We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My wedding 26th july”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westone Manor Hotel
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
NORTHANTS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My wedding 26th july”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I am the bride who got married here on the 26th july and feel i need to write a review. I chose westone manor hotel as was a central location for my wedding. Having read the reviews i knew some rooms wouldnt be upto much however being central my guests did not have to stay. Firstly my wedding was organised by anna at the hotel 11 months in advance she emailed at every opportunity to discuss details about the wedding. Secondly i stayed 2 nights in the bridal suite which by the way was lovely, 4 poster bed,view onto garden. I actually have no complaints about the room.The ceremony room was lovely backing onto the garden.The function room was lovely yes at times it was was hot/cold but mainly because my guests kept asking for the aircon to be turned on and off and imagined they got fed up of this. The bar in the function room was not open and my guests had to use the main bar which was not staffed adequatly for the amount of guests we had. This would be my main gripe! I had some beautiful pictures taken in the hotel. So dont be put off by the reviews particulary the obe that says dont get married here. Im a laid back person who doesnt let things bother them. I would still get married here if i had to do it again, yes there would be a few points i would get sorted.As for the carpark looking like grange hill who cares its a carpark i didnt let the look of the carpark ruin the lovely restaurant/function room/garden.By the way the food for the wedding breakfast and buffet were lovely. Honest review from the bride x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Brothersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    116
    96
    91
    136
See reviews for
89
185
27
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked this hotel for my mum and dad last week. My mum is blind and arrived with her guide dog, was told when checking in that hotel dont accept pets anymore, my mum explained that the guide dog is a working dog and not just a pet and that hotels do have to accept service dogs, the manager said that they will accept her in this case then.

At breakfast my parents were asked to move from the restaurant and eat on their own in the empty bar, very embarrasing to be removed from the restaurant in front of the other guests and also very difficult to eat breakfast from a low level coffee table. By the time the cutlery and their breakfasts had also been moved the breakfast was cold.

Basically, because my mum is blind and had a guide dog she was treated like a second rate guest. Awful service and attitude from the manager.

The hotel was once upon a time a nice coutry house, however terrible renovations and extensions were added on in the 60's and 70's leaving an ugly building to the front. The hotel needs some updating as it is looking very tired and worn.

Would definately avoid in the future.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen_bowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Northants
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Well where do we start!?! Firstly I'd like to point out that SEVERAL wedding party guests were ripped off by the hotel... having booked a while back because of it being a wedding we were attending we were offered discounted rates, however on arrival we were told that our £65 room was now £90 when we complained they reluctantly and unwillingly agreed to honour the price. Well that was a big mistake!! We should have used that money to get a taxi home!!! The place looks like its not been renovated in many years!!! The Room for a family of 4 was a double bed and a single!!! (yes sleeps 3 even though we'd booked for 4!! so our children had to share beds!!! What a joke!!! And the room was so hot it was like a sauna and with two tiny windows in the room there was no way to cool it down so we had the most awful sleep!!!
The look of the place from the car park looks like the school on Grange Hill from 40 years ago and to be honest the only nice view of the place is from the garden area, so remember this if looking for a wedding venue!!! All I can say is RUNDOWN, RIPOFF, RUDE STAFF... and well the bar.... well the wedding party resorted to popping to Tesco down the road to get drinks as the queue at the bar (yes the general bar for all guests as they couldnt be bothered to open the private bar in the actual function room!!!!!!!!) was about 30-40 minutes wait and at £12 for a pint, half pint, and two cokes the prices were equally a ripoff like the rooms!! So PLEASE PLEASE do think twice about booking here, rooms dowdy, and dirty, junk piled up in full view everywhere, rude staff, rip off prices and the place has a feel and look of a hostel!!! There are so many lovely places to get married and to stay in Northamptonshire so please give this place a miss!!!

Room Tip: Just dont stay here!!! Unless you are in the Bridal suite DONT STAY!!! Even then if you are in the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treacletart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We made the 140 mile trip to Northampton yesterday (Saturday 26th July) to celebrate my nephew's graduation. We've stayed at the Westone many times over the past 15 years as it is located two doors down from my sister's house and is a convenient place to stay when she has a house full of guests. The Westone has gone down hill during that time and we only book it for convenience but following our treatment yesterday we will not be returning.
Our party had six rooms booked; five twin/ doubles and one family room. The bookings are always made directly with the Hotel by my sister who had called in on three separate occasions to confirm the details. The family room was booked for me, my husband and our children aged 10, 4 and baby aged 5 weeks but when we arrived we found that the Hotel had given my family room to another party and the only room available was a single. The Duty manager claimed there were no more rooms available in the hotel and that all hotels in Northampton were fully occupied. We stood in reception for over an hour with nowhere to go and pleaded and argued our case but the duty manager was useless and simply said she couldn't help us. We insisted she find us a room and told her to give us a room belonging to somebody that hadn't yet checked in but she refused - she and her colleagues actually had the nerve to check in other guests who had arrived after us whilst we stood there wondering where we we going to sleep - talk about rubbing our noses in it.
We eventually realised they had a double room which was due to be occupied by a single guest and after much persuasion they swapped our single room for the double. Whilst in reception a wedding guest attended and informed the manager that her father had become ill and needed to cancel his room as he was going home - she said he'd been lying on the bed in the room all afternoon but hadn't used it and the duty manager gave the guest a full refund!! We asked for the double room and the manager agreed but said we'd have to pay for it! So they gave our room to somebody else and then expected us to pay an extra £55 because of their mistake. We refused and they refused us the room!! To top the whole experience off - when we returned to our room later that night we found the hotel had given us the room used by the wedding party - the soap was unwrapped and had been used, the bathroom towel had been used and there was an empty sanitary towel wrapper on the bathroom floor!! Disgusting!!
I'd be interested to know how many breaches this hotel has committed by forcing a family of five to share a double room - Health & Safety, Fire Regulations and Hotel Insurance to name just a few. Avoid this place like the plague!!!

Room Tip: Book into a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham Ferrers
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding 26/27 July 2014 ** BEWARE THEY WILL TRY TO RIP YOU OFF ON QUOTED PRICES ** every person who came to the reception they tried to rip of, ensure you get your quote in writing as even booking.com customers were told "we have put prices up, so you £65 room is now £95" the rooms, well holes punched in doors, dirty bathroom and taps, no aircon, wouldn't stay more than a night and that was if we had to. THE MANOR IS NOW PRIVATLY OWNED so no chain to fall back on, the function rooms are either way to hot or too cold, staffing issues with two bars available but only one open, 35 minute wait and small coke, lemonade a cider and fosters £12!! Only half decent thing was the breakfast of which was cereals toast and cooked, certainty wont be back and WOULD NOT RECOMMEND AS A WEDDING VENUE unless they sort things out, we escaped from this hotel by 8.45am to get away, one star is just for the breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Copperpot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

3 days here for business as we haven't been on time for booking a better hotel. Please, avoid this place: old, stinky, really dirty...a one star pension in China is truly better. Believe me...don't come here, with same cost you can have much better and at least clean.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank amaluc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Its a strange one this and a bit sad really. The 4 of us were in two neighbouring twin rooms - one was OK and one wasn't. The hotel was booked on booking.com where it has something like an 8.1 score and shows itself as a grand looking manor house. Now there *is* a manor house, but that's only half the story ...the other half is a grim looking right-angled annexe in the carpark. It's a depressing looking walk down to the annexe entrance if this is where your room is. Its all a bit grubby and tired looking. Our room was OK...a bit old and tired but it was acceptable if you just want a shower and to go to bed. Our friends though found dirty tissues on the window ledge, only one cup on the tea tray and a damp patch on the ceiling. The large patch of scrubland behind the annexe building isnt the greatest view if your room is at the back either and wouldn't take a massive effort to sort out. It's absolutely not worth the £75 per room per night we paid. We didnt have breakfast so cant comment on the food. On a positive note the girl in reception in the morning was really pleasant and polite and the manor itself looked quite nice. It's in a strange location right in the middle of residential housing. I find it sad because with a bit of thought and effort they could get some real improvement and capitalise on that lovely old manor house instead of hiding behind it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
5.3 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#15 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing/A45 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#20 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westone Manor Hotel

Property: Westone Manor Hotel
Address: Firtree Walk | Weston Favell, Northampton NN3 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westone Manor Hotel Northampton was built in 1914 as the home of local shoe manufacturer William Sears and is ideal for the business or leisure traveler, superbly located in peaceful gardens, just 10 minutes from the M1 and only a few moments from the center of Northampton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westone Manor Hotel Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing