We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food (interior needs updating though)”
Review of Felix Yu - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Felix Yu
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You have already listed this restaurant, but you have it down as being in America - it is actually in Northampton in the UK, please amend.
Warnsveld, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food (interior needs updating though)”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Let me start of with the interior: it feels unfinished. Chairs, tables and all that really comfortable. But all the walls look scruffy and this is the only reason that this restaurant is not getting a 5 star rating from me. That put aside: the food is absolutely great! We just got the set menus and the timing, portions and service was impeccable. There was enough of food but not so much that loads got wasted (I hate leaving a restaurant feeling bloated or just having too much). I think we got about 6 or 7 courses and I loved every single one of them.

We paid about £40 each and for that price I want a good atmosphere. A similar restaurant in town center offers equally good food and same sort of atmosphere but better prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Usual standard out standing !”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just had to return to see if food was as good as last time. Surprise it was and better ! A belated birthday treat and could not fault a thing . The squid was to die for , so to was the lemon chicken and tempura beans . Could go on and on . Nice relaxed dining with good service . Thank you . Perfect evening with perfect company what more could you ask for !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toottoot-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype.....less than average”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Two friends and I meet regularly for a catch-up over dinner and having read the reviews (obviously written by Felix himself) decided to give this restaurant a try.

This restaurant is so average. The decor is average, the service is average and the menu is average.

Although being the first in the restaurant and ordering fairly promptly, we weren't served our starters until after several other tables including a table of around 12-14 people. Two of our four starters came out so we sat waiting, as polite people do, for the others. We called over a waitress who told us nonchalantly that the others would be a minute or two. A third dish came out and at this point we decided to start eating. We finished these dishes so asked why we still hadn't had our 4th dish, crispy chilli beef. We were told this dish took a long time to prepare. I answered that then surely it should have been made first so it could out with the rest of our dishes. We waited a further few minutes before it finally arrived - a bland bowl of slivers of beef that were neither crispy or spicy with chilli. Definitely NOT worth the wait. From ordering we had waited over an hour and 15 minutes for our 4 starters.

I asked if our 3 mains would come out together? I was told not, that they would come out when they were ready as they were all cooked from fresh. I replied that most restaurants cooked from fresh but managed to bring each persons meal out at the same time. We tried to explain that we would like to eat together but apparently this was not how the restaurant worked.

Our mains came out a good 15 minutes later and did come out together, a point eagerly made by our waitress.

The food itself is nice and there were a few gorgeous gems within the dishes we ordered such as the Wasabi King Prawns and Rendang Lamb Shank.

On the website there are wonderful pictures of artistically presented Chinese food. This is not what you are served. The image of the restaurant and the chef portrayed on the website is totally disjointed from the reality.

My finally pique was the bill which had 2 simple lines - food and bar. There is no opportunity to check that we are paying for what we actually had!

There are much better Chinese restaurants in Northampton. We certainly won't be returning here.

Helpful?
4 Thank Nightboat2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Came here at the start of April after reading all the good reviews very disappointed the food wasn't great we ordered 2 fried rice at around £3.80 each for it to come In a bowl with not enough rice for a single portion to share, the cutlery was dirty but they did apologise and replace straight away all in all I will not be going here again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Muzler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, slow and fractured service”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Saturday night with family. Good food but v pricey for overall level of service. Would only return at a quiet time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Felix Yu also viewed

Kislingbury, Northampton
Moulton, Northampton
 
Thornby, Northampton
Denton, Northampton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing