We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This time ws a quiet stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This time ws a quiet stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have stayed here alot of times and its hit or miss. I had a quiet stay this time especially as one of nights was a Friday and it can be noisy with revellers coming back to their rooms. I always ask for a top floor back room due to club across the road.Room was clean and tidy and staff were friendly and helpful.Ideal for train and buses and town centre. Good stay this time

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alyecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with us and Im happy to see you enjoyed your stay.

As you mention Friday and Saturday nights can occasionally be noisy due to the type of clientel we have on those nights. To prevent this being an issue we employ security to manage the front door as revellers return, to calm down any noisy guests and to then do walk arounds over night along the corridors to ensure everyone goes to sleep.

Many thanks again.

Jonathan Meeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    228
    170
    79
    59
See reviews for
47
148
72
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is right in the city center, nestled in an entertainment complex. The room was typical of an Ibis, but comfy. The buildings seem to be really well insulated, so the room was hot, but this doesn't matter as the windows open. Shower was hot and powerful.
Just round the corner there are numerous pubs/ takeaways/cafes, so don't feel like you have to pay the extortionate hotel prices for food and drink. On the other hand, we did pay for the breakfast buffet, as it is actually good value when you consider how much some people can eat!
There are NO ground floor rooms in this hotel, and there were no stairs down to the lobby that we could find, just fire escapes. Two lifts, which both behaved for the duration of the weekend. Another slight downside is having to constantly ask for tea bags and milk. They seem to think that one cuppa is enough (no no try again!) We left the do not disturb sign on our door, and got replacement towels hanging in a bag on the handle. Soap and a hairdryer is provided. For all you boring farts, there is a TV with freeview, or there is free wi-fi in the rooms.
A competitively priced hotel where nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are a bit on the noisy side, but I can ignore that!
See more room tips
Green Features: DON'T ask for clean towels everyday. You reuse them at home so why not here? (The hotel policy is to only wash towels that need to be washed, and I agree with this completely).
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for your review of the hotel. Its great to have some constructive feedback of the hotel as its useful to help me look at how we can improve the service that we offer.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights before going to Silverstone on the Sunday. For sat-nav users, ignore the directions and take the third exit off the roundabout in front of the Carlsberg brewery. Turn left at the set of lights past the hotel and the car park is on your left. Aim for the bottom level. It's clearly marked as you go in.
Check-in was very swift and easy, with clear instructions on how the lift works. (with the key card). A bit strange but the hotel occupies the same site as an entertainment complex, so only residents of the hotel can access the room floors.
Found the room to be the usual Ibis standard, clean, light and well equipped with tea/coffee making, and hair-dryer. If you require anything else, all you have to do is ask, which includes the loan of a fan, as this hotel is well insulated, and therefore hot! A room facing the road is usually noisy (as this was), but the others are probably quieter. Did not find this a problem,
even with the window open.
Opted for the all you can eat breakfast buffet, which at £7.99 is dearer than the eateries around, but is quite good value for a stuffing! It's a buffet style, so you can help yourself to as much as you like. It has cooked, continental, cereal fruit etc. Dining room is kept clean by the staff, very quickly. The tea/coffee machine is best suited for coffee, as the water is not quite hot enough for the tea.
If you put the "do not disturb" sign on your door, clean towels and sundries will be left in a bag on your door handle. As found with other hotels in this chain, the bar and menu prices are just a bit short of extortion, this may be classed as a "captive" audience, but other establishments including this one have competition within a few minutes' walk. Nothing wrong with what is on offer, i.e. a well stocked bar and a good choice of meals, but in my opinion, severely over-priced (you can get two meals and two drinks for less than £15 at one of the local pubs), and as the budget part of the chain, surely they should be cheaper. "The carlsberg brewery is 5 minutes away, and the pubs charge £2.20 for a pint! This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Northampton and the surrounding areas, including Silverstone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the main street.
See more room tips
Green Features: Follow the hotels instructions, if you NEED clean towels, leave the old ones on the floor. Hang them up for re-use.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexGrumpy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel at great length and to give us detailed feedback regarding your stay with us.

I appreciate any feedback, whether its is positive or negative as it helps us provide the best level of service and facilities to our guests.

Thanks again.

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel charges quite good amount in comparison with other hotels in Northampton and yet no good hotel at all. Cleaners did not change the bed sheets and pillow cover. Quick dusting which makes my asthma started and no air condition and when you open the window then noises of traffic would not allow you to sleep. Breakfast was as bad as not to have it better. staff at reception from Spain and could not speak English properly.
There was no soap in the bathroom nor garbage waste bin in room you have to get up and throw in bathroom. There was no mini fridge so you cannot have drink also.
I would advice not to waste money in this hotel.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javgho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and give us feedback regarding your stay with us.

I appreciate this feedback, whether its is positive or negative as it helps us provide the best
level of service and facilities to our guests.

I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. I must stress that we do not offer a mini bar and that it is a standard to only have a bin in the bathroom. Changing of bed linen does depend on the length of your stay as well. Im sorry that we also do not offer air conditioning as with the hot weather we have had, it would have been nice to have it.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel on 26th July as was round the corner from an event I was going to for my 21st Birthday. Checked into the hotel and they didn't ask for any ID or booking conformation or even the card I used to book with which I thought was very unprofessional. They just asked for my name. The hotel itself was fine and the rooms were very clean. We went to this event around the corner and must of misplaced one of the cards for the room as when I came back to the hotel I find my card for the room doesn't work and someone has been in the room. I go to reception and they say that two people came into the hotel with a card and asked which room it was for. Without even asking for a name or anything they then let the couple up to the room. A number of things were stolen from the room and when I go and speak to reception they don't even apologies and their response was well they had a card? I then spoke with the police about this as the hotel were an absolute joke !!! The matter was resolved no thank to the useless staff at the hotel. If this wasn't bad enough we then had a knock on the door from the deputy manager and she felt the need to bring a security guard. We were then told to leave the hotel 2 hours before we had to because apparently we had been into someone else room. Seeing as we were the victims here and had not been into any other room this was absolutely appalling. So not only were we robbed due to the lack of safety measures we were then accused of going into other peoples rooms ourselves. It is safe to say we will never be returning to this hotel or any of its chains.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and give us feedback regarding your stay with us.
I appreciate this feedback, whether its is positive or negative as it helps us provide the best level of service and facilities to our guests.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Central
Travelodge Northampton Central
#21 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#14 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Langham Hotel
The Langham Hotel
#23 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre

Property: Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Address: Sol Central Marefair, Northampton NN1 1SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Northampton Centre is conveniently located in Northampton Town Centre, just five minutes walk from the train station, and less than ten miles from the M1 Motorway. The hotel offers 151 comfortably appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, flat-screen TVs, and high-speed internet access. The hot buffet breakfast is served from 6:30am – 10am daily and the café bar serves hot meals 24 hours a day. Located in the ‘Sol Central’ complex the hotel is in the heart of the town with a cinema, gym and restaurants next door. Guests can workout or relax in the Topnotch health club above the hotel for just £5 per person. Sol Central also offers secure parking with direct access to the hotel for only £5.50 per day for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Northampton
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing