We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hopping Hare

Hopping Hare
Ranked #37 of 596 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hopping Hare is a restaurant, pub & hotel. FoodThe quality of our food is really important to us.That's why everything is prepared from the finest ingredients, the freshest produce and the very best meat and fish.Our head chef has hand picked suppliers who support our food ethos and knows where the meat is reared, how the fish is caught and where the vegetables have been grown. We source locally as much as possible.Our Menus are updated regularly offering slowly braised, heart-warming comfort food when it's chilly outside, and lighter, pan-fried dishes with tender fresh vegetable and salads during the summer months. We offer chef specials every day, while Sunday's menu offers you a choice of Great British roasts with all the trimmings. It's always advisable to book to ensure a place in our relaxed conservatory restaurant.Table service is also available in the contemporary dining room with its more casual atmosphere.DrinkWhen the temperatures dip outside, we get the log fires burning to create a warm welcome, while in summer the sun streams through the open doors to reveal a large decked area that's perfect for outdoor days and balmy evenings.The contemporary dining room area is cleverly zoned by interior design to accommodate groups of all sizes. There are perfect spots for business people, backed up by free WiFi throughout the building. You will also find quiet, intimate corners for couples, fireside sofas and seating clusters for small groups as well as semi-formal table arrangements. We provide newspapers every day.Our bar staff know a thing or two about serving the perfect drink for all occasions. A range of super chilled lagers sit happily alongside cask ales - all kept in tip-top condition by our cellar manager. A well balanced wine list includes something for all tastes and is available by the glass or the bottle, and there's an extremely well stocked spirits range. Soft drinks & freshly brewed teas or coffee are available at all times.For very special occasions we stock a range of champagnes.
Reviewed 7 October 2018

After a phone call explaining I had a seafood alergy we booked for lunch , three menus to choose from and a lovely wine list the two gentle men who served us were excellent as was the food highly recommend to any one

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stevechef64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Steve,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks, very much appreciated by us all.

Excellent quality food at great value prices alongside first class customer service are our highest priorities and I am pleased we delivered.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Visited restaurant with Mum and baby daughter, there was no vegetarian option for the Sunday roast set menu apart from just no meat but the gravy isn’t vegetarian so this wasn’t really an option, the only other option was mac cheese or salad. I really fancied a roast so was a bit disappointed although the soup and mac cheese were really tasty.

Thank Aisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Aisha,

Thanks for the feedback

We do try to have a good selection of vegetarian options on our a la carte and other menus.

However, we have now addressed the shortcoming you have identified and a vegetarian gravy is available every day.

I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and hope you can dine with us again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Always try and eat here when in the area. The food is fresh and inventive.
I had pressed tomatoes to start followed by loin of cod.
Both full of flavour and served by friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joQ108GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Jo,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks, very much appreciated by us all.

As you know, all our food is cooked in house and we source from the highest quality suppliers.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Rooms - okay nothing special. NO BATH shower only in our room.
Nice restaurant, we were well looked after despite eating on a quiet Sunday night after a busy Sunday lunch.
Really nice staff especially the lovely helpful lady serving breakfast.
Good food exceeding expectations both for breakfast and in the evening.

Thank blusea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Blusea,

Thank you for your feedback and I am very pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our food offer and the team's commitment to delivering excellent customer service.All our food is cooked in house, by our highly skilled and experienced chefs and we source produce from the highest quality suppliers and we are the only 2 AA Rosette restaurant in Northampton.

The Hopping Hare was formerly a manor house and our rooms are of varying sizes. All the rooms have luxury en-suite bathrooms with showers, but only some rooms have baths as well as showers. The very best way to book a room is on-line through our website, where there is a full description of every bedroom and facilities in each room. We also guarantee cheapest rates when booking directly.

We do hope you can stay with us again and choose a room with bath and shower. Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

The hopping hare is a bit of a strange one. Situated on a housing estate it is not the sort of establishment that I would normally visit but my wife had booked a table so in we went. Inside the HH is quite classy with a good bar and a well laid out dining area. It did feel a bit like a conservatory though with just windows along the wall.

Initial opinions out of the way, it was time to order some food and a nice pint of beer. Except the beer wasn't very nice. It was too warm, which is something you don't hear too often about beer. Not being too hungry I chose the ploughmans lunch. It was quite expensive (12.95) so I was looking forward to a good ploughmans. Unfortunately, again, the ploughmans was not good. The quality was spot on but it was the lack of ingredients that spoilt it. Some ham, a roll, a piece of apple, a slice of cheddar and a couple of other ingredients. No actual salad, no pickles etc. It really did feel like a starter more than a main course. What was there was tasty though. Still feeling slightly peckish, it was on to desserts. This was the star of the show. I had the cheesecake and it was really rather nice.

So altogether it was a rather disappointing visit. There was nothing really wrong with anything but then again there wasn't anything that would want me to return. Especially the warm beer.

1  Thank Steveps3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Steve,

Many thanks for your feedback and I am sorry that you were rather disappointed.

All our food is prepared and cooked in house and we are committed to delivering exceptional quality food at great value prices. For example, our Showcase and light lunch/early dinner menus are both priced at £17 for 2 courses and £20 for 3 courses. All menus are on our website.

I think you must have been very unlucky with your beer as we do look after the cellar very well and are Cask Marque approved. I do wish you had mentioned this to a member of staff as we would have been delighted to replace it.

I do hope you will visit again and I am sure you will be pleased.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hopping Hare also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Kislingbury, Northampton
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Kislingbury, Northampton
 

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing