We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”
Review of Hilton Northampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Northampton
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

my partner and i planned a 2 night stay in this hotel. on arrival we were upgraded to a suite. we enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra night. The room was fantastic, good fitness facilitys, pool and jacuzzi. The staff definitly made the stay as good as it was. They were so frendly and accommodating.

One problem would be the price of food and drinks.

All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us.We very much appreciate all our guests feedback so that we can view the hotel from a guests prospective.

We were extremely pleased to read all your positive comments of the hotel especially of our staff and were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience of our Livingwell Health Club.

Once again thank you for your feedback and hope we can welcome you back to enjoy another Hilton break.

KInd Regards,
Jacky Jowers
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    423
    255
    125
    69
See reviews for
387
270
45
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I chose this hotel as it is close to the M1 motorway and having stayed here a number of times feel it is good value for money.

During my recent stays I have experienced the full gambit of rooms and was quite surprised at the different standards from older rooms to newly refurbished rooms.

On this visit the rooms I had called to allocate several days before were unavailable on arrival so I was unhappy immediately ! However the young lady at reception (Kim) was so helpful she found an alternate solution which although was not perfect, it was a solution.

Room Issues:

Room 1 (disabled room)
Heated Towel rail fell off the wall.
Damp patch against one wall left a musky smell right next to the bed making it difficult for my father to sleep.
Heating in room did not work.
Telephone quality was so low you had to shout to be heard

Room 2
No major issues

Room 3
Telephone quality was so low you had to shout to be heard
No grab rail in bathroom
Housekeeping continually knocked on my door before 9am

Overall issues
Parking was unavailable on one night because there was an event so had to park on the road outside.
Language barrier with housekeeping and wait staff.
Loud and noisy drunk people walking the corridors in the early hours.
Breakfast was varied but some things were overcooked and dry.
Restaurant staff were not well trained and appalling customer service.
No wifi throughout hotel only in lobby areas. Not good for tablet users.

Overall positives
Reception staff and duty managers were responsive to issues and attempted to resolve them and comped breakfast for my entire group.
Room Service and housekeeping staff although they spoke very little English were also helpful and responsive for the most part.
The bathrooms are a good size with powerful showers and good size bath. Toiletries provided were of an excellent quality and were restocked daily.
Tea and coffee making facilities were good and replenished daily
Pool area and staff were great.
Public areas are beautiful with plenty of places to sit outside or inside.

All in all I love this hotel, I would stay there again but would specifically ask for one of the newer rooms.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in this hotel are of a high standard some are a little dated just call ahead and as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We opted to stay here for the weekend as we were visiting woburn safari park, however it was a choice between this and the Marriott and i wish we had gone with the other. It was a little too far from the park and there was nothing around. We were booked on a dinner bed and breakfast rate the breakfast was slandered the dinner rather poor children choice limited! Heated pool rather cold. Wasn't the best Hilton we have visited!

Room Tip: attempt to get a superior room as this wasn't even the best so would hate to see the stander-ed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AANYAA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is architectuarly a standard ex Stakis hilton,almost identical to Newport Maidstone and all the others,so I new what to expect.The room was clean and fresh,maintenance was up to date as was the same with the public areas.
The staff were excellent,and this is what makes a hotel stand out amongst its rivals.The restaurent was busy,and the food good.There were plenty of servers on duty,and an efficient manager making sure peoples needs were taken care of without the long wait sometimes found in busy restaurents.
The Livingwell was clean well run,and all in working order.The pool was nice with the standard facilities,and the gym was busy with enough staff to cope.
This is not the Waldorf Astoria,or a 5* hotel,but it is a good example of what it claims to be,a solid well run middle England Hilton which keeps up with maintenance and renovation of rooms and public areas.For the money I think it represents good value.I enjoyed my stay,and will be returning in 3 weeks.

Room Tip: E-mail management,or call
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapidex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate all our guests feedback so that we can view the hotel from a guest prospective.
We were extremely pleased to read all of your positive comments of the hotel and have passed them on to all Departments concerned and look forward to welcoming you back in three weeks time.

Kind Regards,
Jacky Jowers
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

As a Hilton HHonors member I'm used to Hilton hotels being of good quality and Hilton Northampton is no exception. Our king bed room was spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean. Some items of furniture did show some slight signs of wear but then that is to be expected and these were certainly nothing to spoil our stay. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom again was clean, roomy and efficiently laid out. Check in and check out were both handled with a minimum of fuss and our stay was nothing less that excellent.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so some travellers may need assistance in getting their baggage to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate all our guests feedback so that we can view the hotel from a guest prospective.
We were extremely pleased to read all of your positive comments of the hotel and have taken on board your comments regarding the elevator.
I hope we can welcome you back again to the Hilton Northampton in the future and would be happy to offer the request of a ground floor room to assist you with baggage to your room.

Kind Regards,
Jacky Jowers
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stay here once or twice a year on business. The hotel is clean and large. It is functional rather than special. The rooms are big and clean. Had room service, food was edible and still hot when it arrived. Bar area and restaurant area are average. The restaurant didn't seem overly attentive or interested in our group of 15 or so - I think we interupted their plans for a quiet evening. Located well just off the M1 motorway. Will be staying again but can't get enthusiastic about this Hilton, unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorbius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your stay with us. We very much appreciate all our guests feedback as this enables us to view the hotel from a guests prospective and address any issues. We do not wish for any of our guests to leave disappointed with the hotel and hope on your next visit you have a more memorable stay with us and find our facilities and team improved.
Once again my sincere apologies and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jacky Jowers
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

stayed hear for 2 nights. the hotel its self would of got 4 stars from me but the staff let it down!
room and public area's are all very nice and typical Hilton. restaurant staff were very friendly but reception and bar staff were useless! we were left waiting 15minuites at bar for a drink with no staff attendance! reception didnt want to help and aren't very friendly!
this hotel could be great if management took control!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kev1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your stay with us in March. We very much appreciate all our guests feedback as this enables us to view the hotel from a guests prospective and address any issues. We were pleased to read you were happy with your room and hotel in general, however please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment with some members of our team. Can I assure you this is not our normal standard of service and have already addressed issues with the team concerned.
Once again my sincere apologies and hope you are able to enjoy another Hilton break in the future.

Kind Regards
Jacky Jowers
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
496 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#19 of 29 in Northampton
401 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#12 of 29 in Northampton
520 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#16 of 29 in Northampton
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Northampton

Property: Hilton Northampton
Address: 100 Watering Lane, Northampton NN4 0XW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#9 Family Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Northampton 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Northampton hotel adjacent to Junction 15 of the M1 Motorway and only 20 minutes from Silverstone Formula 1 racing circuit. Enjoy the convenient location just ten minutes’ drive from Northampton town center and 20 minutes from Milton Keynes. Billing Aquadrome is 15 minutes’ drive away and London Luton Airport (LTN) is 40 minutes away. Keep fit in the fully equipped Livingwell Health Club or swim laps of the 18-meter indoor pool - the largest pool in Northamptonshire. Dine on international cuisine at the Hilton Northampton hotel's Seasons Restaurant. Relax with a pre-dinner drink in the Court Bar overlooking the central courtyard area and savor a morning coffee in Caffè Cino. All Hilton Northampton hotel accommodations have high-speed internet access. The hotel has 13 meeting rooms for 10-300, a business center and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Northampton Hotel Northampton
Hilton International Northampton
Northampton Hilton International
Hilton Northampton Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing