We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
Review of Hopping Hare

Hopping Hare
Ranked #37 of 596 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hopping Hare is a restaurant, pub & hotel. FoodThe quality of our food is really important to us.That's why everything is prepared from the finest ingredients, the freshest produce and the very best meat and fish.Our head chef has hand picked suppliers who support our food ethos and knows where the meat is reared, how the fish is caught and where the vegetables have been grown. We source locally as much as possible.Our Menus are updated regularly offering slowly braised, heart-warming comfort food when it's chilly outside, and lighter, pan-fried dishes with tender fresh vegetable and salads during the summer months. We offer chef specials every day, while Sunday's menu offers you a choice of Great British roasts with all the trimmings. It's always advisable to book to ensure a place in our relaxed conservatory restaurant.Table service is also available in the contemporary dining room with its more casual atmosphere.DrinkWhen the temperatures dip outside, we get the log fires burning to create a warm welcome, while in summer the sun streams through the open doors to reveal a large decked area that's perfect for outdoor days and balmy evenings.The contemporary dining room area is cleverly zoned by interior design to accommodate groups of all sizes. There are perfect spots for business people, backed up by free WiFi throughout the building. You will also find quiet, intimate corners for couples, fireside sofas and seating clusters for small groups as well as semi-formal table arrangements. We provide newspapers every day.Our bar staff know a thing or two about serving the perfect drink for all occasions. A range of super chilled lagers sit happily alongside cask ales - all kept in tip-top condition by our cellar manager. A well balanced wine list includes something for all tastes and is available by the glass or the bottle, and there's an extremely well stocked spirits range. Soft drinks & freshly brewed teas or coffee are available at all times.For very special occasions we stock a range of champagnes.
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Very good food
Very reasonable price
Service excellent
Flavours very good
Everything cooked perfectly
The bill came to less money than other local eatery for better quality food
Well done !!
Will I recommend and return ? Without a doubt !

1  Thank Butters123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Butters,

Excellent review. Concise and to the point. Our priorities:

Excellent customer service
Fantastic quality food at great value prices.
Very happy customers.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018

My wife and I went here on a Sunday for a celebration lunch and I am so glad we did. A warm welcome from the start at the bar and the continued when we took our table. The waitress and other waiting staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The food was excellent and worth the money. I will certainly be returning.
Having read other reviews may I suggest a few things as a general rule when visiting a restaurant.
If you have a particular life choice or ‘medical condition’ that effects what you can eat, check the menu before visiting or call them for advice about the menu. All restaurants are not obliged to meet your particular needs...unbelievable I know!! I went to a vegetarian restaurant a while ago and was shocked to find no meat choice!! Whilst checking the menu, check the prices. If they are too rich for you go somewhere that is more pleasing to your wallet, apparently there’s a co-op just down the road although I don’t believe they prepare the food for you and they do not have a table service.
Anyway hop along to the Hopping Hare for some great food

Thank TonyH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Tony,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks, very much appreciated by us all.

We really focus on delivering excellent customer service and top quality 2 AA Rosette food at great value prices. I believe it is this focus that stands us head and shoulders above our competitors and we are not trying to compete with the myriad of managed house chains.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

This is about the 10th time i've eaten here and i'm still blown away every time. Amazing dishes, where the wide variety of ingredients compliment each other perfectly. Great variation on the menus, very reasonable prices and all backed up by very very good service. All round a great restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JHopkins66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear J,

Many thanks for awarding the team top marks, very much appreciated by us all.

I am always most pleased when a regular customer takes the time to post a review.

Outstanding quality food at great value prices, alongside excellent customer service are our highest priorities and your feedback gives me great reassurance that we are delivering these objectives on a consistent basis.

We look forward to welcoming you on many more occasions.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Attending a business meeting in The area I was early and pulled over to search TripAdvisor for a local restaurant for lunch. The Hopping Hare was 300 yards away and was a great find. Lovely food and great service.

2  Thank paulreeves2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Paul,

Many thanks for a great review and I am delighted that you have outstanding IT skills.

We are very pleased that you found probably the very best restaurant in Northampton and you were only 300 yards away.

Now you know where we are, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We met some friends we hadn't seen for many years at the Hopping Hare. The food was excellent, well presented and I think I had the best Crème Brulee ever. The staff were very attentive and served us well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank H4094IMjanetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Janet,

Many thanks for a great review and for awarding us top marks, very much appreciated by us all.

Excellent quality home cooked food at great value prices, alongside first class customer service are what we are all about and I am pleased we delivered.

Pleased you especially enjoyed the crème brulee. We have lots of choices on our menus so please dine with us again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hopping Hare also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Kislingbury, Northampton
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Kislingbury, Northampton
 

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing