We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have to admit to being a bit sceptical about staying here as 'Ibis' don't have great reviews but the cost was ok at £50 room only as it was in the centre of town and it did offer van parking at £5 (24hrs).
Firstly we went into reception for directions to the parking area for large vans and the directions given by the receptionist were not that clear as she told us to go up a one way street the wrong way (we didn't) so we had to go around the one way system before we could pick up her directions again.
When we found the entrance to the car park we couldn't fit as there was no headroom so we had to go back to reception for further instruction (through the car park) where we were then told we had to locate the security guard who would direct us to the loading bay where we could park the van.
After finding the guard I had to 'check in' at his office and get a ticket and then he removed the barriers and instructed us to park right next to the skips the shops above used to throw their rubbish in (not ideal Although next morning the van was fine)
Then it was back to reception to check in. The restaurant/bar area is just off the reception but was not very inviting, more like a works canteen.
Eventually We were given a room on the top floor.
After waiting for the lift and then the lift not wanting to go anywhere as the staff had not informed us that you need to insert your key card into a reader on the lift wall to make it work.
When we finally got to the room we had been given a 'Double' room when I had requested a 'twin'.
So it was then a call down to reception to rectify and we were told we had to go back down to reception to get the key to another room, so after another 20-30 mins we finally got into our correct room.
Room was surprisingly good compared to other reviews, Nice and large, clean, good sized bathroom, Towels weren't great but they were clean.
View out of the window was onto the roof looking at all the air conditioning units, but we didn't go there for the views.
We showered and then walked into town and found a wetherspoons which was just what you wanted £3.00 for a pint of Carlsberg and a pint of strongbow.
On the way back we got a couple of pizzas and took them back to the room.
The bed was fine and gave a decent nights sleep.
Check out was simple as all you had to do was a key drop and exiting the loading bay/car park was easy enough.
All in all ideal stopover for working purposes, not somewhere you would take the Mrs but would use again.

Room Tip: Double check that reception have given you the correct room before getting in the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joe_mac001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive or negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks again for your feedback and Im glad you were happy with your stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank aig29
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank KikaLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I've only used an Ibis once before, when I checked into that one I was convinced I'd come to the wrong place for the money I was paying, The Northampton Central Ibis reminded me very much of that first experience.
The reception area is clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful with a quick and efficient check in.
The room exceeded all expectations for size and comfort, it was clean and fresh with a nice big comfortable bed and bathroom, or rather shower room that again far exceeded anything I was expecting for such a reasonable price, There wasn't a bath in this room but the shower takes up as much floor space as a bath making this a Very spacious shower facility !
There is an electric heater that does an adequate job of keeping the room warm, but as others have written, no Air Con'.
The room is well equipped with a TV, tea & coffee facilities and a computer point of some sort that I never got a chance to use.
There are ample electrical sockets and a really good size worktop for business users, plus a decent amount of storage room for your clothes.
I didn't hear any outside noise during the night and got a really good night sleep.
Breakfast the following morning was in the buffet area next to reception, we hadn't pre booked breakfast but all we had to do was pay at the reception in the morning and get stuck in, the food was good with a good choice of cereals fruit juices, hot food and drinks.
My only regret about our stay was that we didn't get a chance to use all the facilities as we arrived late evening and were off again early morning.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definitely use it again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive or negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks again for your feedback and Im glad you were happy with your stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 999William
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very nice hotel at a very convenient location - very near the train and bus stations. Stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size with a comfy bed, the breakfast was good and there's a lovely little bar to relax in in the evenings but there was one drawback and that was the lack of air conditioning in the room - it was very hot during the summer so I found it difficult to sleep at night. That said, I would absolutely recommend this hotel and would go back again myself. It's a fantastic hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive or negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks again for your feedback and Im glad you were happy with your stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I often use IBIS hotels and had booked this for one night for a business matter. Sadly I had to cancel. Now I dont mind havning to pay the £45.00 room charge as I accept it was after the time for cancellation. But i do object to having to pay the £15.90 for the breakfasts we had booked which will clearly never be eaten ! This is not the policy in other budget hotels. Suppose the moral of the story is not to book meals in advance !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive or negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks again for your feedback.
Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.6 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#21 of 27 in Northampton
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Central
Travelodge Northampton Central
#19 of 27 in Northampton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#11 of 27 in Northampton
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#8 of 27 in Northampton
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre

Address: Sol Central Marefair, Northampton NN1 1SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range: £28 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Northampton Centre is conveniently located in Northampton Town Centre, just five minutes walk from the train station, and less than ten miles from the M1 Motorway. The hotel offers 151 comfortably appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, flat-screen TVs, and high-speed internet access. The hot buffet breakfast is served from 6:30am – 10am daily and the café bar serves hot meals 24 hours a day. Located in the ‘Sol Central’ complex the hotel is in the heart of the town with a cinema, gym and restaurants next door. Guests can workout or relax in the Topnotch health club above the hotel for just £5 per person. Sol Central also offers secure parking with direct access to the hotel for only £5.50 per day for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Northampton
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing