We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shoes Shoes Shoes!”

Northampton Museum & Art Gallery
Ranked #14 of 60 things to do in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Shoes Shoes Shoes!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A museum that has mostly history of the surrounding area rather than whats gone on in London over god knows how long! Was refreshing to learn some of the history of Northampton, and I will never again comment on friends having too many pairs of shoes (this place has hundreds!). Toys on the second floor are great, although kids of today would probably find them boring, as they don't take batteries! Some can be played with (so tempting), and you can also try on shoes, and costumes in the rest of the museum. Also, I should mention to all you tightwads out there - ITS FREE!!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank GrumpyTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    60
    24
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Interesting Freebie”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Why not pop into this museum if you're passing, as there is an array of shoe displays and local culture, dating back to Saxons and Romans. Its also free, tea and coffee is available, and you can walk around at your leisure. The museum aso has a reasonably priced shop

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexGrumpy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Northampton modes”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I thought the exhibition of Northampton in the 60s was very good it was lovely to see the old scooters and photo's really took me back in time

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jude045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Extensive and well-designed museum”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I never know that Northampton had such an interesting history until we visited this museum. It is extremely well-laid out with very good audio-visual and static displays, in a bright. colourful environment. Wish we had had more time to visit on this occasion, but will plan to return

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shoes !”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A wonderful first time visit to the museum - specifically to see the Kobi Levi exhibit but more than entranced by the shoe museum too. Wonderful to get an insight into the history of shoes from such a local place, well set out, very interesting and shoe gifts to buy to boot .... ! Staff were very helpful, facilities really good, and I look forward to visiting again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northampton Museum & Art Gallery also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Castle Ashby, Northampton
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Northampton Museum & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing