We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice in a week! ”
Review of Hopping Hare

Hopping Hare
Ranked #45 of 633 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hopping Hare is a restaurant, pub & hotel. FoodThe quality of our food is really important to us.That's why everything is prepared from the finest ingredients, the freshest produce and the very best meat and fish.Our head chef has hand picked suppliers who support our food ethos and knows where the meat is reared, how the fish is caught and where the vegetables have been grown. We source locally as much as possible.Our Menus are updated regularly offering slowly braised, heart-warming comfort food when it's chilly outside, and lighter, pan-fried dishes with tender fresh vegetable and salads during the summer months. We offer chef specials every day, while Sunday's menu offers you a choice of Great British roasts with all the trimmings. It's always advisable to book to ensure a place in our relaxed conservatory restaurant.Table service is also available in the contemporary dining room with its more casual atmosphere.DrinkWhen the temperatures dip outside, we get the log fires burning to create a warm welcome, while in summer the sun streams through the open doors to reveal a large decked area that's perfect for outdoor days and balmy evenings.The contemporary dining room area is cleverly zoned by interior design to accommodate groups of all sizes. There are perfect spots for business people, backed up by free WiFi throughout the building. You will also find quiet, intimate corners for couples, fireside sofas and seating clusters for small groups as well as semi-formal table arrangements. We provide newspapers every day.Our bar staff know a thing or two about serving the perfect drink for all occasions. A range of super chilled lagers sit happily alongside cask ales - all kept in tip-top condition by our cellar manager. A well balanced wine list includes something for all tastes and is available by the glass or the bottle, and there's an extremely well stocked spirits range. Soft drinks & freshly brewed teas or coffee are available at all times.For very special occasions we stock a range of champagnes.
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

This might be one of my new favourite places. Everything cooked beautifully which as a chef is nice to go somewhere and just eat. The restaurant was busy and staff still attentive. Good choice of wines too.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank GarethBolesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Dear Gareth,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks, very much appreciated by all of us.

It is always very reassuring when we receive compliments on our food offer from a chef.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2019 via mobile

Four of us dined here last night, booked under the Valentine’s Evening Special menu; amuse bouche, choice of four starters, choice of four mains, champagne and Rose little sweet and a dessert for £35 per head.

Arrived early and was seated after getting drinks from bar. Menus arrived minus wine list. Wine list arrived but we sat waiting for ages for a waiter and one of us went up to bar to get some drinks. The restaurant staff and deputy manager were totally rushed off their feet; all tables were full with the Valentine’s special, plus people in bar side ordering food too. Staff very pleasant and apologetic but just way too many tables to cater for.

Waited approximately 45 mins for the amuse bouche, which was nice, and another wait for starters. And this is where it went so wrong.

The two men opted for scallops, the two women the smoked salmon and crab. Pretty but tiny portions. The salmon and crab was lovely. The scallops with pork belly looked amazing, the scallop roe on the plate too. Except when the scallop was cut into it flaked into pieces and was quickly identified as round pieces of cod!

The deputy manager handled our complaint; taking the plate back to the kitchen. He tried to explain that maybe it was another supplier, but my friend said it was obviously cod cut into circles to appear to be scallops. Deputy manager returned from kitchen and did admit, after a little prodding, that the kitchen had no more scallops.

My friend was asked to go and meet the head chef near the bar and away from the table. Again it was suggested that it was different suppliers and that they had been scallops. But then the head chef admitted that another chef was too scared to inform him of the scallops running out and had been cutting cod into circles and passing them off as scallops. He even said that this chef would be fired that evening! My friend’s counter argument was that as head chef he would be in full control of all food leaving the kitchen. The sheer cheek of trying to pass circular cut cod, complete with a little roe on the side, is completely out of order.

We were given a round of free drinks, including a bottle of wine, and the deputy manager was really sorry and embarrassed. At no point did the actual manager come over to apologise. We also received a discount off the bill. However the entire evening was spoilt.

Mains were ok, fillet too rare for me personally, and the little champagne and Rose mini sweet was lovely. Best course was the pudding; mango cheesecake.

I have to wonder if our table’s scallops were the only fake flakey ones or had the restaurant served cod circles to anyone else? Extremely poor and potentially a Trading Standards issue.

Overall a disappointing experience.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank mandalulabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2019

Dear Manda,

We are very sorry for the mistake that was made and we are dealing with the matter appropriately.

In mitigation, we dealt with the mistake on the night as best as we could and we believed that the way we tried to compensate was to you and your friends' satisfaction, but clearly this is not the case and I again apologise.

Our reputation is for serving excellent quality food at great value prices and it is of little comfort to us that the vast majority of feedback on the night was extremely positive.

I do hope that you consider our actions and this response is appropriate.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

Have been a few times before as a couple and it was ok so returned with a friend at Sunday lunchtime.
We each read through the menu and kept thinking don’t like the sound of that, what’s next which continued until we finished the menu and scanned back to confirm there was not a single veggie option and the only fish choice was fish and chips.
This was in January or “veganuary”!
The restaurant was full but if it does not move with the times it won’t be in a few years.
We raised this point and were told we could have the Sunday roast without meat for half price. So we reluctantly went to Harts down the road which is nothing like as nice but had some veggie choices.
Bizarre!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank sheriffade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Dear Sherriffade,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you were disappointed.

We have 2 menus available on Sundays. Our Great British Sunday lunch menu is fantastic quality and outstanding value at £20 for 2 courses and £25 for 3 courses and includes 3 roasts including sirloin of beef . We also have our comfort menu with many traditional favourites, every dish cooked in house and produce sourced from the very best suppliers.

These menus do include 2 vegetarian and 2 vegan dishes, but we are in the process of introducing a separate vegetarian menu, which will have a wider choice.

I do hope you will try us again and I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

I used to be regular at the Hopping Hare but haven’t eaten here for a few years.
I brought my wife here for a “date night” as my past experiences were very good.
To be honest, it was ok but not fantastic. We found the menu didn’t really describe the actual dish served, I also felt it was expensive for what we received.
The meal was ok and I wouldn’t pan the place but there are plenty of better places to dine in Northamptonshire.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank DarrenL794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Dear Darren,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you were disappointed.

I am not sure when you visited but we have just introduced new menus and have recently welcomed on board Darren Curson as Head Chef. Darren is a Master Chef of Great Britain and will enhance our reputation as one of the finest restaurants in the County. All our food is sourced from the highest quality suppliers, every dish is cooked in house and we are absolutely committed to serving excellent quality food at great value prices.

I do hope you will try out our new menus.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

Good value for a stylish meal. Modern decor and lighting. Well presented meal, delightful staff. Will come again.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Dear David,

Many thanks for your kind review.

We are one of the very best restaurants in the County with 2 AA Rosettes and a highly experienced and skilled kitchen brigade led by Darren Curson, a Master Chef Of Great Britain.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hopping Hare also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing