We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mediocre Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Marefair Roma - CLOSED

Marefair Roma
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mediocre Italian”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Nothing special, menu is uninspired. Service not especially good. Had deep-fried brie and an overcooked tuna steak. Probably better for whisky than Italian food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    10
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A mistake!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The only criteria for choosing this place was its proximity to the station and there were few places open on a Sunday evening...next time I would search further. I was the sole diner...the waiter wore a sweater! The pasta was bland....no parmesan was offered...when I asked I wished I had not bothered...the amount provided was miniscule. The coffee I would guess was instant.
Then came the bill....with a 10% service charge...in a far from attractive location with not too acceptable food and a waiter who did not care......definitely a mistake

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank borden25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice restaurant, good food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A lovely cosy restaurant with a friendly atmosphere and tasty Italian food at very good prices. Service was quick and courteous. Worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lole330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“lovely place”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We dined here for Sunday lunch last week and had a wonderful experience, food is well cooked and beautifully presented, service was great and the staff so accommodating and friendly. See you soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roda1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Discusting service!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We went as a group of 10 for a friends birthday. We were served by one waiter and since we were the only table, we expected decent service. When ordering drinks, a friend asked for tap water and was told by the waiter they will only give bottled water! Our food was bland and not worth what we paid for. On numerous occasions, a friend had to look for the waiter since he went missing so many times!
After paying the bill, we got up to take a few pictures and were not disruptive in the slightest. However, by 9.30pm the waiter said we had to leave within 5 minutes as they were closing (they close at 11pm!) As soon as we left the waiter practically locked the door in our faces which we found absolutely appalling and were dumbfounded!
The icing on the cake was how the waiter had the cheek to add 10% service charge to our bill, which was laughable but we paid and left without a fuss because the waiter looked unapproachable and edgy so felt it was not worth the effort.
Would never return to this amateur restaurant again, would never recommend an absolutely terrible service!!!

Helpful?
Thank diamondandpearls00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marefair Roma also viewed

Denton, Northampton
Moulton, Northampton
 
Kislingbury, Northampton
Castle Ashby, Northampton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing