We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Delicious ”
Review of The Hopping Hare

The Hopping Hare
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 8/1
20:00
Ranked #48 of 592 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Hopping Hare is a restaurant, pub & hotel. FoodThe quality of our food is really important to us.That's why everything is prepared from the finest ingredients, the freshest produce and the very best meat and fish.Our head chef has hand picked suppliers who support our food ethos and knows where the meat is reared, how the fish is caught and where the vegetables have been grown. We source locally as much as possible.Our Menus are updated regularly offering slowly braised, heart-warming comfort food when it's chilly outside, and lighter, pan-fried dishes with tender fresh vegetable and salads during the summer months. We offer chef specials every day, while Sunday's menu offers you a choice of Great British roasts with all the trimmings. It's always advisable to book to ensure a place in our relaxed conservatory restaurant.Table service is also available in the contemporary dining room with its more casual atmosphere.DrinkWhen the temperatures dip outside, we get the log fires burning to create a warm welcome, while in summer the sun streams through the open doors to reveal a large decked area that's perfect for outdoor days and balmy evenings.The contemporary dining room area is cleverly zoned by interior design to accommodate groups of all sizes. There are perfect spots for business people, backed up by free WiFi throughout the building. You will also find quiet, intimate corners for couples, fireside sofas and seating clusters for small groups as well as semi-formal table arrangements. We provide newspapers every day.Our bar staff know a thing or two about serving the perfect drink for all occasions. A range of super chilled lagers sit happily alongside cask ales - all kept in tip-top condition by our cellar manager. A well balanced wine list includes something for all tastes and is available by the glass or the bottle, and there's an extremely well stocked spirits range. Soft drinks & freshly brewed teas or coffee are available at all times.For very special occasions we stock a range of champagnes.
Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

Really enjoyed ! Freshly cooked and child friendly.
Nice atmosphere. First time and I would comeagain

visit again

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Happiness0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2202OZdavidg, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear Happiness,

Many thanks for your kind review and for sharing some joy and goodwill with the team. Very much appreciated.

I am delighted that you have discovered The Hopping Hare and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

Food was good, well cooked and presented, the long wait for each course was unacceptable.
We are busy was the cry! As it was at breakfast... “sorry but we are short of staff”.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank geoffSmith91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2202OZdavidg, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear Geoff,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our food offer, but I am disappointed and I apologise for the poor customer service, which has been addressed.
Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2020

Excellent venue. Relaxed pleasant atmosphere with superb food at really affordable prices.
If you wish for an even more relaxed atmosphere then there is the bar area restaurant.
The staff are all very welcoming and knowledgable.
For all the above reasons we remain regular customers

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 0xymoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2202OZdavidg, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear Oxymoron,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks. Very much appreciated by all of us.We are committed to delivering excellent quality food at great value prices, with excellent customer service.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

superb food overall. Starters for me Smoked Salmon, fantastic presentation, good flavour probably on the steep price for a starter would be the only criticism. Others had Pork or Mushroom Tartlets and they were very happy. My main Beef Rump and Shin was superb - no other words for it really. Others had fish and chips and burgers which they enjoyed. One person had rump steak which they left as they felt ill. We ordered Mac & Cheese as a side dish, it was delivered as a main and charged as such and they said they didn;t do it as a side - so the waitress should have been told when she put the order in, she was new so not her fault. So overall it would have been five star but a couple of quibbles. £165 for five and no bottles of wine, five diners.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank stitchknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2202OZdavidg, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Dear Stich,

Many thanks for your kind review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal. A core objective is to deliver excellent quality food at great value prices. I do wish you had spoken to the Manager on Duty, who I an sure would have not charged for the Mac & Cheese.

Please call again soon and mention to The MOD. Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

Has completely changed its reputation from years ago since changing hands. Proper cheffy food (although also proper cheffy prices which is to be expected with the quality you receive), and great service even on the weekend before Christmas when we did not order from the festive menu. Thanks for a great meal, we will be back!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank NatBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2020

Dear Nat,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks, Very much appreciated by us all.

Our offer is to serve excellent quality food at great value prices and I am always reassured when feedback confirms that we are delivering. We source our produce from the highest quality suppliers, every dish is cooked in house and we are the only 2 AA Rosette restaurant in Northampton.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hopping Hare also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.