We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”
Review of Hopping Hare

Hopping Hare
Ranked #40 of 629 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Hopping Hare is a restaurant, pub & hotel. FoodThe quality of our food is really important to us.That's why everything is prepared from the finest ingredients, the freshest produce and the very best meat and fish.Our head chef has hand picked suppliers who support our food ethos and knows where the meat is reared, how the fish is caught and where the vegetables have been grown. We source locally as much as possible.Our Menus are updated regularly offering slowly braised, heart-warming comfort food when it's chilly outside, and lighter, pan-fried dishes with tender fresh vegetable and salads during the summer months. We offer chef specials every day, while Sunday's menu offers you a choice of Great British roasts with all the trimmings. It's always advisable to book to ensure a place in our relaxed conservatory restaurant.Table service is also available in the contemporary dining room with its more casual atmosphere.DrinkWhen the temperatures dip outside, we get the log fires burning to create a warm welcome, while in summer the sun streams through the open doors to reveal a large decked area that's perfect for outdoor days and balmy evenings.The contemporary dining room area is cleverly zoned by interior design to accommodate groups of all sizes. There are perfect spots for business people, backed up by free WiFi throughout the building. You will also find quiet, intimate corners for couples, fireside sofas and seating clusters for small groups as well as semi-formal table arrangements. We provide newspapers every day.Our bar staff know a thing or two about serving the perfect drink for all occasions. A range of super chilled lagers sit happily alongside cask ales - all kept in tip-top condition by our cellar manager. A well balanced wine list includes something for all tastes and is available by the glass or the bottle, and there's an extremely well stocked spirits range. Soft drinks & freshly brewed teas or coffee are available at all times.For very special occasions we stock a range of champagnes.
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We stayed here, so ate here too.
Can honestly say it was a fantastic meal. Steak cooked to perfection, chips are wonderful and the service is fantastic.
We'll be back again if we are down that way!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank GeejTSD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Georgina,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks, very much appreciated by us all.

We have a highly skilled and experienced team of chefs and we source 100% fresh produce from the very best suppliers.

We look forward to seeing you again, should you be visiting Northampton.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Let me start with the positives....
Exceptional food and attentive service.
My artichoke pasta was the best pasta I’ve every eaten.... My husbands trio of pork was...in his words wonderful.
But just a couple of points.... my crab starter whilst superb was very small for £12 and my husbands mackerel pâté came without toast/bread.
The restaurant was uncomfortably hot.... even with the windows open.
I know it was a hot day but maybe some fans or A/C would have made for a more comfortable evening.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 1969tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Tricia,

Many thanks for your feedback as outstanding quality food and excellent customer service are 2 of our 3 top priorities. Our third priority is to deliver great value prices so we will certainly look at the crab starter and make sure the portion size is appropriate.

We do have great value menus and specials always on offer eg our showcase menu is £17 for 2 courses and £20 for 3 courses. Different menu every week and available on Fridays and Saturdays from 5.30pm. Full details are on our website.

We look forward to seeing you both again.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

First visit last night.Lovely ambiance and friendly staff.Food choices outstanding.Tried to eat (and failed miserably) as slowly as possible to savour every morsel.Presentation of each course was outstanding.Stars of the show for me were " Three Little Pigs" and the "Coconut Panacotta".Informed that both Gregory and Grant were responsible for producing these amazing dishes....a credit to their skills,thank you.
As an anniversary treat,couldn't have chosen anywhere better.HIGHLY recommend

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ScotKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Scot,

Many thanks for your kind review and for highly recommending The Hopping Hare and for awarding the team top marks. Very much appreciated by us all.

We are one of the very best restaurants in the County, with 2 AA Rosettes and we strive to serve outstanding quality food at great value prices. I am delighted that you really enjoyed your anniversary treat.

We have a variety of menus including our fixed price Showcase menu (Friday and Saturday evenings) and light lunch, earl dinner menu (Monday to Thursday). We do hope you will try these out soon and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

What a lovely surprise.
Warm welcome on arrival and at first glance a very tidy and well decorated place. For gin drinkers, a very nice selection. Staff polite and helpful.
The food was of a good standard, I had fish. Two others had lamb but we all agreed it was very good. A good selection of puddings too.
The only down side for me, and it's a big one. The gets toilets, although appearing to be clean and well presented, stank. Really not good. Was informed by mg partner, the ladies were fine. Overall I'd reccomend this venue for a nice family lunch.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank robertsP586NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Robert,

Many thanks for your feedback and for recommending The Hopping Hare.Our top priorities are to serve outstanding quality food at great value prices alongside first class customer service and I am pleased we delivered.

The gents toilet is very occasionally a challenge as it is very small, with no external window. We have an air extract system but the motor had burnt out when you visited, which will be replaced. In addition there is work planned to improve air ventilation in the toilet which will also help deal with this problem. Please rest assured that this is a very rare occurrence and we have plans to improve as best as we can.
Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

1st time here & was not disappointed. Lovely food & warm ambience. Staff were lovely even at their most busiest time. Thank you all for a lovely visit.

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank EAM146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear EAM,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks. Very much appreciated by us all.

Exceptional quality food at great value prices, alongside excellent customer service are our highest priorities and I am pleased we delivered.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hopping Hare also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing