We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Langham Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Staff very helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. Free wifi in our room which was a great help. A large flat screen freeview tv. Bedroom and bathroom very clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We had patio doors so excellent for unpacking the car which was just outside in a very large carpark. Plenty of tea and coffeewas supplied in the room. The full English Breakfast was enormous and certainly set you up for the day. A short walk got you into the city centre. In all we had a fabulous time.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for a groundfloor if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    174
    52
    35
    64
See reviews for
87
139
76
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the Langham hotel for our annual trip to the F1 weekend at Silverstone. The staff are very friendly and did all they could to make our weekend enjoyable. The poor weather was causing problems for all race-goers, we decided to head for the race track at 2.00am and the hotel gave us cereal, milk, bowl, etc. etc, so we could have breakfast in our room before we left, they also made a huge pack of sandwiches for us to take to the track as we had 3 hours to sit in the traffic.

The room are comfortable and clean, the cooked breakfast on the day we left was excellent. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The cooked breakfast was excellent, but there is no evening dinner service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

room with a view, looking onto city park/green space.
Good value, customer service, lovely breakfast and fast service, 10 mins walk into centre.
clean rooms, I did notice especially immaculate carpets, no dinner but can have take-out brought to your room. Plenty of menus in reception.
I recommend neer by Lazeez indian food.
It's a shame some other guests have no concern for others late at night, asked people in next door room to turn volume down at about midnight, they continued to make loud noice.
Cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the back upstairs have view of green space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for juust 1 night. Although it's nothing special, the rooms are clean and well equipped with teat, coffee, biscuits, towels and toiletries. The staff are friendly and very helpful. There was no wifi available in the bedroom, but I was able to access the Internet and my emails using the free internet in the lounge area. I chose not to have just an orange juice for breakfast and was offered a sandwich to take away with me. I declined but think that this was a very generous gesture. Previous reviewers have commented on the expense; I booked at a very good price a couple of days before and found it exceptional value for money. I would expect more for a higher rate. I'd definitely stay there again for £40 or less. The car park is very handy if you're not going out in the evening. If you are, several other cars might have to be moved to let you out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mari-vegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Let me first say that we booked this hotel for just one night thankfully via Booking.com. The cost for the night's stay was £160. We thought we had booked into a significantly superior hotel and the previously reliable Booking.com has been found woefully wanting in the pricing of this establishment.
The hotel is situated in a less than salubrious area of Northampton. The approach to the car park at the rear of the hotel is via a pot hole ridden dirt track. Our approach was directly after a rainstorm so potholes were now large pools of water. The car park holds approximately 16-20 cars and is 'stacked' - that is to say when full, cars are bumper to bumper and movement out under these conditions can only be achieved by the last two cars on. Presumably for the price charged some expert car park attendant is on hand to skilfully manouevre your car out - in the end it wasn't necessary.
Upon checking in we were shown are room. A small double on the top floor. Warning here for people unsteady on their legs - ascending to upper levels is via a 'spiral' style narrow staircase - we counted 36 to our room.
Our anticipated 'significantly superior' room was a total disappointment. Clean, small and very average. In fact the size of the room compared to a typical Travelodge, Premier, Ibis etc. made it below average. The en suite facilities were 'tatty'. Serious refurbishment definitely required. Anger was beginning to set in now,
Breakfast was the highlight of our stay here. Substantial to say the least, you certainly won't leave hungry if you can polish off their 'full English' which is served to you freshly cooked. This is along with cereals (a selection at your table), a huge pot of tea and a similar sized pot of milk.
There is no restaurant available for an evening meal. A bar is available for a drink in the evening.
Their normal tariff range for this type of room is £45 - 60, making the £160 paid (in advance via credit card via Booking.com) an absolute disgrace. When presented with the receipt on checking out we passed on our feelings politely to the management. The response from management was silence and a firm stare at the floor.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone even for half the price we paid.

Room Tip: Beware the spiral style staircase to the upper levels - they are narrow and require care when asce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingshotte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Whilst taking onboard some of the comments from the guests who were unfortunate to book the British Grand Prix Weekend at Silverstone 6,7,July and did not attend this particular event,

The tariff of £160, was set for this weekend since August 2011 and also advertised .It also does not represent the true tariff of every day room rate.

We also understand that their is always room for improvement,and at the same time The Langham Hotel gives good value for money accommodation as reviewed via Tripadvisor Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful......our room was clean and comfortable and there was the advantage of secure parking.......breakfast was very good,plenty to chose from, and tasty.
We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel looking onto the parkland known as The Racecourse away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have been using the Langham Hotel as my base in Northampton for the last 4 months. I stay from Monday to Friday.
I have always found Mary, Michael and Robert to be very warm, friendly, and knowledgeable about the local area.
The car park is secure and if you find the gate shut upon arrival you just need to telephone the hotel and a member of staff will come and open the gate immediately - there isno need to walk around the front as a previous reviewer has stated.
I have stayed in many different rooms and they are all comfortable and equiped to a similar standard. There is plenty of room for your luggage and belongings, they all have ensuite facilities and wifi. They also have a fridge where you can store food and drink which is handy as the hotel does not offer evening meals. They do though allow takeaways to be brought in (which can be eaten in the bar) and will offer cutlery/crockery etc. Alternatively, the centre of Northampton with its many bars/restaurants etc is less that 15 minutes walk away.
As many reviewers have found, the breakfasts are on the large size and very tasty - although the option of beans, scrambled egg etc on toast usually fills me. The service is quick and they will even make you a breakfast sandwich if you are running late.
The bar is a nice area to have a drink in the evenings. It is well stocked, decently priced and has satelite tv.
All in all the Langham offers fantastic value for money when you consider it is similarly priced to your bulk standard Travelodge etc.
Peter, Somerset

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#19 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.4 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Northampton Bedford Rd/A428 Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Hotel

Property: The Langham Hotel
Address: Barrack Road 4-5 Langham Place, Northampton NN2 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
#3 Business Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Langham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is family run and has been established for over 35 years. We can cater for all needs, and there is a secure car park on site. There is also an extensive range of beers, wines and spirits available in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Hotel Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing