We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grossly overpriced, very average”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grossly overpriced, very average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Let me first say that we booked this hotel for just one night thankfully via Booking.com. The cost for the night's stay was £160. We thought we had booked into a significantly superior hotel and the previously reliable Booking.com has been found woefully wanting in the pricing of this establishment.
The hotel is situated in a less than salubrious area of Northampton. The approach to the car park at the rear of the hotel is via a pot hole ridden dirt track. Our approach was directly after a rainstorm so potholes were now large pools of water. The car park holds approximately 16-20 cars and is 'stacked' - that is to say when full, cars are bumper to bumper and movement out under these conditions can only be achieved by the last two cars on. Presumably for the price charged some expert car park attendant is on hand to skilfully manouevre your car out - in the end it wasn't necessary.
Upon checking in we were shown are room. A small double on the top floor. Warning here for people unsteady on their legs - ascending to upper levels is via a 'spiral' style narrow staircase - we counted 36 to our room.
Our anticipated 'significantly superior' room was a total disappointment. Clean, small and very average. In fact the size of the room compared to a typical Travelodge, Premier, Ibis etc. made it below average. The en suite facilities were 'tatty'. Serious refurbishment definitely required. Anger was beginning to set in now,
Breakfast was the highlight of our stay here. Substantial to say the least, you certainly won't leave hungry if you can polish off their 'full English' which is served to you freshly cooked. This is along with cereals (a selection at your table), a huge pot of tea and a similar sized pot of milk.
There is no restaurant available for an evening meal. A bar is available for a drink in the evening.
Their normal tariff range for this type of room is £45 - 60, making the £160 paid (in advance via credit card via Booking.com) an absolute disgrace. When presented with the receipt on checking out we passed on our feelings politely to the management. The response from management was silence and a firm stare at the floor.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone even for half the price we paid.

Room Tip: Beware the spiral style staircase to the upper levels - they are narrow and require care when asce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingshotte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Whilst taking onboard some of the comments from the guests who were unfortunate to book the British Grand Prix Weekend at Silverstone 6,7,July and did not attend this particular event,

The tariff of £160, was set for this weekend since August 2011 and also advertised .It also does not represent the true tariff of every day room rate.

We also understand that their is always room for improvement,and at the same time The Langham Hotel gives good value for money accommodation as reviewed via Tripadvisor Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    177
    53
    35
    64
See reviews for
88
141
76
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful......our room was clean and comfortable and there was the advantage of secure parking.......breakfast was very good,plenty to chose from, and tasty.
We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel looking onto the parkland known as The Racecourse away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have been using the Langham Hotel as my base in Northampton for the last 4 months. I stay from Monday to Friday.
I have always found Mary, Michael and Robert to be very warm, friendly, and knowledgeable about the local area.
The car park is secure and if you find the gate shut upon arrival you just need to telephone the hotel and a member of staff will come and open the gate immediately - there isno need to walk around the front as a previous reviewer has stated.
I have stayed in many different rooms and they are all comfortable and equiped to a similar standard. There is plenty of room for your luggage and belongings, they all have ensuite facilities and wifi. They also have a fridge where you can store food and drink which is handy as the hotel does not offer evening meals. They do though allow takeaways to be brought in (which can be eaten in the bar) and will offer cutlery/crockery etc. Alternatively, the centre of Northampton with its many bars/restaurants etc is less that 15 minutes walk away.
As many reviewers have found, the breakfasts are on the large size and very tasty - although the option of beans, scrambled egg etc on toast usually fills me. The service is quick and they will even make you a breakfast sandwich if you are running late.
The bar is a nice area to have a drink in the evenings. It is well stocked, decently priced and has satelite tv.
All in all the Langham offers fantastic value for money when you consider it is similarly priced to your bulk standard Travelodge etc.
Peter, Somerset

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We chose to stay in this hotel ahead of a 'rack em and stack em' place with no soul.
We were not dissapointed The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and Robert and Michael are very friendly. Also very close to the town centre.
We'll be back on our next visit to Northampton.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zofia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Never have I received a warmer nor more charming welcome from Mary, the proprietor - she made us very welcome, took us to our room and explained clearly about parking, facilities and our coming and goings. The simple room was fully furnished, good reading lamps, and a nicely equipped bathroom, with the thoughtful addition of bath mats laid on the tiles to keep the feet warm for night visits. A very generous breakfast is provided and Mary cooks the full breakfast herself. My husband and I found it excellent value and will visit again when we come to Northampton. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and therefore quiet during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We've stayed at the Langham on several occasions whiles attending seminars in the city.

Staff are welcoming, chatty and knowledgable about surrounding areas, rooms are a good size and the car park although small us secure.

Breakfast is a good size and cooked to order, need a veggie alternative (they do offer a veggie breakfast that is the same minus the meat) a veggie sausage option would be very welcome.

Some rooms are a "little" dated but always clean, I don't suppose they have the budget of hotel chains to redecorate every couple of years..

Good experience

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telfordthaiboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rushden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed in the Langham for near on three months during the week and used it as a base to get to work as I did not live in the area, you will find a lot of information from other guests which give you an idea of what to expect. I am able to add that my experience with Mary, Michael and Robert was very pleasant and they were always more than happy to offer assistance if needed. The rooms are of a decent size and mostly double beds, there is a decent size tv and wi-fi internet, you also get a fridge which is useful if you don't want to have a takeaway every night(not many hotels actually offer a fridge), its also good for beer! There is also a lovely little bar with satellite tv and cheap drinks. I'm not really a breakfast person but when I did have breakfast it was very good, the coffee was nice too and a good start to the day. When you add all this together it's actually fantastic value when compared to other hotels in the area that charge for every extra, this made it easy to decide that it was the best place for me to stay for such a long time, and my girlfriend and I have stopped using the Langham as a base and have made a permanent move to Northamptonshire. Thank you all!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#20 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.4 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Hotel

Property: The Langham Hotel
Address: Barrack Road 4-5 Langham Place, Northampton NN2 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Northampton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Langham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is family run and has been established for over 35 years. We can cater for all needs, and there is a secure car park on site. There is also an extensive range of beers, wines and spirits available in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Hotel Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing