We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't suggest you stop here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Wimbledon, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I don't suggest you stop here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have just got back from an overnight stop at this hotel. I wanted to stay at an independent hotel rather than a chain to try and support small businesses in the area. The website says its "minutes from the railway station" - that's in a taxi it takes 25-30 minutes to walk. My room was dirty thick dust everywhere, there were stains on the pillow case, sheets and towels. I found corn flakes on the room floor so clearly it had not been hoovered. They don't have any herbal teas in the rooms or at breakfast and anyone wanting a healthy breakfast such as fresh fruit forget it. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    177
    53
    35
    64
See reviews for
88
141
76
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The room was horrible and dirty. I was woke up at 3 am by a fight outside. I slept with a pullover on as the room was freezing cold and the bed was dirty. I couldn't get comfortable on the bed and it kept on moving. Ive come home and found insect bites on my ankles. Car parking was bizarre and if you have a low car be careful of the pot holes on the way in. The breakfast was average.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Optimusbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

My daughter was due to stay at this hotel as she had a university interview the following day. On the morning of travel to Northampton she received an email to say the room had been damaged the previous weekend (the email arrived on Tuesday morning perhaps they could have advised earlier) and the room therefore had been cancelled. The email said to contact the manager to arrange a refund.
So she did but was told to ring back and speak to the manager 'Michael' which she did later in the evening. He told her a chq had been issued so we thought that was satisfactory even though very annoyed at having the room cancelled and unable to find alternative accommodation.
HOWEVER the cheque never arrived so my daughter rang 'Michael' and he couldn't advise if he had refunded her and basically told her he was 'too busy' to find out and to ring back 3 days later. Then he hung up. So I rang back the following day and he said he was too busy and had people waiting in reception he did not want to talk to me - he was extremely rude and hung up on me - I had him on loudspeaker and family members who were in the room were shocked at his attitude - I have never witnessed such rudeness so I rang him straight back and asked him why he hung up he said he 'dropped the phone' ....really - had he done this every time this had happened to us? Eventually through numerous phone calls and severe rudeness by 'Michael' the refund was paid.

I cannot comment on the hotel itself as room was not available. But I would avoid booking at this hotel if you don't want to have to find alternative accommodation.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CMNO1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have stayed here for a week, its very tidy, my room was spacious and warm.
The breakfast was plentiful and tasty.
They don't do evening food but that was not a problem for me.

If your looking for decent accommodation at a reasonable price then this is the place.
I will certainly be back. I have booked in for next week already.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefunkiestbroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

- I checked in early because I expected I would finish my business late. The receptionist told me to call him when I got back so he could direct me where to park my car. He didn't inform me that the car park would be closed at 10 pm. At 11.45 I tried to call. A woman with a foreign accent answered and she was very rude. She was basically shouting. She said"it is too late, just park you car outside!" and she hanged up! I've never seen this before in my life. -It clearly states in booking.com email that the checkout time is 07 to 11 am. At 10.35, when I was about to leave the room, a man knocked the door. Again, in a rude way, he said that I should have vacated by 10.30 !! When I showed him the booking email, he didnt even bother to apologize for his behaviour. -They didn't have the central heating on. Althoug, they provided an electric heater, it was of little use as I used to get back late, so after I turned it on, by the time it is hot I was already fast asleep under 2 blankets. The place has the potential, but some emotional intelligence is needed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khalid5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Hi

I stayed at the Langham Hotel for one night as I was visiting my brother and to see his new house and the area. The hotel is very near the mainline station of Northampton. The line is about 1 hour from London Euston so it makes sense to have a hotel near the station.

The car park is behind the main terrace building which is in the shape of square.

The main reception was good and on arrival I had to be let in by the reception staff - which is good as security is important to me.

I had a key to the front door and so could come and go as I wanted.

My room No 7 was on the first floor had two single beds and was en-suite as you would expect. The room was a bit dated and 80s in décor so looked tired in my view.

I had a TV and free-view but only a few channels that seemed to be tuned in. The main broadcast channels worked OK

The shower only had one speed slow and the water was not adjustable for the amount of hot water you needed so a disappointment.

The extractor fan in the en-suite was very dusty and the bed pillows were to thin for my liking.
Noise from the room next door did intrude a bit.

The staff are very helpful and I ordered a Taxi for the next morning which was on time and from Phoenix Cars.

The full English breakfast was very good and the dining room well laid out and welcoming. Other guests ranged from older people on holiday to business people to groups of guys doing blue collar jobs on contract.

The papers only ranged from the red tops and the mail so a low score from me.

On leaving I was not asked how I had enjoyed my stay and I had to find someone to hand my key to as reception was closed.

I would go back as I got a special deal of £35.00 for B&B and its a good central position.

Room Tip: My room was 7 and OK as I mention and lets face it who lives in their room. If I was staying longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from this hotel and my wife and I were very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness from the family /staff.
The whole place was spotless, the room was more than adequate and the beds comfortable and the breakfast was as good as any I've had in any hotel, including fresh fruit, cereals and a very full English. The free car park is very secure but the entrance road to it a bit uneven still we had absolutely no difficulty with it
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and on my next visit to Northampton this is where we will stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithandKay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#19 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.4 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#13 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Hotel

Property: The Langham Hotel
Address: Barrack Road 4-5 Langham Place, Northampton NN2 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Northampton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Langham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is family run and has been established for over 35 years. We can cater for all needs, and there is a secure car park on site. There is also an extensive range of beers, wines and spirits available in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Hotel Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing