We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I am bound to agree with previous reviewers; the Langham is certainly excellent value for money. Although suggesting that it is one of the best in the UK is pushing it a bit. It is situated on a main road with parking to the rear of the hotel. The entrance to the car park is somewhat obscure. Turn left immediately before the pedestrian controlled lights. The approach to the car park is not good. Very large potholes, filled with rain water during our stay, it is a shared approach with the Best Western Hotel next door.
Our room was in the two storey extension at the back of the hotel. Neither the room or the bathroom is large. The shower in our room could do with upgrading and the extractor fan didn't work. However, everything was very clean, if looking a little dated. Curiously the mattress appeared to have a thick plastic cover over it, felt a bit odd. As other reviewers have noted biscuits and chocolates are provided. WiFi is free and works well. All credit to the Langham for this, would that the major chains had a similar policy.
Breakfasts are very good and very large. Service is swift.
The town centre is 20 mins away (on foot). There is a bus stop a few steps up the road, buses run from here right into the bus station in 10mins or less.
Good pub type food may be had at the Barrett Snooker club ( turn right out of the hotel) a few minutes walk away. Don't be put off by the "Snooker" aspect. The food is reasonably priced (two mains for the price of one) .
The Langham is conveniently situated for the town centre, good value and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike056_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    177
    53
    35
    64
See reviews for
88
141
76
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mainz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was in Northampton for 2 day and stayed in the Langham Place and I must stay that my selection was the best one. This hotel has by far been the best ones I have stayed so far in the UK, because of its excellent value for money. But, more importantly is the help and support provided by the staff that made my stay very comfortable.
I was greeted very warmly and given a nice tour of the hotel, so as to get acquainted myself with all the facilities and where to find what. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. They include tea/coffee making facilities, LCD TV & cookies for the small hunger in between. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was kept very clean.
The highlight of the stay was the free breakfast which is included in the room price. One has a good choice of breakfast, served hot and with a smile from the staff. The entire staff at the hotel was very helpful and this made my stay very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone who intends to stay in Northampton. It's not located very far from the Northampton Train station and is within 10 minutes walking distance.
If I do visit Northampton in the future, then I know where I would be staying.
Thanks to the entire staff of the Langham Hotel for making my trip a very successful one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Rooms, staff and breakfasts simply EXCELLENT. Stayed 6 nights. Room was quiet, spacious, bright and spotlessly clean. New toiletries, fresh and fluffy white towels daily. In room tea, coffee, biscuits and chocolates were always welcome after a long day traveling. Simply cannot say enough about the two brothers and their mother who own and staff the hotel. Each was courteous, helpful, accommodating, personable and always smiling. We felt like we were staying with old friends. Mama (the cook) frequently came to the eating area to ask if food was okay and if we needed anything extra. Unbelievable delicious full breakfast included in the fare. Juice, coffee, tea, milk, bacon, sausages, eggs as you wished, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms and toast together with a broad variety of cereals made up the menu. Needed to use restraint not to overeat. Again, the dining area was spotless with double white tablecloths. Guests are never hurried but as soon as one leaves the table is cleaned and reset within minutes. A short stop at the small but comfortable bar in the afternoon or evening allowed us to meet and chat with locals. What an enjoyable experience. Finally, talk about value. WOW!!! Normally have to pay double or triple the price for this kind of accommodation and outstanding service.

Room Tip: We were on ground floor across from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binder40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel253
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 2 years ago, and stayed there last weekend as my friend and I were heading to a Rugby game.
We arrived around 10pm and were the last guests to arrive for the evening. We were welcomed warmly by the owner and one of her sons.
There was a Ladies Rugby Team at the hotel as well, and (having taken part in many tours!) was a little anxious at the potential noise! However, neither my friend or I noticed any noise whatsoever.
We both slept well. Although there are plastic sheets on the beds which rustle a lot.
We timed breakfast very well as we were nearly finished when the breakfast room was suddenly innundated. The breakfast itself was wonderful, a selection of cereals followed by a plentiful cooked breakfast and tea or coffee galore.
To top it all, when we asked if we might leave our car for the whole day, until at least 2030 after the game, the hosts went out of their way to assist us. The car park isn't very ig and I am sure if they were busier it might have been a bit more of an issue, but I am sure they would be just as helpful in that case.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Clean, friendly & amazing value for money. Awesome breakfast and really lovely staff

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Langham Hotel Northamton and it was a great experience.
This small 25 room hotel is run by the delightful Mary and her two sons,Michael and Robert.
The rooms are well equiped with flat screen TVs,hair dryers,tea & coffee making facilities and an abundance of biscuits.Bathroomsare stocked with even toiletries.
The rooms are extremely clean and have efficient central heating.
All these services are supplied at an unbelievably reasonable price.
There is a comprehensive menu for the 'served' breakfast and guests are attended to with a friendly smile by Mary and her family.
I will certainly return to this superb hotel and I can assure you that you will receive a warm welcome if you choose to stay there.
David K.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Nice family driven hotel in ok wlaking distance to town centre. Stayed for 5 nights in relation to a conference. It's a old building but well maintained. OK bed. Medium sized room. Good size of bath room with nize sized shower. Missed hooks and shelves at the bath room - was none! Smal refridge at room. Lovely breakfast from 6:30.
WiFi had strong signal BUT the speed was very up and down! Had speed at day so low as 0.25/0.25 and sometimes at late night up to 7/0.4... :-(
Hotel has no night shift at Reception so you has to arrive before at least 22 pm to get your keys...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaPanternno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#19 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.4 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Hotel

Property: The Langham Hotel
Address: Barrack Road 4-5 Langham Place, Northampton NN2 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
#3 Business Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Langham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is family run and has been established for over 35 years. We can cater for all needs, and there is a secure car park on site. There is also an extensive range of beers, wines and spirits available in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Hotel Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing