We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rugby, beer & fantastic atmosphere!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wig and Pen

The Wig and Pen
Ranked #119 of 517 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: US$3 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A traditional pub steeped in history that offers a unique food and dining experience in the heart of a bustling town centre. With 13 rotating guest ales and ciders, 100 plus whisky's and rare spirits, bottled global beers, draught lagers & Belgian beers we have something different to appeal to your palate. Our chefs produce regularly changing menus tailored to showcase the finest seasonal produce. All our recipes are produced on site using ingredients sourced from numerous local suppliers. As a proud supporter of the Northampton Saints we regularly show all Rugby games throughout the season on our many screens. The Wig and Pen is also proud to offer a diverse range of live music every week of the year. CAMRA (campaign for real ale) accredited & we were voted Northamptonshire's pub of the season by CAMRA for Spring 2012 because of our excellent selection of quality local and national real ales.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rugby, beer & fantastic atmosphere!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This bar is one of the gems of Northampton!! If you like real ale, you'll love this place. If you like good food, you wont be disappointed.
Bar is set in the town centre & has a number of flat screens to enjoy live sport, the reason for our visit, even one outside. To be able to watch the Lions, victorious in Australia, whilst sitting outside on one of the hottest days of the year so far amongst like minded people, made for such an amazing atmosphere.
Don't let the screens put you off, the food is tremendous, and would recommend a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GMarkC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    67
    26
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I have been eating at the wig and for some time. The food has always been of the highest quality and the menu has changed but always delivers excellent tasting food. If you have not been to this pub before it is highly recommended. I would recommend the mussels if you like seafood and the venison burger if you like a decent burger. The steak is always a good choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSAK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Been to Northampton on business for over 1 year and tried everywhere but this is the best kept secret - Andy was the perfect host to a perfect evening with friends - great food; service and chilled atmosphere! Love it here

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, General Manager at The Wig and Pen, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
I think your secret might be getting out lol look forward to seeing you soon Andy says Hi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the man is a genius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

it was only by chance that we visited the Wig and Pen today but oh what a treat, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is superb, check it out for yourself see photo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chick-o-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“chaotic and wrong order”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I know the pub was busy after the rugby, and I know I should have complained at the time but the staff were all busy dealing with a rogue gazebo in the courtyard.
Our vegetarian platter, large sharing for two, arrived after 30 minutes and was far smaller than the platter for one. Terrible value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, General Manager at The Wig and Pen, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hi Tony

Yes we all agree it was a busy a lunchtime with the Rugby and yes the strong winds did try and blow away the gazebos but that a side we do staff ourselves accordingly for busy days so no excuse on our apart. I must apologise for your poor experience after such a great review we had from you back in January, clearly that day we did get it wrong if you do decide to please give us another go then ask for me or Anya our manageress and we can go someway in showing you clearly your last visit was not that of a true Wig and Pen experience,. Kind Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wig and Pen also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Wig and Pen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing