We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of Hopping Hare

Hopping Hare
Ranked #35 of 617 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hopping Hare is a restaurant, pub & hotel. FoodThe quality of our food is really important to us.That's why everything is prepared from the finest ingredients, the freshest produce and the very best meat and fish.Our head chef has hand picked suppliers who support our food ethos and knows where the meat is reared, how the fish is caught and where the vegetables have been grown. We source locally as much as possible.Our Menus are updated regularly offering slowly braised, heart-warming comfort food when it's chilly outside, and lighter, pan-fried dishes with tender fresh vegetable and salads during the summer months. We offer chef specials every day, while Sunday's menu offers you a choice of Great British roasts with all the trimmings. It's always advisable to book to ensure a place in our relaxed conservatory restaurant.Table service is also available in the contemporary dining room with its more casual atmosphere.DrinkWhen the temperatures dip outside, we get the log fires burning to create a warm welcome, while in summer the sun streams through the open doors to reveal a large decked area that's perfect for outdoor days and balmy evenings.The contemporary dining room area is cleverly zoned by interior design to accommodate groups of all sizes. There are perfect spots for business people, backed up by free WiFi throughout the building. You will also find quiet, intimate corners for couples, fireside sofas and seating clusters for small groups as well as semi-formal table arrangements. We provide newspapers every day.Our bar staff know a thing or two about serving the perfect drink for all occasions. A range of super chilled lagers sit happily alongside cask ales - all kept in tip-top condition by our cellar manager. A well balanced wine list includes something for all tastes and is available by the glass or the bottle, and there's an extremely well stocked spirits range. Soft drinks & freshly brewed teas or coffee are available at all times.For very special occasions we stock a range of champagnes.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this Sunday first time for about 2 years why we have left it so long excellent Sunday lunch two courses for £20 or three for £25 will definitely be returning

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sue,

Many thanks for awarding the team top marks, very much appreciated by us all.

We are the only 2 AA Rosette restaurant in Northampton and to achieve this standard we have excellent skilled chefs, with every dish prepared and cooked in-house, using produce from the highest quality suppliers. These factors stand us head and shoulders above competitors.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was well above expectations, smart interior and very friendly staff.
well done Hoping Hare.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mark,

Thanks for a great review, concise and to the point, very well done to you.

Our offer is straightforward : excellent 2 Rosette food at great value prices, with friendly and welcoming customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have always had a decent meal here but tonight we were disappointed. Didn’t deliver on taste. Mozzarella starter was unbalanced - too much mozzarella in relation to other ingredients. Belly pork main course was smothered in gravy although no mention of gravy on menu. Scant vegetables. Cauliflower cheese croquet tasted of nothing.
Winter trio of desserts- hardly anything on the plate and the bill was £125 for 3 people.
I don’t think we shall be visiting again. Such a shame this place has gone downhill.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maxine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Maxine,

I am sorry about your experience and will certainly investigate the points you have raised.I do wish that you had raised these concerns with The Manager on Duty, who would have resolved them to your satisfaction.

I can assure you that we are totally committed to serving excellent quality food at great value prices alongside first class customer service as we have always been and will continue to do so.

I do hope you will visit us again and I am confident that you will see that our standards have not slipped.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited for first time in years for Lunch. We’re not disappointed, the food was very good quality. The ambiance created by the interior was also excellent. Will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank colinr837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Colin,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding The Hopping Hare top marks. Very much appreciated by us all.

Our aim is to serve excellent quality food at great value prices, alongside first class customer service and I am very pleased we delivered.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food - loved it. The beer tasted good so thumbs up and a great start. Staff very friendly and attentive. Food, well presented and thoughtfully put together. Talented kitchen staff. Thanks for a good night.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank K7081WIrichardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear K7,

Many thanks for posting a great review, very much appreciated by all of us.

Our key objectives are to serve exceptional home cooked dishes at great value prices, alongside first class customer service and I am pleased we delivered on these objectives.

Really pleased that you enjoyed the night and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hopping Hare also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing