equipped and very spacious! Friendly staff, and a perfect cooked breakfast. Next Northampton sailing event, will be coming back!

Recommended to anyone thinking about coming here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Luksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night - the owners and staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The room was lovely and clean, very comfortable and the en-suite was lovely and clean. The food was brilliant in the evening and at breakfast we had a full English breakfast but continental was available if required. We couldn't fault our stay and will be booking again shortly. This is definitely worth it's 4 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
5.6 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.5 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
7.5 mi away
Shepherds Row
Shepherds Row
#1 of 18 in Northampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach and Horses

Property: Coach and Horses
Address: Harborough Road | Brixworth, Northampton NN6 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Hotel Class:4 star — Coach and Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Coach And Horses Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing