We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing meal, great wine, and lovely service!”
Review of Sophia's

Sophia's
Ranked #5 of 551 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I went here on 5th July with a good friend and from the very start it was lovely. Service was excellent, the wine was great, and the food was amazing.
We were left in peace to chat, although the lovely lady that served us was always on hand to check we were OK and had all we needed. She even took our photo (twice because it didn't come out) and we never felt rushed, and for a 3 course meal each with a bottle of wine it was just over £50!
I highly recommend this as a place to spend a lovely evening in nice surroundings with great food.
I will definately be rebooking. And thank you to John for making our evening complete with a glass of limoncello each and a kiss!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Many thanks whirlyshirl for taking the time to leave us a review your comments are much appreciated, It sounds like you had a fab time which makes all of the hard work from the team worth it, we do hope to see you again soon,
Kind regards,
Andy & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

946 - 950 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

It's been a month since I last dinned at sophias, and frankly it's been too long since my last visit.
I came in for an early evening meal, for which I paid 16.50 for 3 lovely courses. I find the price extremely reasonable for what I pay for, the crab and chilli risotto for starters was served with truffle oil, which complimented the flavours very nicely. I'm very particular to how I like my steak grilled, specially with a rump which sometimes lets you down on how tough it is in some restaurants, however my rump was grilled beautifully and served with hand cut thick crispy chips. The homemade banoffe pie was rather light and exquisite, truly stuffed and this point. John had a chat with us and made all the table feel re assured there was no rush, we had a final bottle of Pinot which was nicely chilled and served properly.
Thank you John for the service, and thank you to Andy for cooking us a lovely meal. I sincerely hope you keep working as hard as you do to keep offering the lucky town of northampton a 5 star experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words Eduardo we always try to stay competitive with price without compromising quality so its great that you opted for the monthly menu which we introduced to keep the menu fresh for repeat visits. We hope to see you again soon,
Kind regards,
Andy & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We visited Sophia's again last night and it was just as good as the last time we went the Food, staff and ambience is really good cant wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you clewey for the great review we are pleased that you had a great night with us and hope to see you soon,
Kind regards,
Andy & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I love Italian food and I try as much to visit small family own Italian Restaurants, I visited (Sophias) with high hopes that will find here a very Italian warm service and Mammas home made pasta but was very disappointed as pasta that we ordered (Penne Arrabbiata) and my partner had the (Calzone Sophia) no where near as good as even Zizzis restaurant that I have in London maybe is just me but John the very nice men that served us tell you now my men should get a different chef as this is Italian food being at the lowest go out and check out some really good Italian restaurants out there, anyway hopefully you will read my review and pay attention and will try to come back when in the area and hopefully the food is changed as the service by John is topnotch just need to get the food right

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank 388DavidL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Sorry David that you didn't enjoy your visit here however im sure that if you had raised these issues when you were here we could have offered an alternative and I can assure you that the food is all freshly prepared on the premises and to a very high standard, I hope that you do give us another try when you are in town and please let me know that you are coming so we can discuss your quieries,
Kind regards,
Andy & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Fabulous evening celebrating my cousins 30th birthday, warm and friendly staff, food to die for a lovely atmosphere will definitely be back for more x x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Northamptonloui... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on here it is much appreciated and please wish your cousin many happy returns from all of us at Sophias,
We look forward to your return,
Kind regards,
Andy & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophia's also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Sophia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing