We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so tired this hotel is in a coma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Northampton
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“so tired this hotel is in a coma”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

One of the tattiest hotels I have ever stayed in. the bathroom fittings were yelowed cracked melamine. the shower was always running whether on bath setting or shower. Basically Travel lodge quality for hilton prices. Most HI Ive stayed in have a bit of a pool / steam room / sauna. This had a micro gym. The bar had no real ales - not all men are lagerheads. The food was pricey and small portions. The only positive is the staff who were all friendly and very helpful. From the breakfast chef through to the evening staff they were all faultless. I suggest they are redeployed while the place is demolished and rebuilt. I will not be back here ever and it is much less likely Ill ever use an HI hotel. PS the C and B pub over the road has decent beer and reasonable food but be prepared for a long wait for a drink , your order being taken and your food to come -- hopelessly understaffed - but agian a friendly bunch

Room Tip: Drive past and go to the premier inn up the road where at least you will pay for what you get not pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I would need more details with regards to your room as we run regular maintenance checks and I have not received any comments about the bathrooms, so please do contact me so I can investigate as this is not acceptable and certainly not the standard we work to. We do provide a mini gym and have recently redecorated this, but we do not offer a leisure centre. It is a real shame that you did not enjoy your stay, and would be happy to discuss this with you to see if I can rectify the problems you incurred.
Lucy Rose
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    159
    132
    47
    21
See reviews for
85
124
34
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, good location not to much noise from the road, and a fairly good 'chef and brewer' across the road.
We had upgraded to an 'executive room' bit bigger than a standard, complementary bottle of water, small juice box, twix and a packet of biscuits, Slippers in the wardrobe. Bed was big and comfy, same they didn't use fitted sheets so in the morning the sheets were all messed up from a night of fidgeting!
Decor was of a good standard, if a little 'classic'

Can't comment on the breakfast as even with an upgraded room breakfast was an extra. £14 each on the day, £9 in advance ... We opted to go out and eat elsewhere

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. The Executive rooms are nice and worth getting those extras to make your stay more special. We have recently launched a new Indian Menu, which if you stay again is worth tasting. The Head Chef Bilal, will always come and discuss other options if these are not available and will accommodate where requested. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Lucy Rose
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Spent 1 night here & from check in to exit it was a great experience.

There was a party on in the restaurant and it was nice to sit in the bar & listen to the music.

The room was clean, large and airy.

Breakfast was a scrum, but a well organised, well stocked and very tasty one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SetonSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. It is always nice to hear that you had a great stay. Breakfast is always busy, but it is good to hear that you enjoyed it, as this is a very important part of every stay. We will hopefully see you again in the future.
Lucy Rose
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We held a joint 25th wedding anniversary & 21st birthday party for 50 guests in April. I cannot praise Alex and her team in helping at every stage of the organisation and management of the party, they made the whole event run smoothly. In particular, Raj was consistently attentive and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and he always did everything with a smile. He even came in on his day off the next day to make sure we were happy with the evening. The whole team, including Sam, Jack & Lidia, made our event special.
Thank you for everything,
Kim, Andy & Jenny

Room Tip: One room was complimentary with the party, the other rooms came with a discount for guests, excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I know the team really enjoyed arranging your event. Raj really enjoys being part of these events and loves to get involved. I will ensure your kind comments are passed onto all of the team members. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards

Lucy Rose
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I Stayed here over the weekend with my partner for 1 night, on arrival we were greeted by the reception staff who were very friendly and polite. They told us there was no tray charge for room service if we wanted it as there was a function on in the hotel so we were unable to use the restaurant. We stayed on a ground floor room which was lovely!! The windows let in enough light and they looked onto the garden area at the back (we saw some rabbits in the morning!!) The rooms were very big and the bathrooms also! The shower was really powerful and worked perfectly! We had a heater/air conditioning in the room which was great for in the morning as it was slightly cold! We ordered room service which was lovely and very quick!! The beds were very comfy!! we went for breakfast in the morning and we were again greeted by lovely friendly staff who had a table for us in a quieter area of the restaurant as many of the people in there were from the event the night before! overall amazing stay here! we will definitely be using the Holiday Inns again!! Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTaylor1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review, and it is really good to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. The ground floor rooms are great for watching the rabbits. It is always nice to see them running around. The team have been working hard on room service and this has been recognised by many guests. I really do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards

Lucy Rose
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Wasn't impressed with arrival at room seeing a dirty glass still outside the bedroom door I guess from the previous occupant.

The room looked fine on first impressions, but the more you looked the more tired it was, then discovered long black hairs in the bathroom. Speaking of the bathroom, take a torch the lighting is dim and not really sufficient.

Breakfast was nice, staff were great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I am sorry that your arrival experience was not what it should have been. I do hope you came to reception to express your concerns, as we would off offered a room move as this would have been done immediately. I do hope you will return to us in the future and allow us to rectify these problems you incurred.

Kind regards

Lucy Rose
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We thought this would be a good alternative to our usual University pick up. Don't bother non functioning toilet, TV remote out of batteries, private function closed the restaurant. I am still there for just one night, so far so bad! Yet to sample breakfast last chance to redeem themselves .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DGB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. It is a shame that you did not enjoy your time with us, but we have spoken since and do hope we can rectify the problems you had. I do hope you will return next time you come to Northampton.

Kind regards

Lucy Rose
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Northampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#20 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Northampton

Property: Holiday Inn Northampton
Address: Bedford Road, Northampton NN4 7YF, England (Formerly Courtyard)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near to central Northampton you'll find all you need for a modern comfortable night s stay either for business or leisure purposes at the Northampton Holiday Inn Hotel. An ideal base for all visiting motor enthusiast near to Silverstone, home of the British Grand Prix, Santa Pod and Rockingham . Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel is also Near to Northampton town The Lakes, Brackmills, Riverside, Moulton Park & Grange Park Business Centres, yet only 5 Miles from Junction 15 of the M1 . The Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel provides Quality hotel rooms with the luxury of a choice of king sized bed or two queen size double beds. Business customers will find all the facilities required including WI-FI availability, working desks in all rooms as well as a multi gym to work out in For weekend breaks relax and enjoy bed and breakfast at your leisure before visiting the sights or taking in an event. At the hotel we are also equipped to host meetings for up to 70 people, & banqueting functions for up to 120 with really competitive hotel rates . The Hotel offers WIFI Internet access in the lounge area & business centre available 24hr a day.Local attractions include: Castle Ashby House & Gardens, Wicksteed Park, Billing Aquadrome, Althorp House and Nene Whitewater Rafting Centre, Silverstone & Santa Pod. You'll find all you need in a Hotel - A quality location for a quality stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel Northampton
Northampton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Northampton Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing