We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good walk”

Brixworth Country Park
Ranked #16 of 62 things to do in Northampton
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good walk”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The car park at the brixworth end car park ther is a cafe bicycle shop the parking charge is a bit high. The walk round the water is 7&1/2 miles but ther are shorter walks with carvings ot the side of the paths.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    68
    14
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
daventry
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we took the grandchildren over to Brixworth and enjoyed a very nice day with a small picnic and played games by the water. Avery enjoyable day in the countryside. It makes a change from Daventry country park just for the scenery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent place for peace and quiet”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The only fault I could find with Brixworth from the last time we visited was the removal of the visitor centre which has been replaced by a walking/bicycle shop.
The walks are excellent with interesting things to see along the way.
Nice views of boats and yachts sailing on the lake and great if you just love the sound of birds singing rather than blaring music.
Its been noted that it's now £2.60 for no matter how long you want to stay.....the park management could perhaps put in place something like £1 for an hour or something like that, but £2.60 for the whole day is good value compared to some places. I used to work for a wildlife Trust and know that keeping a place like Brixworth in good condition would not come cheap, so the money has to come from somewhere.
Would thoroughly recommend a visit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cranrobBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“expensive for what it is”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

this place up until recently was a free nice walk around the water i used to go there frequently until someone saw the money signs it started charging 60p fair enough for those who wanted to look at wooden signs and a few more benches and carvings although revenue can be made in a cafe and bike hire shop but went there today and im disgusted £2.60p even if you only want a half hour sit in the sun so this now eliminates poor pensioners the unemployed and those with no money to spare it's a complete disgrace since posting on the internet had hundreds feeling the same as me who can no longer just walk round in the sun HOLD YOUR HEADS IN SHAME and for those thinking of going it has nothing there to warrant this cost just a glorious walk my advice go elsewhere there's plenty of places that don't rip you off

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A walk in the sun”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner went for a walk here while the sun was shining in May. The country park itself is a great place to take children as there is a big park and there's everything you need on sale on site. We went there for a walk and decided to take the long red route, it advised that it would take over an hour and we managed to get through it in 35 minutes.
Although, we walked it a second time and managed to capture more of the scenery, bird watched, found all of the sculptures and read all the posters. Which made the experience a lot better!

If your close by I would definitely go and take your pets and family with you! Insect repellent would be ideal if you dislike them and it's a hot day as your by the water.

Helpful?
Thank Aarron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brixworth Country Park also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Castle Ashby, Northampton
 

Been to Brixworth Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing