We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dining Experience”
Review of The Hopping Hare

The Hopping Hare
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 7/28
20:00
Ranked #48 of 590 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Hopping Hare is a restaurant, pub & hotel. FoodThe quality of our food is really important to us.That's why everything is prepared from the finest ingredients, the freshest produce and the very best meat and fish.Our head chef has hand picked suppliers who support our food ethos and knows where the meat is reared, how the fish is caught and where the vegetables have been grown. We source locally as much as possible.Our Menus are updated regularly offering slowly braised, heart-warming comfort food when it's chilly outside, and lighter, pan-fried dishes with tender fresh vegetable and salads during the summer months. We offer chef specials every day, while Sunday's menu offers you a choice of Great British roasts with all the trimmings. It's always advisable to book to ensure a place in our relaxed conservatory restaurant.Table service is also available in the contemporary dining room with its more casual atmosphere.DrinkWhen the temperatures dip outside, we get the log fires burning to create a warm welcome, while in summer the sun streams through the open doors to reveal a large decked area that's perfect for outdoor days and balmy evenings.The contemporary dining room area is cleverly zoned by interior design to accommodate groups of all sizes. There are perfect spots for business people, backed up by free WiFi throughout the building. You will also find quiet, intimate corners for couples, fireside sofas and seating clusters for small groups as well as semi-formal table arrangements. We provide newspapers every day.Our bar staff know a thing or two about serving the perfect drink for all occasions. A range of super chilled lagers sit happily alongside cask ales - all kept in tip-top condition by our cellar manager. A well balanced wine list includes something for all tastes and is available by the glass or the bottle, and there's an extremely well stocked spirits range. Soft drinks & freshly brewed teas or coffee are available at all times.For very special occasions we stock a range of champagnes.
Reviewed 5 July 2020 via mobile

We dined at The Hopping Hare on the night of reopening due to covid19 and we had the best dining experience. All the staff were super friendly and the food was delicious! Social distancing measures were in place to make everyone feel comfortable. Just want to say thank you to all the staff and special compliments to the chef!

Date of visit: July 2020
2  Thank daisykait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2202OZdavidg, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2020

Dear Daisy,

Many thanks for your very kind review and for awarding the team top marks. Very much appreciated by us all.

Excellent quality food at great value prices, alongside first class customer service are our top priorities and I am delighted that you enjoyed the experience.

We very much look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

We ate here as a 4, the food was outstanding, slightly lacked atmosphere but the staff made up for it, will visit again soon

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank Julian Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2202OZdavidg, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Dear Julian,

Thank you very much for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks, very much appreciated.

Our objectives are to deliver excellent quality food at great value prices, alongside first class customer service and O am pleased that we delivered.

I am not sure of the time of your visit and like all restaurants we have quiet periods. We encourage a laid back friendly feel and when we are busy there is a great atmosphere. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, David.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

A really lovely Sunday lunch let down by haphazard and thoughtless service.
We enjoyed our food which was imaginatively and well prepared and very tasty. Sadly the service was not of an equal standard and was quite out of balance with the prices set for the food. We left feeling ignored and quite dissatisfied.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank Miichael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2202OZdavidg, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal at The Hopping Hare. Every dish is cooked in-house and we are the only 2 AA Rosette restaurant in Northampton and I believe our food offer is exceptional.

Our priorities are to serve excellent quality food at great value prices, alongside first class customer service. I am very pleased that we delivered on part 1 but I am bitterly disappointed that we failed on part 2. I have investigated and I believe that I have identified what went wrong and have put corrective measures in place.

I do hope that you will dine with us again and experience the first class customer service, which we normally deliver.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020

Lovely food, ambience and service. Yes, I’d agree with another reviewer who visited at another time that parts of the main course could have been a bit warmer but that didn’t spoil the overall effect. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank nomisDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2202OZdavidg, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

Dear Nomis,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks. very much appreciated by all of us.

Recently, locally sourced venison has been tremendously popular and is cooked at 58 degrees, which is warm not hot. When next in season we will note this on our menus.

Many thanks for recommending The Hopping Hare and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020 via mobile

Waste of money. Cold food which had to be sent back. The service was very poor with a grumpy waitress. The deserts were awful and they got all the coffees wrong.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Sunrise1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2202OZdavidg, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

Dear HMH,

I have fully investigated your complaints and would comment as follows:

The venison which was returned was cooked at a temperature of 58 degrees, which is the correct serving temperature. The dish was reheated and re-plated.

A mistake was made with one of the coffees, which was replaced and I apologise for this mistake.

Every dish we cook is prepared in house, including all our desserts and there were no complaints about any of the desserts from any customer on the day of your visit.

We were very busy and the staff were totally focused on serving customers, but having discussed this with the MOD, to suggest a waitress was grumpy is unfair in my opinion.

David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hopping Hare also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.