We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the jungle.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Where to begin then, with the popular resort of Northampton? The Ibis is located within the Sol Centre, which presumably is a reference to sunny weather. The sun never shines over this grim [--]. Although location is everything, and in this instance within 10 metres of the hotel one could easily be tattooed, pierced, have a kebab, get glassed or even pick up a druggy looking hooker. Quality. The hotel itself is clean and functional. The cheap squeezy soap is bolted to the wall to stop people from stealing it, and the windows are screwed shut, presumably to stop the guests from jumping. I sat on my bed watching the rain lash the dirty windows and hoped for death to come soon.
I awoke the next morning to the grim reality of the Northampton rush hour. The whole place was gridlocked for no obvious reason save for bad town planning. My stay in Chernobyl was better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robgrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive or negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed here while in the area to go to the MotoGP at Silverstone in early Sept. 13. What can I say, the room was extremely good value for money and the breakfast was great. The hotel itself is in a great location being a stone's throw away from the town centre and only a short walk from the train station too. Would definitely recommend the Ibis if you're looking for a convenient, reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiltshire_Lass_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive or negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks again for your feedback and Im glad you were happy with your stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have to admit to being a bit sceptical about staying here as 'Ibis' don't have great reviews but the cost was ok at £50 room only as it was in the centre of town and it did offer van parking at £5 (24hrs).
Firstly we went into reception for directions to the parking area for large vans and the directions given by the receptionist were not that clear as she told us to go up a one way street the wrong way (we didn't) so we had to go around the one way system before we could pick up her directions again.
When we found the entrance to the car park we couldn't fit as there was no headroom so we had to go back to reception for further instruction (through the car park) where we were then told we had to locate the security guard who would direct us to the loading bay where we could park the van.
After finding the guard I had to 'check in' at his office and get a ticket and then he removed the barriers and instructed us to park right next to the skips the shops above used to throw their rubbish in (not ideal Although next morning the van was fine)
Then it was back to reception to check in. The restaurant/bar area is just off the reception but was not very inviting, more like a works canteen.
Eventually We were given a room on the top floor.
After waiting for the lift and then the lift not wanting to go anywhere as the staff had not informed us that you need to insert your key card into a reader on the lift wall to make it work.
When we finally got to the room we had been given a 'Double' room when I had requested a 'twin'.
So it was then a call down to reception to rectify and we were told we had to go back down to reception to get the key to another room, so after another 20-30 mins we finally got into our correct room.
Room was surprisingly good compared to other reviews, Nice and large, clean, good sized bathroom, Towels weren't great but they were clean.
View out of the window was onto the roof looking at all the air conditioning units, but we didn't go there for the views.
We showered and then walked into town and found a wetherspoons which was just what you wanted £3.00 for a pint of Carlsberg and a pint of strongbow.
On the way back we got a couple of pizzas and took them back to the room.
The bed was fine and gave a decent nights sleep.
Check out was simple as all you had to do was a key drop and exiting the loading bay/car park was easy enough.
All in all ideal stopover for working purposes, not somewhere you would take the Mrs but would use again.

Room Tip: Double check that reception have given you the correct room before getting in the lift
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joe_mac001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate all feedback that we receive, whether positive or negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks again for your feedback and Im glad you were happy with your stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank aig29
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank KikaLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Central
Travelodge Northampton Central
#18 of 29 in Northampton
238 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#22 of 29 in Northampton
417 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#12 of 29 in Northampton
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre

Address: Sol Central Marefair, Northampton NN1 1SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range: £46 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Northampton Centre is conveniently located in Northampton Town Centre, just five minutes walk from the train station, and less than ten miles from the M1 Motorway. The hotel offers 151 comfortably appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, flat-screen TVs, and high-speed internet access. The hot buffet breakfast is served from 6:30am – 10am daily and the café bar serves hot meals 24 hours a day. Located in the ‘Sol Central’ complex the hotel is in the heart of the town with a cinema, gym and restaurants next door. Guests can workout or relax in the Topnotch health club above the hotel for just £5 per person. Sol Central also offers secure parking with direct access to the hotel for only £5.50 per day for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Northampton
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing