We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrate in style. ”
Review of The Hopping Hare

The Hopping Hare
Ranked #35 of 698 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £16 - £30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hopping Hare is a restaurant, pub & hotel. FoodThe quality of our food is really important to us.That's why everything is prepared from the finest ingredients, the freshest produce and the very best meat and fish.Our head chef has hand picked suppliers who support our food ethos and knows where the meat is reared, how the fish is caught and where the vegetables have been grown. We source locally as much as possible.Our Menus are updated regularly offering slowly braised, heart-warming comfort food when it's chilly outside, and lighter, pan-fried dishes with tender fresh vegetable and salads during the summer months. We offer chef specials every day, while Sunday's menu offers you a choice of Great British roasts with all the trimmings. It's always advisable to book to ensure a place in our relaxed conservatory restaurant.Table service is also available in the contemporary dining room with its more casual atmosphere.DrinkWhen the temperatures dip outside, we get the log fires burning to create a warm welcome, while in summer the sun streams through the open doors to reveal a large decked area that's perfect for outdoor days and balmy evenings.The contemporary dining room area is cleverly zoned by interior design to accommodate groups of all sizes. There are perfect spots for business people, backed up by free WiFi throughout the building. You will also find quiet, intimate corners for couples, fireside sofas and seating clusters for small groups as well as semi-formal table arrangements. We provide newspapers every day.Our bar staff know a thing or two about serving the perfect drink for all occasions. A range of super chilled lagers sit happily alongside cask ales - all kept in tip-top condition by our cellar manager. A well balanced wine list includes something for all tastes and is available by the glass or the bottle, and there's an extremely well stocked spirits range. Soft drinks & freshly brewed teas or coffee are available at all times.For very special occasions we stock a range of champagnes.
Reviewed 6 July 2023 via mobile

Since we could not celebrate our golden wedding anniversary due to Covid lockdown we treated some special friends to afternoon cream tea at the Hopping Hare. Our special requests were provided completely. The white linen covered table looked exquisite. The selection of sandwiches, scones and patisseries were simply divine. All six of us were highly impressed and vow to come here again soon. Thanks to Sophie for delivering on a number of promises.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank 805grahamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2023

I had the Duo of Beef, and I have to say it was absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend it. The service was good, and you get a decent meal for your money. Everyone in our group came away saying how good their meal was.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K3110ROtoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2023

Our second stay at this hotel as it's nearby to friends. Good service, friendly staff, great breakfast, evening meals are very nice. Good value for money. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Bed is very comfortable. Popular with business travellers. Can't fault it, will stay here again.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2023

Thought we'd give this place another try, but it ended with disappointment again!
Ordered a round of drinks but the coffee was forgotten!
I then ordered 3 double G&T's, it came to £38.70!!!
We won't be going back, poor service and extortionate prices!

Date of visit: June 2023
1  Thank mikeyjl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2023

My husband and I recently visited The Hopping Hare with a large group for a pre-booked and pre-ordered 3-course lunch including tea/coffee. All the dishes were served hot where applicable and were delicious, and everybody from our party commented on the beautiful presentation and the friendly service. This in addition to a reasonable price for our lunch considering the quality of the food and ambience.
The person from our group who had liaised with The Hopping Hare before our visit also mentioned that her contact had been most helpful in arranging our visit and menu choices.
My husband and I have visited The Hopping Hare on our own on quite a few occasions over the years, and we have never been disappointed with the food or service, and we shall look forward to visiting again.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R8873SRjensb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David George, Owner at The Hopping Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2023

Dear Jen,

Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks.

I am delighted that you have consistently found our offer and service to be very good and we very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hopping Hare also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.